Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Summary: Led by Captain Jack Harkness, the Torchwood team delves into the unknown and fights the impossible. From an underground base built on a rift in time and space, the team responds to any alien threat-- a meteorite crash landing, sightings of extra-terrestrial technology, an unusual autopsy report, the spread of a deadly alien virus. Everyone who works for Torchwood is under 35. Some day that's...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: BBC Video 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in British Television Series DVDs, Call number: DVD BRITISH TV TOR

Bingham, Harry

Summary: When DC Fiona Griffiths says 'yes' to her policeman boyfriend, it's an affirmation that she wants finally to put her psychological breakdown behind her. But she still can't resist the challenge of an undercover policing course, and finding it remarkably easy to assume a new identity, she comes top of the class. So when an ingenious payroll fraud starts to look like the tip of a huge criminal...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Sheep Street Books 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC BIN

Summary: The adventures of a team of investigators, led by the enigmatic Captain Jack. Set in Cardiff, in the present day, the team uses scavenged alien technology in a very real world to solve crime both alien and human.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: BBC Video 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in British Television Series DVDs, Call number: DVD BRITISH TV TOR

Cossins, Annie.

Summary: In October 1892, a one-month-old baby boy was found buried in the backyard of Sarah and John Makin, two wretchedly poor baby farmers in inner Sydney. In the weeks that followed, 12 more babies were found buried in the backyards of other houses in which the Makins had lived. This resulted in the most infamous trial in Australian legal history, and exposed a shocking underworld of desperate...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Allen & Unwin 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 364.1523 COS

Hamer, Marc

Summary: "For readers of Late Migrations and Vesper Flights From the acclaimed author of How to Catch a Mole, this meditative memoir explores the wisdom of plants, the joys of manual labor, and the natural cycle of growth and decay that runs through both the garden's life and our own. Marc Hamer has nurtured the same 12-acre garden in the Welsh countryside for over two decades. The garden is vast and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Greystone Books 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 HAMER, MARC HAM

James, Erica

Summary: Angel Sands is an old fashioned seaside resort of bed and breakfasts, cottages to let and teashops. And with the best views of the tiny beach is Paradise House, home to the Baxter girls. With their mother taking time out to find herself, it's down to them to maintain the smooth running of the family-owned bed and breakfast. Not an easy task given that their father -- now that his wife isn't...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: W.F. Howes 2003

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC JAM

Collier, Catrin.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Accent 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC COL

Summary: A year after his arrival, Dr. Sharma is faced with an outbreak of smallpox that threatens to bring catastrophe to the village, a visit from his mother-in-law who doesn't approve of him and a confrontation with an outspoken evangelical preacher.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: [Publisher not identified] 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in British Television Series DVDs, Call number: DVD BRITISH TV IND

Summary: "The traditional stories of Ireland, Scotland, Brittany, and Wales transport us to the fantastical world of Celtic folklore. These timeless tales brim with wit and magic, and each one is brought to life with elegant silhouette art in this special illustrated edition." -- Page [4] cover.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Chronicle Books 2016

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Taliaferro, John

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: PublicAffairs 2006

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 979.802 TAL

Grenville, Kate

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Canongate 2006

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC GRE

Riggs, Ransom.

Summary: A horrific family tragedy sends sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of an old orphanage that was home to children who were more than just peculiar, but possibly dangerous--and who may still be alive. Illustrated with vintage found photographs.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thorndike Press 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: YA FIC RIG

Super Furry Animals (Musical group)

Contents: Drygioni -- Ymaelodi a'r ymylon -- Y gwyned iau -- Dacw hi -- Nythod cacwn -- Pan ddaw'r wawr -- Ysbeidiau heulog -- Y teimlad -- Sarn Helen -- Gwneiddiau dwfn/mawrth oer ar y blaned neifion --

Format: sound recording-musical

Publisher / Publication Date: Beggars/XL Recordings 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Audio Disc, Call number: CD POP/ROCK SUP

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Genealogical Pub. Co. 1984

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Genealogy, Call number: GEN 929.341 Hum

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: Rick Stevens is your perfect travel partner, guiding you through 60 hours of discoveries in his favorite European cities, villages, and off-the-beaten-path destinations. The complete DVD set brings you every one of Rick's half-hour TV shows- plus his highly acclaimed, hour-long TV specials.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Davies, Peter Ho

Summary: At the height of World War II, a forbidden romance blossoms between seventeen-year-old Esther Evans, the daughter of a Welsh shepherd, and Karsten Simmering, a troubled young German POW, who questions what he has been fighting for.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Houghton Mifflin 2007

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC Dav

Mohamed, Nadifa

Summary: "Based on a true event, The Fortune Men tells the intimate, harrowing story of the last man in Britain to be sentenced to death. In Cardiff, Wales in 1952, Mahmood Mattan, a young Somali sailor, is accused of a crime he did not commit: the brutal killing of Violet Volacki, a shopkeeper from Tiger Bay. At first, Mahmood believes he can ignore the fingers pointing his way; he may be a gambler and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MOH

Nicholas, Thomas.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Genealogical Pub. Co. 1991

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Genealogy, Call number: GEN 929.342 Nicho

Summary: In 1831, young Irishman Charles Adare arrives in New South Wales, Australia, eager to make his fortune, and make it fast. But what he finds are secrets that won't stay buried. Adare is swept into the private world of wealthy land baron Samson Flusky and his mentally unbalanced wife, Lady Henrietta. As Adare attempts to help this haunted woman, greed, jealousy, and a secret passion threaten to...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in British Television Series DVDs, Call number: DVD BRITISH TV UND

Gibson, Jeremy Sumner Wycherley.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Genealogical Pub. Co. 1989

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Genealogy, Call number: GEN 929.1 Gibso

Junor, Penny

Summary: The esteemed royal biographer traces the unlikely and extraordinary story of the once-reviled wife of Britain's Prince Charles, detailing her roles in some of the darkest days of the modern monarchy and her role in helping restore its reputation.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 CAMILLA, DUCHESS JUN

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: B CAMILLA JUN

Summary: "For the millions who adored the People's Princess, this lavish book celebrates Diana Spencer's life in pictures. Page after page of inside photos from the legendary National Geographic archives document the royal's most memorable moments in the spotlight; a luminous, personal remembrance by Diana friend and biographer Tina Brown adds context and nuance to a poignant life twenty years after her...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: National Geographic 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 DIANA, PRINCESS REM

Fox, Candice

Summary: Most homicide detective teams run on trust, loyalty, and the shared desire to put killers behind bars. Frank Bennett's partner, Eden Archer, thrives on darkness and danger. She has a rare talent for catching killers - but her idea of justice has little to do with courtrooms.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Kensington Publishing Corp. 2015

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Fox 2015

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: P FOX

Nicholas, Thomas.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Genealogical Pub. Co. 1991

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Reference, Call number: GEN 929.342 N

Back to Top