Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Mills, Lauren A.

Summary: In the poverty of the Appalachian coal country in 1908, eight-year-old Minna's life gets even more difficult after her father dies of black lung, and that winter she cannot go to school because she does not have a coat--until the quilting mothers make her a coat using pieces of cloth from their own lives, each with a special story behind it.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Company 2015

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J FIC MIL

Walls, Jeannette.

Summary: Journalist Walls grew up with parents whose ideals and stubborn nonconformity were their curse and their salvation. Rex and Rose Mary and their four children lived like nomads, moving among Southwest desert towns, camping in the mountains. Rex was a charismatic, brilliant man who, when sober, captured his children's imagination, teaching them how to embrace life fearlessly. Rose Mary painted...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 2010

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD 362.82 WAL

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD 921 WALLS, JEANNETTE WAL

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD B WALLS

Summary: A shocking and outlandish year-in-the-life documentary about the White Family of Boone County, West Virginia's most notorious extended family, with shoot-outs, robberies, gas-huffing, drug dealing and using, pill popping, murders, and tap dancing. Nestled deep in the Appalachian Mountains, the White family glorifies their criminal behavior and lives an existence more like something from the...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Distributed by New Video Group 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC WIL

Summary: Investigating a massive chemical spill in West Virginia that left 300,000 people without drinking water for months, filmmaker Cullen Hoback uncovers government and corporate collusion with frightening nationwide public health implications.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in TC Film Fest DVDs, Call number: DVD TCFF WHA

Green, James R.

Summary: From before the dawn of the 20th century until the arrival of the New Deal, one of the most protracted and deadly labor struggles in American history was waged in West Virginia. On one side were powerful corporations whose millions bought armed guards and political influence. On the other side were 50,000 mine workers, the nation’s largest labor union, and the legendary “miners’ angel,” Mother...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Atlantic Monthly Press 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 975 GRE

Summary: Coal provides half of America's electricity. Examines the explosive forces that have set in motion a conflict between the coal industry and residents of West Virginia. Faced with toxic ground water, the obliteration of 1.4 million acres of mountains, and a government that appeases industry, the heroes launch a valiant fight to arouse the nation's help in protecting their mountains, saving their...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Distributed by New Video Group 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC BUR

Johnson, Clint

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: John F. Blair 1999

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 917.55 JOH

Summary: The inspiring story of how a small town in West Virginia, steeped in the rich tradition of college football, struggled to cope with a devastating loss and restore their community after one of the worst disasters in the history of American sports. On the evening of Saturday, November 14, 1970, a chartered jet carrying Marshall University's football team, coaches and fans, was on its way home...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Warner Home Video 2007

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Digital Video Disc, Call number: DVD WE RATED PG

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Family DVDs, Call number: DVD Family We 2007

Shnayerson, Michael.

Summary: One of America's most dramatic environmental battles is unfolding in southern West Virginia. Coal companies are decapitating the mountains. The forested ridge tops and valley streams of Appalachia--one of the country's natural treasures--are being destroyed, along with towns and communities. An entire culture is disappearing, and most Americans have no idea it's happening. Journalist Shnayerson...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 338.2 SHN

Adkins, Leonard M

Summary: "West Virginia native and long-distance hiker and author Leonard M. Adkins has walked more than 400 miles to uncover 50 hikes available to outdoor travelers of all ages and abilities. From rugged Allegheny Mountain summits to the banks of the Ohio River, the author leads you to hikes beside rushing streams and crashing waterfalls, up to windswept plains whose flora and fauna resemble that of...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Countryman 2013

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: 917.54 Adkins 2013

Thomas, Sarah Loudin

Summary: "Colman Harpe works for the C&O in the Appalachian rail town of Thurmond, West Virginia, but he'd rather be a preacher and lead his own congregation. When a member of the rival McLean clan guns down his cousin and the clan matriarch, Serepta McLean, taunts the Harpes by coming to a tent revival in their territory, Colman chooses peace over seeking revenge with the rest of his family. Colman,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Barrows, Annie.

Summary: "Miss Layla Beck, the daughter of a powerful Senator from Delaware refuses to marry the gentleman her father has chosen for her and is forced to get a job working for the FWP to write the first official account of Maecdonian History. Her notions of real life--the social whirl of Newport and New York--are totally upended and she despairs in rooming with the overly eccentric Romeyn family in such...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Books on Tape 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC BAR

Fields, Jan

Summary: Gabe and the other monster hunters arrive in a wildlife management area in West Virginia to investigate reports of a monster called the Mothman--but mostly what they see are owls, until something much larger attacks them in the night.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Magic Wagon 2016

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in J Series, Call number: J FIC FIE

Hickam, Homer H.

Summary: In the summer of '61, Homer "Sonny" Hickam, a year of college behind him, is dreaming of sandy beaches and rocket ships. But before Sonny can reach the seaside fixer-upper where his mother is spending the summer, a telephone call sends him back to the place he thought he had escaped, the gritty coal-mining town of Coalwood, West Virginia. There, Sonny's father, the mine's superintendent, has...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Delacorte Press 2001

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 813.54 HIC

Summary: A picturesque portrait of the nearly extinct mountain culture of Boone County, West Virginia, focusing on the unique character of Jesco White: mountain dancer, petty criminal, Elvis Presley aficionado.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Moviefish 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC DAN

Walls, Jeannette.

Summary: In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family. The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2006

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: 362.82 WAL

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Adult, Call number: 362.82 WAL

Copies Available at Woodmere

7 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 WALLS, JEANETTE WAL

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: 921 Walls 2005

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: B WALLS WAL

Naylor, Phyllis Reynolds.

Summary: "Marty and his best friend, Shiloh are on another adventure. Marty learns when a secret is too dangerous to keep, and that hate can spread like fire"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Atheneum Books for Young Readers 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Holidays, Call number: J FIC NAY

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J FICTION NAY

Barrows, Annie.

Summary: "Miss Layla Beck, the daughter of a powerful Senator from Delaware refuses to marry the gentleman her father has chosen for her and is forced to get a job working for the FWP to write the first official account of Maecdonian History. Her notions of real life--the social whirl of Newport and New York--are totally upended and she despairs in rooming with the overly eccentric Romeyn family in such...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: The Dial Press 2015

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC BAR

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC BAR

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC BAR

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC BAR

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Barrows 2015

Harman, Patricia

Summary: The Great Depression has hit West Virginia hard. Men are out of work; women struggle to feed hungry children. Luckily, Nurse Becky Myers has returned to care for them. While she can handle most situations, Becky is still uneasy helping women deliver their babies. For these mothers-to-be, she relies on an experienced midwife, her dear friend Patience Murphy.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC HAR

Wardell, Patrick G.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Heritage Books 1986

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Genealogy, Call number: R-GEN 929.3775 WAR

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: AAA Publishing 0000

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Wardell, Patrick G.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Heritage Books 1986

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Genealogy, Call number: R-GEN 929.3755 WAD

Fontes, Justine.

Summary: Presents the history, geography, people, politics and government, economy, culture and lifestyle, state events and attractions, and notable people of West Virginia.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: World Almanac Library 2003

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J 975.4 Fontes