Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location
Audience

McCarthy, Melissa

Summary: After losing her job and finding out that her husband has been disloyal, a woman goes out on a road trip with her adventurous grandmother.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Warner Home Video 2014

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Digital Video Disc, Call number: DVD MOVIE TAM

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Digital Video Disc, Call number: DVD Ta

Summary: "Six unemployed men, inspired by a touring group of male strippers, decide they can make a small fortune by putting on a striptease show of their ow -- with one small difference. They intend to go the "full monty" and strip completely naked! In this hilarious, heartfelt comedy, these six friends discover the inner strength to bare it all in front of the world."--Back of container.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 1999

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Comedy DVDs, Call number: DVD COMEDY FUL

Cruz, Angie

1 hold on 4 copies

Summary: "From the beloved author of Dominicana, a GMA Book Club Pick and Women's Prize Finalist, an electrifying and indelible new novel about a woman who has lost everything but the chance to finally tell her story. Write this down: Cara Romero wants to work. Cara Romero thought she would work at the factory of little lamps for the rest of her life. But when, in her mid-50s, she loses her job in the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Flatiron Books 2022

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC CRU

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New Fiction, Call number: FIC CRU
1 available in Browsing Hot Titles, Call number: HOT TITLE

Solow, Jennifer.

Summary: A Manhattan kleptomaniac remembers her childhood spent in her uncle's Madison Avenue department store, where she lived a fairy-tale existence before her recruitment into an organized South American shoplifting ring.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Atria Books 2006

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC SOL

Summary: Jean, a 40-year old unemployed actor, has hit rock bottom. Insufferably clueless and egotistical, his over-the-top acting and high-maintenance personality have gotten him fired from countless jobs. At the unemployment office, his counselor sets him up with a rather odd job: helping the police reconstruct crime scenes by standing in for the dead victim.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in TC Film Fest DVDs, Call number: DVD TCFF PLA

Summary: Awakenings: The story of the consequences of a maverick doctor's medical miracle.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Sony Pictures Home Entertainment 2008

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: Josey Aimes needs a job and goes to work at a Minnesota iron mine after splitting with her violent husband. But the job proves to be almost as harrowing as her marriage. The male miners are resentful of women taking their jobs, so the men verbally abuse and play humiliating pranks on the female miners. After being physically assaulted by a coworker, Josey tries to fight against the harassment,...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Warner Home Video 2006

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Drama DVDs, Call number: DVD DRAMA NOR

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Digital Video Disc, Call number: DVD Movie North

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Digital Video Disc, Call number: DVD NOR RATED R

Summary: When the steel mills of Sheffied, England are closed, Gaz and thousand of other workers are left unemployed. Depressed and facing a custody battle for his son, Gaz happens across a show of male strippers and feels that the answer to his problems are laid bare. Recruiting a ratage group of six other unemployed friends into an unsightly stripper group, Gaz and his friends put on a show of their...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment 2007

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Owens, Lisa

Summary: "In the tradition of Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones's Diary and Allison Pearson's I Don't Know How She Does It comes a wise and laugh-out-loud debut novel that captures a young generation trying not to have it all, but to figure out what it all means. Claire has just resigned from her job without a plan for her next move. As she struggles to explain herself to friends and family, she...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: The Dial Press 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC OWE

Summary: An 18-year-old dreams of being a dancer. By day she's a welder and is having an affair with her boss, by night she dances in a exotic club.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Distributed by Warner Home Video 2013

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: Hank Hill is a propane salesman, his wife, Peggy, is a substitute teacher, and their 12-year-old son, Bobby, who is confused about the ways of life and the world, all live in a blue collar town in Texas.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment 1998

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Television Series DVDs, Call number: DVD TV KIN

Battle, Lois.

