Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Thrace, Mischa

Summary: Seelie Stanton never wanted to be invisible in her own family, never wanted to crush on her best friend Alyssa, and she definitely never wanted to know how effectively a mallet could destroy someone's head. When Shane Mayfield, the former high school basketball star, attacks her, Seelie has no choice but to defend herself. She saved her own life, but she can't bring herself to talk about what...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Flux 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: YA FIC THR

Grisham, John.

1 hold on 7 copies

Summary: With two attorneys for parents, thirteen-year-old Theodore Boone knows more about the law than most lawyers do. But when a high profile murder trial comes to his small town and Theo gets pulled into it, it's up to this amateur attorney to save the day.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dutton Children's Books 2010

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J FIC GRI

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J FIC GRI

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J Fiction Grisham 2010

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: JFIC GRI

Sims, Guy A.

Summary: While on trial as an accomplice to a murder, sixteen-year-old Steve Harmon records his experiences in prison and in the courtroom in the form of a film script as he tries to come to terms with the course his life has taken.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Amistad, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: YA 741.5 SIM

Patterson, James

Summary: Ruby Bozarth, a newcomer to Rosedale, Mississippi, is also fresh to the Mississippi Bar--and to the docket of Circuit Judge Baylor, who taps Ruby as defense counsel in a racially charged felony. The murder of a woman from one of the town's oldest families has Rosedale's upper crust howling for blood, and the prosecutor is counting on Ruby's inexperience to help him deliver a swift conviction....

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little Brown & Company 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

3 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC PAT
1 available in New Fiction, Call number: FIC PAT

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC PAT

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC PAT

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: FICTION PAT

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Stacks, Call number: Fiction Patterson 2018

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Adult, Call number: M PAT

Doughty, Louise

Summary: "An intelligent, erotically charged thriller with deep moral implications. Yvonne Carmichael, renowned geneticist, public authority, happily married mother of two, sits in the accused box. The charge is murder. Across the courtroom, not meeting her eye, sits her alleged accomplice. He wears the beautiful pin-striped suit he wore on their first meeting in the Houses of Parliament, when he put...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC DOU

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Doughty 2014

Field, Rachel

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Chicago Review Press 2003

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC FIE

Rosenfelt, David.

Summary: After Laurie Collins left him and headed west, New Jersey defense attorney Andy Carpenter didn't expect to ever see her again. So he's shocked when his ex-girlfriend appears on TV - and then calls him pleading for his help. Two coeds in Wisconsin have been found brutally stabbed to death. As the town's acting police chief, Laurie had to arrest a young college student with a car full of...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Mysterious Press 2006

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC ROS

Champion, David.

Summary: An eccentric Chicago heiress and her entourage are watching Fourth of July fireworks in the backyard of her California mansion when she is shot in the head. A self-styled communist and employee at the mansion is tackled and witnesses swear they saw him shoot her. The young man is so offensive, mega lawyer Bomber Hanson posits he couldn't be guilty and takes the case. Bomber's son and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Allen A. Knoll 2002

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC CHA

Buckley, Christopher

Summary: When First Lady Beth MacMann is charged with killing her philandering husband, the President of the United States, during a bedroom argument, she turns for help to notorious defense attorney Boyce "Shameless" Baylor, her former flame.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2002

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Rosenfelt, David.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thorndike Press 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP M ROS

Tyce, Harriet

1 hold on 3 copies

Summary: A young lawyer's outwardly perfect life spirals out of control as she takes on her first murder case in this dark and twisty debut thriller for readers of Paula Hawkins, A.J. Finn, or Shari Lapena. I did it. I killed him. I should be locked up. Alison, a young lawyer, has just been given her first murder case to defend. Her new client is a meek housewife who doesn't deny that she stabbed her...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Grand Central Publishing 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in New Fiction, Call number: FIC TYC

Champion, David.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Allen A. Knoll Publishers 2000

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC CHA

Babson, Marian.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thomas Dunne Books 2002

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC BAB

Martini, Steve

Summary: As lawyer Paul Madriani's wife lies dying, leaving him with two children, she asks a favor: protect her younger sister, Laurel, mired in a bitter child custody battle with her former husband, a powerful state senator. When the senator's new wife is murdered and police arrest Laurel, Madriani sets out to keep his promise and discovers a Laurel no one knew. By the author of Compelling Evidence.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Putnam 1994

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

McBain, Ed

Summary: Toy designer Lainie Commins sues her boss for patent infringement, claiming he stole her cross-eyed bear. When the man is killed aboard his yacht in Florida, Lainie is accused of murder. Lawyer Mathew Hope takes up her defense.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Warner Books 1996

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCB

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: MYS MCB

Rosenfelt, David.

Summary: Attorney Andy Carpenter is about to represent an adorable Bernese mountain dog puppy, whose owner was brutally murdered, in a custody fight. Few can rival Andy's affection for dogs, and he will do whatever it takes to insure that this little pup doesn't fall into the wrong hands. But his playful new friend possesses a deadly and valuable secret that a number of people are willing to resort to...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thorndike Press 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP M ROS

Shepard, Sara

Summary: On trial for murdering an actually still-alive Alison DiLaurentis, only Aria, Emily, Spencer, and Hanna know they have been framed and resolve to beat Ali at her own game.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: YA FIC SHE

Goudge, Eileen.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thorndike Press 2003

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC GOU

Stone, Nick

Summary: Taking a high-profile murder case that may make his career, Terry Flynt is forced to confront secrets from the past when he discovers that his millionaire client, who is a former friend, brutally betrayed him years earlier.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pegasus Books 2015

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC STO

Wright, Richard

Summary: Right from the start, Bigger Thomas had been headed for jail. It could have been for assault or petty larceny; by chance, it was for murder and rape. Native Son tells the story of this young black man caught in a downward spiral after he kills a young white woman in a brief moment of panic. Set in Chicago in the 1930s, Richard Wright's novel is just as powerful today as when it was written --...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper Perennial Modern Classics 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC WRI

Osborn, Karen.

Summary: Inseparable friends since childhood, brothers David and Michael and their neighbor Kay embark on a night of adventure during which a drug-influenced David jumps off a bridge and sets a devastating series of events in motion.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: William Morrow 2002

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC OSB

Connelly, Michael

Summary: Mickey Haller has fallen on tough times. He expands his business into foreclosure defense, only to see one of his clients accused of killing the banker she blames for trying to take away her home. Mickey puts his team into high gear to exonerate Lisa Trammel, even though the evidence and his own suspicions tell him his client is guilty. Soon after he learns that the victim had black market...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Company 2011

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC CON

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: FICTION CON

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: MYS CON

Babson, Marian.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thorndike Press 2002

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP M BAB

Buckley, Christopher

Summary: The attorney general has charged the First Lady of the United States with killing her philandering husband in the midst of a bedoom spat.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thorndike Press 2003

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC BUC