Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Messineo, Teresa

Summary: In war-torn France, Jo McMahon, an Italian-Irish girl from the tenements of Brooklyn, tends to six seriously wounded soldiers in a makeshift medical unit. Enemy bombs have destroyed her hospital convoy, and now Jo singlehandedly struggles to keep her patients and herself alive in a cramped and freezing tent close to German troops. There is a growing tenderness between her and one of her...

Publisher / Publication Date: William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MES

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: FICTION MES

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Ficiton Messineo 2017

Albert, Susan Wittig

Summary: During World War II, General Dwight Eisenhower's wife Mamie knew the gossip: Ike was involved with another woman; his letters home were only tepidly reassuring. The relationship between Eisenhower and his driver/aide Kay Summersby moved from England to North Africa and then throughout Europe before and after the Normandy landing. At the end of the war, Ike is faced with the heart-wrenching...

Publisher / Publication Date: Persevero Press 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC ALB

Doig, Ivan.

Summary: Two years after their university football team enjoys a record-breaking season, the players become caught up in the drama of World War II, including Ben Reinking, who chronicles the wartime adventures of his teammates for newspapers across the country.

Publisher / Publication Date: Mariner Books 2009

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Hughes, Dean

Summary: Forced into an internment camp at the start of World War II, eighteen-year-old Yuki enlists in the Army to fight for the Allies as a member of the "Four-Four-Two," a segregated Japanese American regiment.

Publisher / Publication Date: Atheneum Books for Young Readers 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: YA FIC HUG

Osborne, William (William Hanslow)

Summary: In June 1941, Otto and Leni, two young refugees from the Nazis living in England, are sent on a secret mission to Bavaria, to extract a young girl attending a summer camp, and who may hold the key to the war.

Publisher / Publication Date: Chicken House 2013

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J FIC OSB

Gross, Andrew

Summary: Kurt Nordstrum, an engineer in Oslo, puts his life aside to take up arms against the Germans as part of the Norwegian resistance. After the loss of his fiancée, his outfit whittled to shreds, he commandeers a coastal steamer and escapes to England to transmit secret evidence of the Nazis's progress towards an atomic bomb at an isolated factory in Norway. There, he joins a team of dedicated...

Publisher / Publication Date: Minotaur Books 2017

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC GRO

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: FICTION GRO

Kelly, Martha Hall

1 hold on 12 copies

Summary: "On a September day in Manhattan in 1939, twenty-something Caroline Ferriday is consumed by her efforts to secure the perfect boutonniere for an important French diplomat and resisting the romantic advances of a married actor. Meanwhile across the Atlantic, Kasia Kuzmerick, a Polish Catholic teenager, is nervously anticipating the changes that are sure to come since Germany has declared war on...

Publisher / Publication Date: Ballantine Books 2016

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Appelfeld, Aharon

Summary: Adam and Thomas, two nine-year-old Jewish boys who survive World War II, take refuge in the forest where they learn to forage and survive, soon meeting and helping other fugitives fleeing for their lives.

Publisher / Publication Date: Seven Stories Press 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FIC APP

Napoli, Donna Jo

Summary: After being taken by German soldiers from a local movie theater along with other Italian boys including his Jewish friend, Roberto is forced to work in Germany, escapes into the Ukrainian winter, before desperately trying to make his way back home to Venice.

Publisher / Publication Date: Dutton Children's Books 1997

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FIC NAP

Sepetys, Ruta.

Summary: "As World War II draws to a close, refugees try to escape the war's final dangers, only to find themselves aboard a ship with a target on its hull"--

Publisher / Publication Date: Philomel Books 2016

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: YA FIC SEP

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: YA FIC SEP

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: YA FIC SEP

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: YA Fiction Sepetys 2016

Hartnett, Sonya

Summary: Sent to the English countryside for safety during World War II, Cecily and Jeremy find themselves in the company of a young refugee named May with whom they encounter two mysterious boys in the ruins of a nearby castle.

Publisher / Publication Date: Candlewick Pr 2014

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: JFIC HAR

Hewitt, Jason

Summary: After waking up in a German field at the end of World War II, a man with only flashes of his memory intact searches for his identity while getting caught up in a flood of displaced people, including a teenager with whom he forms an unlikely alliance.

