Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Forrester, Viviane.

Summary: Winner of the prestigious Prix Goncourt award for biography, this remarkable portrait sheds new light on Virginia Woolf's relationships with her family and friends and how they shaped her work. Forrester's biography draws on revelations about the author that often remain buried and carefully applies them to a narrative of her development and influence. Virginia Woolf: A Portrait blends...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Columbia University Press 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 WOOLF, VIRGINIA WOO

Summary: The story unfolds on a beautiful summer day in London, in 1923, while Clarissa Dalloway recalls a summer in the country, in 1890, when she was young and beautiful and very much courted.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: First Look Home Entertainment 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Drama DVDs, Call number: DVD DRAMA MRS.

Johnstone, J. K.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: The Noonday Press 2001

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 820.9 JOH

Weinstein, Arnold L.

Summary: "Great art discovers for us who we are," writes literature professor and critic Weinstein in this book about how we can better uncover and understand our own stories by reading five major modern writers who "reinvent the novel by exploding our sense of what we are." He invites us to discover our perceptions, our dreams, our own elusive, deepest stories in these masterpieces of modernist...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2006

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 823 WEI

Ulrich, Laurel.

Summary: "They didn't ask to be remembered," historian Ulrich wrote in 1976 about the pious women of colonial New England. And then she added a phrase that has since gained widespread currency: "Well-behaved women seldom make history." Today those words appear on T-shirts, bumper stickers, and more--but what do they really mean? Here, Ulrich ranges over centuries and cultures, from the fifteenth-century...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.4209 ULR

Robinson, Andrew

Summary: The extraordinarily inventive Linus Pauling, twice winner of the Nobel Prize, was asked how he came to have so many good ideas. Pauling replied: "Well, I have a lot of ideas and throw away the bad ones." Where do ideas come from? And why do the best ideas sometimes strike in a flash of "sudden genius"? Andrew Robinson here offers a fascinating look at the genesis of creativity in science and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Oxford University Press 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 153.35 ROB

Goldstein, Bill

Summary: "A revelatory narrative of the intersecting lives and works of revered authors Virginia Woolf, T. S. Eliot, E. M. Forster and D. H. Lawrence during 1922, the birth year of modernism The World Broke in Two tells the fascinating story of the intellectual and personal journeys four legendary writers, Virginia Woolf, T. S. Eliot, E. M. Forster, and D. H. Lawrence, make over the course of one...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Henry Holt and Co. 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 GOL

Gordon, Lyndall.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Norton 1984

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 823.912 GOR

Jones, Danell.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Bantam Books 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 808.042 JON

Woolf, Virginia

Summary: In this poignant and humorous work, Virginia Woolf observes that though illness is part of every human being's experience, it has never been the subject of literature--like the more acceptable subjects of war and love. We cannot quote Shakespeare to describe a headache. We must, Woolf says, invent language to describe pain. And though illness enhances our perceptions, she observes that it...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Paris Press 2002

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 823.912 WOO

Wilson, Jean Moorcraft.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: W.W. Norton 1988

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 823.912 WIL

Woolf, Virginia

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harcourt, Brace & World 1969

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 824.91 WOO

Woolf, Virginia

1 hold on 1 copy

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich 1973

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 828 WOO

Summary: The bridges of Madison County: World-traveling National Geographic photographer Robert Kincaid is on assignment to photograph the bridges of Madison County, Iowa. He stops for directions at Francesca Johnson's farmhouse, and passion ignites. Defending your life: A man who is killed in a car accident ends up in 'Judgment City', a holding station for souls, where a person must defend themselves...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Warner Home Video 2013

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Browsing Hot DVDs, Call number: DVD MOVIE 4FIL

Nicolson, Nigel.

Summary: Recalls the ties between his family and the novelist and childhood moments spent with her, discussing her walks around his ancestral home, the progression of her well-known works, and her philosophy towards women's issues and war.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2000

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 WOOLF, VIRGINIA NIC

Woolf, Virginia

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich 1990

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 823.912 WOO

Woolf, Virginia

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich 1990

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 828.912 WOO

Woolf, Virginia

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich 1990

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 828.912 WOO

Midorikawa, Emily

Summary: Male literary friendships are the stuff of legend, but the world's most celebrated female authors are usually mythologized as solitary eccentrics or isolated geniuses. Friends Emily Midorikawa and Emma Claire Sweeney prove this wrong, thanks to their investigations into a wealth of surprising collaborations, such as the friendships between George Eliot and Harriet Beecher Stowe or Virginia...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 MID

Parmar, Priya

Summary: "For fans of The Paris Wife and Loving Frank comes a captivating novel that offers an intimate glimpse into the lives of Vanessa Bell, her sister Virginia Woolf, and the controversial and popular circle of intellectuals known as the Bloomsbury Group. London, 1905: The city is alight with change, and the Stephen siblings are at the forefront. Vanessa, Virginia, Thoby, and Adrian are leaving...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ballantine Books 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC PAR

Summary: In 1929, Virginia Woolf is starting to write her novel, 'Mrs. Dalloway, under the care of doctors and family. In 1951, Laura Brown is planning for her husband's birthday, but is preoccupied with reading Woolf's novel. In 2001, Clarrisa Vaughn is planning an award party for her friend, an author dying of AIDS. Taking place over one day, all three stories are interconnected with the novel: one is...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Paramount Home Entertainment 2003

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Drama DVDs, Call number: DVD DRAMA HOU

Cunningham, Michael

Summary: The Hours tells the story of three women: Virginia Woolf, beginning to write Mrs. Dalloway as she recuperates in a London suburb with her husband in 1923; Clarissa Vaughan, beloved friend of an acclaimed poet dying from AIDS, who in modern-day New York is planning a party in his honor; and Laura Brown, in a 1949 Los Angeles suburb, who slowly begins to feel the constraints of a perfect family...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Picador USA 2000

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC CUN

DeSalvo, Louise

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ballantine Books 1990

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 823.912 des

Lehmann, John

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thames and Hudson 1999

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 823.912 LEH