Register for Summer Reading Club
Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Stevenson, Noelle

Summary: "Final exams are looming at Battleworld's Institute for Gifted Youths, a prestigious school in the planet's capital. But the new class doesn't react so well when they discover that the school's beloved headmaster is actually a diabolical super villain ... and their final exam is a brutal deathmatch between students! Faced with harsh lessons and an even harsher truth, the students take to the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Marvel Worldwide, Inc., a subsidiary of Marvel Entertainment, LLC 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Oversize, Call number: YA 741.5 RUN

DeConnick, Kelly Sue

Summary: A tale of retribution as beautifully lush as it is unflinchingly savage

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Image Comics 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 741.5 DEC

Bagieu, Pénélope

Summary: With her characteristic wit and dazzling drawings, celebrated graphic novelist Penelope Bagieu profiles the lives of these feisty female role models, some world famous, some little known. From Nellie Bly to Mae Jemison or Josephine Baker to Naziq al-Abid, the stories in this comic biography are sure to inspire the next generation of rebel ladies.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: First Second, an imprint of Roaring Book Press 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Non-fiction, Call number: YA 920 BAG

Arnold, Tedd

Summary: Brothers Mac and Mac are outwitted by Cousin Meatball, three fish, and even a fishing rod when they set out to learn something new. Includes author's note on tales of fools and the motifs found in this story.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Holiday House 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Graphic Novels, Call number: J 741.5 ARN

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile Graphic Novels, Call number: JE ARN

Arnold, Tedd

Summary: Inspired by folktales about fools from around the world, brothers Mac and Mac Noodlehead exasperate Uncle Ziti, are fooled by their friend Meatball, and make a garden for their mother.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Holiday House 2017

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: JE ARN

Feder, Tyler

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: "Tyler Feder shares her story of her mother's first oncology appointment to facing reality as a motherless daughter in this frank and refreshingly funny graphic memoir"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dial Books 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Kim, Hyun Sook

Summary: "The autobiography of a South Korean woman's student days under an authoritarian regime, and how she defied state censorship. When Kim Hyun Sook started college in 1983 she was ready for her world to open up. After acing her exams and sort-of convincing her traditional mother that it was a good idea for a woman to go to college, she looked forward to soaking up the ideas of Western Literature...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Iron Circus Comics 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Ha, Robin

2 holds on 1 copy

Summary: "A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Balzer + Bray/Harper Alley, imprints of HarperCollins Publishers 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Tsukuda, Yuto

Summary: Soma Yukihira's old man runs a small family restaurant in the less savory end of town. Aiming to one day surpass his father's culinary prowess, Soma hones his skills day in and day out until one day, out of the blue, his father decides to enroll Soma in a classy culinary school! Can Soma really cut it in a place that prides itself on a 10 percent graduation rate? And can he convince the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: VIZ Media 2016

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Hosoda, Mamoru

Summary: "An adolescent math wiz unintentionally plunges the virtual world into chaos by solving a numerological riddle that makes the global network vulnerable to attack. When Natsuki asks Kenji to pose as her boyfriend at her grandmother's upcoming birthday party, the smitten young numbers man jumps at the opportunity. But his summer of romance takes an unexpected turn when Kenji receives a complex...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Vertical, Inc. 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: YA 741.5 SUM

Kagami, Takaya

Summary: " Ferid Bathory and Krul Tepes have been captured by the other vampire nobles and the members of Shinoa Squad are forced to bide their time while the two vampires are sentenced to days of exposure torture. And what better place to wait than in Ferid's own mansion in Osaka? Meanwhile, the Demon Army is gearing up for a coup in Shibuya, but Guren has a plan of his own that involves...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: VIZ Media, LLC 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: YA 741.5 SER

Yang, Gene Luen

Summary: Gene Luen Yang turns the spotlight on his life, his family, and the high school where he teaches especially the high school's basketball team, the Dragons.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: First Second 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New YA Materials, Call number: YA 741.5 YAN

