Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location
Audience

Khan, Sulmaan Wasif

Summary: "As tensions over Taiwan escalate, the United States and China stand on the brink of a catastrophic war. Resolving the impasse demands we understand how it began. In 1943, America declared that Japanese-held Taiwan would return to China at the conclusion of World War II. The Chinese civil war led to a change of plans. The Communist Party came to power in China and the defeated Nationalist...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Basic Books 2024

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Chung, Eve J.

4 holds on 4 copies

Summary: "A propulsive, extraordinary novel about a mother and her daughters' harrowing escape to Taiwan as the Communist revolution sweeps through China, by debut author Eve J. Chung, based on her family story. Daughters are the Ang family's curse. In 1948, civil war ravages the Chinese countryside, but in rural Shandong, the wealthy, landowning Angs are more concerned with their lack of an heir. Hai...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Berkley 2024

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

You, Peiyun

Summary: "After his imprisonment in Green Island, Kun-lin struggles to pick up where he left off ten years earlier. He reconnects with his childhood crush Kimiko and finds work as an editor, jumping from publisher to publisher until finally settling at an advertising company. But when manhua publishing becomes victim to censorship, and many of his friends lose their jobs, Kun-lin takes matters into his...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Levine Querido 2024

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New YA Materials, Call number: YA 921 YOU

You, Peiyun

Summary: For fans of Persepolis; An incredible true story in graphic novel form, that lays bare the tortured and triumphant history of Taiwan, an island claimed and fought over by many countries, through the life story of a man who lived through its most turbulent times. Tsai Kun-lin, an ordinary boy was born in Qingshui, Taichung in 1930s Taiwan. In part 1 Tsai, in concert with the beautiful...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Levine Querido 2023

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Young Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: YA GRAPHIC BOY

Li, Zhuqing

Summary: "Sisters separated by war forge new identities as they are forced to choose between family, nation, and their own independence. Scions of a once-great southern Chinese family that produced the tutor of the last emperor, Jun and Hong were each other's best friends until, in their twenties, they were separated by chance at the end of the Chinese Civil War. For the next thirty years, while one...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: W.W. Norton & Company, Inc 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 LI

Summary: A collection of documentaries made during World War II using actual newsreel footage, chronicling important events of the war.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2001

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC WOR

chat loading...
Back to Top