Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location
Audience

You, Peiyun

Summary: For fans of Persepolis; An incredible true story in graphic novel form, that lays bare the tortured and triumphant history of Taiwan, an island claimed and fought over by many countries, through the life story of a man who lived through its most turbulent times. Tsai Kun-lin, an ordinary boy was born in Qingshui, Taichung in 1930s Taiwan. In part 1 Tsai, in concert with the beautiful...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Levine Querido 2023

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Young Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: YA GRAPHIC BOY

Khan, Sulmaan Wasif

Summary: "As tensions over Taiwan escalate, the United States and China stand on the brink of a catastrophic war. Resolving the impasse demands we understand how it began. In 1943, America declared that Japanese-held Taiwan would return to China at the conclusion of World War II. The Chinese civil war led to a change of plans. The Communist Party came to power in China and the defeated Nationalist...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Basic Books 2024

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Chung, Eve J.

4 holds on 4 copies

Summary: "A propulsive, extraordinary novel about a mother and her daughters' harrowing escape to Taiwan as the Communist revolution sweeps through China, by debut author Eve J. Chung, based on her family story. Daughters are the Ang family's curse. In 1948, civil war ravages the Chinese countryside, but in rural Shandong, the wealthy, landowning Angs are more concerned with their lack of an heir. Hai...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Berkley 2024

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

You, Peiyun

Summary: "After his imprisonment in Green Island, Kun-lin struggles to pick up where he left off ten years earlier. He reconnects with his childhood crush Kimiko and finds work as an editor, jumping from publisher to publisher until finally settling at an advertising company. But when manhua publishing becomes victim to censorship, and many of his friends lose their jobs, Kun-lin takes matters into his...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Levine Querido 2024

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New YA Materials, Call number: YA 921 YOU

Wu, Julie

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: "In the middle of a terrifying air raid in Japanese-occupied Taiwan, Saburo, the least-favored son of a Taiwanese politician, runs through a peach forest for cover. It's there that he stumbles upon Yoshiko, whose descriptions of her loving family are to Saburo like a glimpse of paradise. Meeting her is a moment he will remember forever, and for years he will try to find her again. When he...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC WU

Li, Zhuqing

Summary: "Sisters separated by war forge new identities as they are forced to choose between family, nation, and their own independence. Scions of a once-great southern Chinese family that produced the tutor of the last emperor, Jun and Hong were each other's best friends until, in their twenties, they were separated by chance at the end of the Chinese Civil War. For the next thirty years, while one...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: W.W. Norton & Company, Inc 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 LI

Summary: A collection of documentaries made during World War II using actual newsreel footage, chronicling important events of the war.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2001

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC WOR

Summary: Follows the life of Mahatma Gandhi from his days as a lawyer in South Africa to his role as India's spiritual leader by using his philosophy of non-violent but direct-action protest that helped end British rule. Centers on the extraordinary man who fought for a nonviolent, peaceful existence and set an entire nation free.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Sony Pictures Home Entertainment 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Drama DVDs, Call number: DVD DRAMA GAN

Summary: Profiles baseball legends from the early years, fabulous fifties, and the modern era.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: MM & V 2000

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in E-TV DVDs, Call number: DVD E-TV GRE

Palombo, Alyssa

Summary: "A girl as beautiful as Simonetta Cattaneo never wants for marriage proposals in 15th Century Italy, but she jumps at the chance to marry Marco Vespucci. Marco is young, handsome and well-educated. Not to mention he is one of the powerful Medici family's favored circle. Even before her marriage with Marco is set, Simonetta is swept up into Lorenzo and Giuliano de' Medici's glittering circle of...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Griffin 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC PAL

chat loading...
Back to Top