Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location
Audience

Pfaff, John F.

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: "Pfaff argues that existing accounts of the causes of mass incarceration are fundamentally misguided. The most widely accepted explanations--the failed War on Drugs, draconian sentencing laws, an increasing reliance on private prisons--actually tell us much less than we like to think. Instead, Pfaff urges us to look at other factors, including a major shift in prosecutor behavior that occurred...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Basic Books 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 365 PFA

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Routledge 2003

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 365 PRI

Larson, Doran

Summary: "In Inside Knowledge incarcerated people step forth as the primary witnesses and documentarians of the American prison's historical and ongoing defeat of the four cardinal rationales for the legal caging of human beings: rehabilitations, deterrence, containment, and retribution"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: New York University Press 2024

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New Non-fiction, Call number: 365 LAR

Austen, Ben

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: "FROM THE CRITICALLY ACCLAIMED AUTHOR OF HIGH-RISERS comes a groundbreaking and honest investigation into the crisis of the American criminal justice system-through the lens of parole. Perfect for fans of Michelle Alexander's The New Jim Crow and Bryan Stevenson's Just Mercy The United States, alone, locks up a quarter of the world's incarcerated people. And yet apart from clichés-paying a debt...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Flatiron Books 2023

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Maynard, Gary D.

Summary: Offers candidates for officers in federal and state correctional institutions study materials, including six practice tests.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thomson Peterson's 2006

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 365.64 MAY

Contents: Introduction / by Tara Herivel -- The political economy of prisons -- Banking on the prison boom / Judith Greene -- Million-dollar blocks: the neighborhood costs of America's prison boom / Jennifer Gonnerman -- Doing borrowed time: the high cost of backdoor prison finance / Kevin Pranis -- Making the "bad guy" pay: growing use of cost shifting as an economic sanction / Kirsten D. Levingston --...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: New Press 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 365.973 PRI

Summary: "In the wake of the shootings at Columbine High School, a small town in Luzerne County, Pennsylvania elected a charismatic judge who was hell-bent on keeping kids in line. Under his reign, more than 3,000 children were ripped from their families and imprisoned for years over petty crimes. When one parent dared to question his harsh brand of justice, it was revealed the judge had received...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC KID

Luiselli, Valeria

Summary: "Structured around the forty questions Luiselli translates and asks undocumented Latin-American children facing deportation, Tell Me How It Ends (an expansion of her 2016 Freeman's essay of the same name) humanizes these young migrants and highlights thecontradiction of the idea of America as a fiction for immigrants with the reality of racism and fear--both here and back home"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Coffee House Press 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.23 LUI

Thomas, William G.

Summary: The story of the longest and most complex legal challenge to slavery in American history, in which a number of enslaved families challenged their bondage in court.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Yale University Press 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 306.3 THO

chat loading...
Back to Top