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Company 2017

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Murphy, Devin

Summary: In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II. Beginning in the summer of 1939, fourteen-year-old Jacob Koopman and his older brother, Edwin, enjoy lives of prosperity and quiet contentment. Many of the residents in their small Dutch town have some connection...

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperPerennial 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MUR

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in New Fiction, Call number: FICTION MUR

Wein, Elizabeth.

Summary: In 1943, a British fighter plane crashes in Nazi-occupied France and the survivor tells a tale of friendship, war, espionage, and great courage as she relates what she must to survive while keeping secret all that she can.

Publisher / Publication Date: Bolinda Audio 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC WEI

Sullivan, Mark T.

2 holds on 2 copies

Summary: "Based on a true story, Pino Lella is forced to enlist as a German soldier and recruited to become the personal driver for Hitler's left hand in Italy. With the opportunity to spy for the Allies inside the German High Command, Pino endures the horrors of the war and the Nazi occupation by fighting in secret"--

Publisher / Publication Date: Center Point Large Print 2018

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Keenan, Sheila.

Summary: Three fictional stories, told in graphic novel format, about soldiers in World War I, World War II, and the Vietnam War who were aided by combat dogs. Based on true stories.

Publisher / Publication Date: Graphix 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Graphic Novels, Call number: J 741.5 KEE

Hartov, Steven

Summary: "Shtefan Brandt, adjutant to a colonel of the Waffen SS, has made it through the war so far in spite of his commander's habit of bringing his staff into combat, and a pair of secrets that are far more dangerous than the battlefield. Shtefan is a Mischling and one of the thousands of German citizens of Jewish descent who have avoided the death camps by concealing themselves in the ranks of the...

Publisher / Publication Date: Hanover Square Press 2018

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Hughes, Dean

Summary: While his father is missing in action during World War II, Jay moves with his mother to Utah, where he sees prejudice from both sides, as a part-Navajo himself, and through a friendship with a Japanese American from the nearby internment camp.

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon Pulse 2011

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: YA FIC HUG

Gutman, Dan.

Summary: When Stosh travels back in time to 1941 in hopes of preventing the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor that brought the United States into World War II, he meets Ted Williams, one of the greatest hitters in baseball history. Includes notes about Williams' life and career.

Publisher / Publication Date: Recorded Books 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Audiobooks, Call number: J CD GUT

Hughes, Dean

Summary: Two boys, one German and one American, are eager to join their respective armies during World War II, and their paths cross at the Battle of the Bulge.

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon Pulse 2003

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: YA FIC HUG

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: YA FIC HUG

Fox, Janet S.

Summary: In 1940, during the Blitz, Katherine, Robbie and Amelie Bateson are sent north to a private school in Rookskill Castle in Scotland, a brooding place, haunted by dark magic from the past--but when some of their classmates disappear Katherine has to find out if the cause is hidden in the past or very much in the present.

Publisher / Publication Date: Listening Library 2016

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Juvenile Audiobooks, Call number: CD J FOX

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Audiobooks, Call number: J CD FOX

Rosenberg, Alexander

Summary: "It's 1935. Rita Feuerstahl comes to the university in Krakow intent on enjoying her freedom. But life has other things in store--marriage, a love affair, a child, all in the shadows of the oncoming war. When the war arrives, Rita is armed with a secret so enormous that it could cost the Allies everything, even as it gives her the will to live. She must find a way both to keep her secret and to...

Publisher / Publication Date: Lake Union Publishing 2015

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: P ROS

Owen, James A.

Summary: The Winter King's Shadow, having gained control of the doors from the Keep of Time and of an army of Dragon Shadows, plans to use the turmoil of World War II to conquer two worlds. All the legendary Caretakers, past and present, must come together to stop him, a seemingly hopeless challenge.

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster Audio 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Audiobooks, Call number: J CD OWE

McCall Smith, Alexander

Summary: "From the beloved and best-selling author of the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series and La's Orchestra Saves the World, a heartwarming tale of hope and friendship set during World War II, in which a British farm girl, an American pilot, and a German soldier are brought together by an unlikely hero: a (very cute) border collie. Val Eliot, a land girl working on an English farm during the war,...

Publisher / Publication Date: Pantheon 2018

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC MCC

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Browsing Hot Titles, Call number: HOT TITLE