Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Ellis, Bella

1 hold on 3 copies

Summary: Before they became legendary writers, Charlotte Brontë, Emily Brontë, and Anne Brontë were "lady detectors" in this charming historical mystery. Not yet published novelists, they have well-honed imaginations and are expert readers. And, as Charlotte remarks, "detecting is reading between the lines--it's seeing what is not there."

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Berkley 2019

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC ELL

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Browsing Hot Titles, Call number: HOT TITLE

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: David R. Godine 2000

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC SNA

Summary: A darkly luminous new anthology collecting the most terrifying horror stories by renowned female authors, presenting anew these forgotten classics to the modern reader.--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pegasus Books 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Dommermuth-Costa, Carol.

Summary: A biography of the English mystery writer who, after creating Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple, became a Dame Commander of the British Empire.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Lerner Publications Co. 1997

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Stacks, Call number: JB CHRISTIE DOM

Roiphe, Katie.

Summary: Cultural critic Roiphe delves deeply into one of the most layered of subjects: marriage. Drawn in part from the private memoirs, personal correspondence, and long-forgotten journals of the British literary community from 1910 to the Second World War, here are seven "marriages à la mode"--each rising to the challenge of intimate relations in more or less creative ways: H.G. and Jane Wells;...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dial Press 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 828.91209 ROI

Denyer, Susan.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harry Abrams 2000

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Hertog, Susan.

Summary: A dual portrait of the influential British and American journalists draws on previously sealed archival sources to examine their personal and creative lives as well as the close, four-decade friendship they shared.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ballantine Books 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 HER

Veevers, Marian

Summary: Jane Austen and Dorothy Wordsworth were born just four years apart, in the 1770s, in a world torn between heady revolutionary ideas and fierce conservatism, and both were influenced by the Romantic ideals of Dorothy's brother, William Wordsworth, and his friends. This book compares their upbringing and education, home lives and loves and, above all, their emotional and creative worlds. Original...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pegasus Books 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 VEE

Harper, Karen (Karen S.)

Summary: Promoting themselves from genteel poverty to fame, two beautiful sisters, one a daring fashion designer and the other a writer of scandalous novels, become each other's most staunch supporter and harshest critic in the face of misunderstandings and confidences.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2017

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC HAR

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC HAR

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC HAR

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: FICTION HAR

Parmar, Priya

Summary: "For fans of The Paris Wife and Loving Frank comes a captivating novel that offers an intimate glimpse into the lives of Vanessa Bell, her sister Virginia Woolf, and the controversial and popular circle of intellectuals known as the Bloomsbury Group. London, 1905: The city is alight with change, and the Stephen siblings are at the forefront. Vanessa, Virginia, Thoby, and Adrian are leaving...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ballantine Books 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC PAR

Greenlaw, Lavinia

Summary: Evaluates the powerful influence of pop music on the author's coming-of-age years, describing how music defined her early life while conversely providing her an escape from her own realities.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 828.92 GRE

Nicolson, Juliet

Summary: "A family memoir that traces the myths, legends, and secrets of seven generations of remarkable women. All families have their myths and legends. For many years Juliet Nicolson accepted hers--the dangerous beauty of her flamenco dancing great-great-grandmother Pepita, the flirty manipulation of her great-grandmother Victoria, the infamous eccentricity of her grandmother Vita Sackville-West, her...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 NIC

Midorikawa, Emily

Summary: Male literary friendships are the stuff of legend, but the world's most celebrated female authors are usually mythologized as solitary eccentrics or isolated geniuses. Friends Emily Midorikawa and Emma Claire Sweeney prove this wrong, thanks to their investigations into a wealth of surprising collaborations, such as the friendships between George Eliot and Harriet Beecher Stowe or Virginia...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2017

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Wyld, Evie.

Summary: The author presents a collection of the memories she brought home to England, a book about family, love and the irresistible forces that pass through life unseen, under the surface, ready to emerge at any point.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pantheon Books 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 741.5 WYL

Moulton, Mo

Summary: "Dorothy L. Sayers (1893-1957) was a renowned crime novelist who achieved fame and fortune during a period that historian Mo Moulton calls 'the day after the revolution.' In a time when just as many doors were closed to women as open, Sayers found professional success with her Lord Peter Wimsey novels. Yet she never could have done it without the cohort of remarkable women she met at university...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Basic Books 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Rowland, Laura Joh.

Summary: After the death of her siblings, Charlotte has few people she can trust, and feels more alone than ever. While visiting London, Charlotte goes on a tour of Bedlam, where she is sure she recognizes a struggling Mr. Slade, her long-missing ex-lover, strapped to one of the stretchers. Of course, she starts digging, and soon finds herself trying to reveal a secret that high-powered men would, and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Overlook Press 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC ROW

Rowland, Laura Joh.

Summary: Upon learning that she has been falsely accused of plagiarism, the normally mild-mannered Charlotte Brontë sets off for London to clear her name. But when she unintentionally witnesses a murder, Charlotte finds herself embroiled in a dangerous chain of events that forces her to confront demons from her past.--From publisher description.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Overlook Press 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC ROW

Drayton, Joanne.

Summary: "In 1994, director Peter Jackson released the movie Heavenly Creatures, based on a famous 1950s matricide committed in New Zealand by two teenage girls embroiled in an obsessive relationship. The movie launched Jackson's international career. It also forever changed the life of Anne Perry, an award-winning, bestselling crime writer, who at the time of the movie's release was publicly outed at...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Perseus Distribution Services 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 PERRY, ANNE DRA

Dennison, Matthew

Summary: "Inspired by the twenty-three "tales," Matthew Dennison takes a selection of quotations from Potter's stories and uses them to explore her multifaceted life and character: repressed Victorian daughter; thwarted lover; artistic genius; formidable country woman. This dramatic narrative charts her transformation from a young girl with a love of animals and fairy tales into a bestselling author and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pegasus Books 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 POTTER, BEATRIX DEN

Thompson, Laura

Summary: "The eldest was a razor-sharp novelist of upper-class manners; the second was loved by John Betjeman; the third was a fascist who married Oswald Mosley; the fourth idolized Hitler and shot herself in the head when Britain declared war on Germany; the fifth was a member of the American Communist Party; the sixth became Duchess of Devonshire. They were the Mitford sisters: Nancy, Pamela, Diana,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 THO

Frank, Katherine.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Houghton Mufflin 1990

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 BRONTE, EMILY FRA

Lessing, Doris May

Contents: Schlueter, P. Introduction.--The small personal voice.--Preface to The golden notebook.--Newquist, R. Interview with Doris Lessing.--Raskin, J. Doris Lessing at Stony Brook: an interview.--Howe, F. A talk with Doris Lessing.--My father.--Afterword to The story of an African farm, by Olive Schreiner.--Allah be praised.--In the world, not of it.--Vonnegut's responsibility.--Ant's eye view: a...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Knopf; [distributed by Random House] 1974

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 823.9 LES

Nicolson, Nigel.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Atheneum 1973

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 821.912 NIC

Harman, Claire.

Summary: "A groundbreaking biography that places an obsessive, unrequited love at the heart of the writer's life story, transforming her from the tragic figure we have previously known into a smoldering Jane Eyre. Famed for her beloved novels, Charlotte Brontë has been known as well for her insular, tragic family life. The genius of this biography is that it delves behind this image to reveal a life in...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 BRONTE, CHARLOTTE HAR