Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Hartman, Saidiya V.

Summary: "A breathtaking exploration of the lives of young black women in the early twentieth century. In Wayward Lives, Beautiful Experiments, Saidiya Hartman examines the revolution of black intimate life that unfolded in Philadelphia and New York at the beginning of the twentieth century. Free love, common-law and transient marriages, serial partners, cohabitation outside of wedlock, queer relations,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: W.W. Norton & Company 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.48 HAR

Roosevelt, Eleanor

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: "Eleanor Roosevelt never wanted her husband to run for president. When he won, she . . . went on a national tour to crusade on behalf of women. She wrote a regular newspaper column. She became a champion of women's rights and of civil rights. And she decided to write a book."--Jill Lepore, from the Introduction

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Nation Books, an imprint of Perseus Books 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.4 ROO

Hedges, Chris.

Summary: "In the vein of Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Pulitzer Prize winner and bestselling author Chris Hedges and American Book Award winning cartoonist Joe Sacco bring us a searing on-the-ground report on the crisis gripping underclass America and crime-ridden poverty enclaves--in prisons, urban slums, and rural communities--metastasizing around the nation"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Nation Books 2012

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

O'Rourke, P. J

Summary: A portrait of the baby boom generation celebrates the bad trips, questionable politics, and outrageous styles of the author and his generation while analyzing how the boom shaped contemporary America.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pgw 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 817.54 ORO

Putnam, Robert D.

Summary: "An eminent political scientist's brilliant synthesis of social and political trends over the past century that shows how we have gone from an individualistic society to a more communitarian society and then back again -- and how we can use that experience to overcome once again the individualism that currently weakens our country"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Daughters of the American Revolution

Summary: Highlights some of the members of the Daughters of the American Revolution who made an impact during the suffrage era. Book published to accompany an exhibit by the same name.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: National Society, Daughters of the American Revolution 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 324.6 ORD

Trillin, Calvin

Summary: An anthology of previously uncollected essays, originally published in "The New Yorker," reflects the work of the eminent journalist's early career and traces his witness to the fledgling years of desegregation in Georgia.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.8 TRI

Summary: Declares "the American century", the name Henry Luce gave to an era of American prosperity beginning in 1941, dead, and collects essays explaining what the American century was and meant, and why many believe it has met a premature demise.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harvard University Press 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 973.91 SHO

Summary: The 1960s was the decade America transformed from a country of conformity to a land of political, cultural, and social liberation. Looking through the lens of television, this production weaves together the events and personalities that influenced and dominated the 1960s in America, sketching a portrait of this remarkable decade that is both entertaining and illuminating.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: [publisher not identified] 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in E-TV DVDs, Call number: DVD E-TV SIX

Carlson, Tucker

4 holds on 1 copy

Summary: From the host of Tucker Carlson Tonight on Fox News and the New York Times best-selling author of Ship of Fools, a collection of nostalgic writings that underscore America's long slide from innocence to orthodoxy.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: A modern day version of the Dickens' classic finds an aspiring artist (Hawke) reunited with his love (Paltrow). When she agrees to model for him, his dearest hopes may be realized, along with his darkest fears.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment 2009

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Glaser, Gabrielle

Summary: "The shocking truth about postwar adoption in America, told through the bittersweet story of one teenager, the son she was forced to relinquish, and their search to find each other-- As Baby Boomers became teenagers in 1960s America, women were encouraged to stay home and raise large families, but sex and childbirth were taboo subjects. Premarital sex was common, but birth control was hard to...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.734 GLA

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: 362.7340 GLA

Stebenne, David

Summary: "A timely work of groundbreaking history explains how the American middle class ballooned at mid-century until it dominated the nation, showing who benefited and what brought the expansion to an end"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.5 STE

Talbot, David

Summary: 'By the Light of Burning Dreams' chronicles some of the most important moments of activism from the 60s and 70s, and ties them into the arrival of today's major political players and major progressive movements. David and Margaret Talbot are both very well-connected, with contacts such as Robert F. Kennedy, Jr., George R.R. Martin,Glenn Greenwald, Naomi Klein, and Oliver Stone. From the founder...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New Non-fiction, Call number: 973 TAL

McPhee, Martha

Summary: "On a winter day in 1910, at a train station in Ohio, two girls wait in the cold with their mother to begin a new life in the West. Tommy, the eldest, feels responsible for her sister, and in the years to come, as their mother campaigns for women's suffrage and teaches in one-room schoolhouses across Montana, she takes care of Katherine: trapping animals, begging, keeping house, cooking, while...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc. 2020

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC MCP

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: University of North Carolina Press 2002

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Massini, Stefano

1 hold on 2 copies

Summary: "... Spanning three generations and 150 years, The Lehman Trilogy is a moving epic that dares to tell the story of modern capitalism through the saga of the Lehman brothers and their descendants. Surprising and exciting, brilliant and inventive, Stefano Massini's masterpiece--like Hamilton--is a story of immigration, ambition, and success; it is the story of America itself from a daring and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperVia, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2020

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC MAS

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MAS

Spar, Debora L

Summary: One of the first women professors at Harvard Business School and the president of Barnard College examines how women's lives have--and have not--changed over the past forty years.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar Straus & Giroux 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.42 SPA

Summary: A late-night comedy show featuring memorable short skits, hilarious sketches, parodies of television commercials, a live guest band featuring original musical performances, and a pop-cultural guest host each week.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2006

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Menand, Louis.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus & Giroux 2001

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Hendricks, Nancy

Summary: "From Beatniks to Sputnik and Princess Grace to Peyton Place, this book illuminates the female half of America's population as they entered a "brave new world" that revolutionized women's lives"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Greenwood 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Ward, Geoffrey C.

Summary: An extraordinarily vivid and personal portrait of America's greatest political family and its enormous impact on our nation--the tie-in volume to the PBS documentary to air in the fall of 2014.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 ROOSEVELT FAMILY WAR

Campbell, W. Joseph.

Summary: A hinge moment in recent American history, 1995 was an exceptional year. Drawing on interviews, oral histories, memoirs, archival collections, and news reports, W. Joseph Campbell presents a vivid, detail-rich portrait of those memorable twelve months. This book offers fresh interpretations of the decisive moments of 1995, including the emergence of the Internet and the World Wide Web in...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: University of California Press 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 973.929 CAM

Serrin, Judith.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: New Press 2001

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 306 SER

Back to Top