Tsukuda, Yuto

Summary: Mimasaka copies his opponents' dishes perfectly, while Soma bets his all as a chef.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: VIZ Media 2016

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Scott, Mairghread

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: Isabel has been sheltered in a high-society world. All that changes, when she breaches an invisible barrier, and steps into a magical and dangerous city where war rages between the fairies of the Seelie and Unseelie Courts.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: First Second 2018

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Flynn, Ian

Summary: "Sonic faces off against Shadow to prove Mr. Tinker, A.K.A. Dr. Eggman, is a reformed man and doesn't remember any of his past crimes"--Publisher marketing.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Spotlight/Abdo 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

O'Connor, Tara

Summary: "Willow Sparks and her best friend Georgia Pratt are at the bottom of the social ladder at Twin Pines High School, just trying to get through each day relatively unscathed. But when Willow finds a mysterious book that allows her to literally change her life, it feels like her luck is finally turning. Becoming more and more popular with each entry into the book, her old life, including her...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Oni Press 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 741.5 OCO

Chandler, Matt

Summary: "The true story of Lt. Robert Grimes running for his life as he evades being captured by Nazi soldiers. Robert Grimes escapes danger with help from the Comet Line, a resistance group that rescued Allied soldiers during WWII"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Capstone Press, a capstone imprint 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Juvenile Graphic Novels, Call number: J 940.54 CHA

Tsukuda, Yuto

Summary: Three students survive the harsh trials of the preliminaries, winning their way into the finals. Which student will be the one to take home the crown as the winner of the Fall Classic?! Later, the furor of the Fall Classic has barely died down when Soma and the others are sent off to new battlefields! What is this new challenge that will test their desire to be chefs?

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: VIZ Media 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: YA 741.5 FOO

Tsukuda, Yuto

Summary: After passing the first challenge, Soma begins to work for Shinomiya at his new Tokyo restaurant, where he finds out he has to be the best of the best to keep up.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: VIZ Media 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: YA 741.5 FOO

Tsukuda, Yuto

Summary: "Soma Yukihira's old man runs a small family restaurant in the less savory end of town. Aiming to one day surpass his father's culinary prowess, Soma hones his skills day in and day out until one day, out of the blue, his father decides to enroll Soma in a classy culinary school! Can Soma really cut it in a place that prides itself on a 10 percent graduation rate? And can he convince the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: VIZ Media 2016

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Tsukuda, Yuto

Summary: "Leaving home for the first time in his young life, Soma moves into the Polaris Dormitory--a place run by an old crone and filled with crazy and eccentric students! Barely settled in, Soma quickly finds himself in one of Totsuki's legendary cooking duels--a shokugeki! Who will his very first opponent be?"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: VIZ Media 2014

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Tsukuda, Yuto

Summary: "The "friendship and team-building" camp from hell begins! While most students are already petrified by the threat of instant expulsion for low marks, the unveiling of the teachers responsible for judging their dishes ratchets their fear to a whole new level! Just which anxiety-inducing teachers hold the culinary futures of Soma and the rest of the Polaris crew in their hands this time?...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: VIZ Media 2014

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Colfer, Eoin

Summary: "Ebo is alone. His brother, Kwame, has disappeared, and Ebo knows it can only be to attempt the hazardous journey to Europe, and a better life, the same journey their sister set out on months ago. But Ebo refuses to be left behind in Ghana. He sets out after Kwame and joins him on the quest to reach Europe. Ebo's epic journey takes him across the Sahara Desert to the dangerous streets of...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky, an imprint of Sourcebooks, Inc. 2018

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Graphic Novels, Call number: J 741.5 COL

Suzuki, Nakaba

Summary: Diane, still with no memories, heads to Vaizel for the Fighting Festival, but winds up in the Ten Commandments Death-Trap Maze. The Seven Deadly Sins reunite within the maze, but it is short lived when they are divided into teams of two for the real Fighting Festival.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Kodansha Comics 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: YA 741.5 SEV

Back to Top