Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location
Audience

Battle, Lois.

Summary: Hilly Pruitt and the other women of Florabama, Alabama, wonder what course their lives are going to take after the factory where they have worked for years closes down, leaving them all with no jobs and very little hope.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2001

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC BAT

Solow, Jennifer.

Summary: A Manhattan kleptomaniac remembers her childhood spent in her uncle's Madison Avenue department store, where she lived a fairy-tale existence before her recruitment into an organized South American shoplifting ring.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Atria Books 2006

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC SOL

Cruz, Angie

3 holds on 4 copies

Summary: "From the beloved author of Dominicana, a GMA Book Club Pick and Women's Prize Finalist, an electrifying and indelible new novel about a woman who has lost everything but the chance to finally tell her story. Write this down: Cara Romero wants to work. Cara Romero thought she would work at the factory of little lamps for the rest of her life. But when, in her mid-50s, she loses her job in the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Flatiron Books 2022

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC CRU

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Browsing Hot Titles, Call number: HOT TITLE

Owens, Lisa

Summary: "In the tradition of Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones's Diary and Allison Pearson's I Don't Know How She Does It comes a wise and laugh-out-loud debut novel that captures a young generation trying not to have it all, but to figure out what it all means. Claire has just resigned from her job without a plan for her next move. As she struggles to explain herself to friends and family, she...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: The Dial Press 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC OWE

Kiely, Tracy.

Summary: "A dedicated Anglophile and Janeite, Elizabeth Parker is hoping the trip to the Jane Austen Festival in Bath will distract her from her lack of a job and her uncertain future with her boyfriend. On the plane ride, she and Aunt Winnie meet Professor Zackary Baines, a self-proclaimed expert on all things Austen. He claims that within each Austen novel there is another darker secondary story,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Minotaur Books 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC KIE

Back to Top