Summary: Hilly Pruitt and the other women of Florabama, Alabama, wonder what course their lives are going to take after the factory where they have worked for years closes down, leaving them all with no jobs and very little hope.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2001

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC BAT

Summary: In various episodes from the second season, Hank rallies the town after a lawsuit by a fundamentalist shutters the local haunted house and abolishes trick or treating. The tenacious Hank is forced to immerse himself in the world of adult video after a video store computer's falsely claims that he rented and did not return a movie and it sullies his credit rating. Hank continues to look for...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment 1997

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Television Series DVDs, Call number: DVD TV KIN

Summary: Hank Hill is a propane salesman, his wife, Peggy, is a substitute teacher, and their 12-year-old son, Bobby, who is confused about the ways of life and the world, all live in a blue collar town in Texas.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment 1997

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Television Series DVDs, Call number: DVD TV KIN

Summary: The year is 1985. Among many other things, Compo, Clegg, and Foggy attempt to settle a question involving Nora Batty's feet, an old mattress dumped in the countryside prompts Foggy to institute the Dewhirst Campaign for a Cleaner Countryside, and with the assistance of Compo and Clegg, Foggy sets out to show Digby's donkey who's the boss.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Distributed by BBC Worldwide Americas 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in British Television Series DVDs, Call number: DVD BRITISH TV LAS

Summary: A writer suffering from writer's block decides to open a day care for his father-in-law and a group of other seniors.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Universal Studios Home Entert. 0000

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Digital Video Disc, Call number: DVD Gr

Summary: "Outrageously funny but remarkably truthful, the series follows the exploits of propane salesman Hank Hill as he reigns over a family of underachievers, a group of beer-guzzling friends, and the everyday challenges of life in Arlen, Texas. Comprised of all 24 episodes from the thirteenth and final season, this three-disc collection features guest appearances by Andy Richter, Jake Steinfled,...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Television Series DVDs, Call number: DVD TV KIN

Summary: Jude is a dock worker from Liverpool who travels to the United States in the 1960s to find his estranged father. There, he falls in love with sheltered American teenager Lucy. When her brother, Max, is drafted to fight in the Vietnam War, they become involved in peace activism.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Musicals DVDs, Call number: DVD MUSICALS ACR

Summary: "In an attempt to impress a portly divorcGee that has caught his eye, an unemployed factory worker poses as the wealthy manager of a non-existent hotel. Hoping that his fabricated success will lead to holy matrimony, he instead finds himself the guardian of the woman's blind stepdaughter. Now, as the lies get more complicated and the deception more difficult to sustain, the sweet young blind...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Sony Pictures Classics 2002

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Foreign DVDs, Call number: DVD FOREIGN HAP

Summary: Five classic films that offer a rare glimpse at a lost era of provocative filmmaking.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Distributed by Warner Home Video 2008

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Dickey, Eric Jerome

Summary: "All is fair in love and lust in ... [this] tale of two brothers, four women, and the business of desire"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dutton 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC DIC

Kiely, Tracy.

Summary: "A dedicated Anglophile and Janeite, Elizabeth Parker is hoping the trip to the Jane Austen Festival in Bath will distract her from her lack of a job and her uncertain future with her boyfriend. On the plane ride, she and Aunt Winnie meet Professor Zackary Baines, a self-proclaimed expert on all things Austen. He claims that within each Austen novel there is another darker secondary story,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Minotaur Books 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC KIE

Lancaster, Jen

Summary: A memoir chronicles the adventures and misadventures of a woman whose perfect life and perfect job vanishes when she goes from a six-figure career to unemployment, and, forced to do some soul searching, becomes an author.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: New American Library 2006

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 LANCASTER, JEN LAN

Summary: In the year 44 B.C., Julius Caesar has been assassinated and civil war threatens to destroy the Republic. In the void left by Caesar's demise, egos clash and numerous players jockey for position. The brutally ambitious Mark Antony attempts to solidify his power, aligning himself with Atia, but coming to blows with her cunning son Octavian, who has been anointed in Caesar's will as his only son...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: HBO Home Video 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Television Series DVDs, Call number: DVD TV ROM

Back to Top