Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Tobar, Héctor

Summary: A Pulitzer Prize winning journalist relates the experiences of the thirty-three men who endured entrapment beneath thousands of feet of rock for a record-breaking sixty-nine days during the San José mine collapse outside of Copiapó, Chile, in August 2010.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2014

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: 363.11 TOB

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: 363.11 Tobar 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 983 TOB

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: 983 TOB

Aronson, Marc.

Summary: "The amazing story of the Chilean miners and their incredible rescue!"-- Provided by publisher.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Atheneum Books for Young Readers 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 363.11 ARO

1 hold on 3 copies

Summary: In 2010, the eyes of the world turned to Chile, where 33 miners had been buried alive by the catastrophic explosion and collapse of a 100-year-old gold and copper mine. Over the next 69 days, an international team worked night and day in a desperate attempt to rescue the trapped men as their families and friends, as well as millions of people globally, waited and watched anxiously for any sign...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Digital Video Disc, Call number: DVD 33 RATED PG-13

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Drama DVDs, Call number: DVD DRAMA THI

Summary: In Tibet, a once-sovereign nation for thousands of years, much of the country remains under harsh Communist Chinese rule and "patriotic re-education." The surviving Tibetan folk music shapes an endangered people's identity. Ngawang Choephel, a Tibetan musicologist who fled for India at the age of two, returned home to capture the music of his people. He was arrested and sentenced to eighteen...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: New Yorker Video 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC TIB

Summary: Tharlo is a Tibetan shepherd, used to living with little human contact. Visiting a Tibetan town in Qinghai province to obtain a proper ID card from the local police station, Tharlo surprises Police Chief Dorje by reciting from memory a lengthy excerpt from one of Chairman Mao's essays. But things develop in a romantic rather than a political direction. To prepare for his ID photo, Tharlo needs...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Foreign DVDs, Call number: DVD FOREIGN THA

Summary: Presents a debate on the question of the existence of God between the philosophies of Sigmund Freud and C.S. Lewis.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: PBS Home Video 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in E-TV DVDs, Call number: DVD E-TV QUE

Summary: "When a young man notices several thefts of sought-after Tibetan mastiffs from local farms, he decides to sell his family's dog before it is stolen and sold on the black market. His father, an aging Tibetan herder, is furious when he discovers their dog missing. His search to buy back his dog leads to a series of tragicomic events that threaten to tear the family apart, while showing the...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Icarus Films Home Video 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Foreign DVDs, Call number: DVD FOREIGN OLD

Summary: Contains fifteen prose stories about polar exploration by a variety of authors, including Barry Lopez, Nancy Mitford, Richard E. Byrd, Sir Ernest Shackleton, and others.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thunder's Mouth Press/Balliett & Fitzgerald 1999

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 919.8 ICE

1 hold on 2 copies

Summary: The aim of these lectures is to make viewers feel welcome and comfortable in the company of paintings. By focusing on 65 masterpieces of Western painting, Professor William Kloss offers a vivid, visceral encounter with genius, shining light on the unique technical, stylistic, and expressive achievements of each painting. From the 14th century to the 20th, the images are examined for their...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Teaching Company 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: DVD 709 WOR

Béland, Pierre

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Lyons & Burford 1996

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 599.53 BEL

Osborne, Lawrence

Summary: As night falls on Macau and the neon signs that line the rain-slick streets come alive, Doyle - "Lord Doyle" to his fellow players - descends into his casino of choice to try his luck at the baccarat tables that are the anchor of his current existence. A corrupt English lawyer who has escaped prosecution by fleeing to the East, Doyle spends his nights drinking and gambling and his days sleeping...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Hogarth 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC OSB

Summary: A team of rugby players survive a plane crash deep in the desolate, snow-covered Andes Mountains. Stranded there, they must overcome incredible odds to stay alive.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2002

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Action / Adventure DVDs, Call number: DVD ACTION/ADVENTURE ALI

Kavenna, Joanna.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 293 KAV

Jacobs, Alan

Summary: A journey into the imaginitive life of C.S. Lewis exploring the themes and life events that allowed an Oxford don, a scholar of medieval literature who loved to debate philosophy at his local pub, to the author of some of the greatest children's books of all time.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperAudio 2005

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Westerfeld, Scott

Summary: When Aero Horizon 16 crashes in the Arctic, eight children emerge from the wreckage to find themselves alone and surrounded, not by ice, but by a mysterious and deadly jungle full of carnivorous plants and predatory birds--the other five hundred people from the plane are gone, not necessarily dead, but taken by something that lives in the jungle.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scholastic Inc. 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FIC WES

Chaffey, Will.

Contents: Thirst -- Departures and arrivals -- Mitchell Plateau -- Millaa Millaa -- Wild Bill -- Perry Farm and Middlebrook Road -- By the road -- The academy -- Frank and Earl -- Tanami -- Getting out of Alice -- Alice to Melbourne -- Melbourne -- Back to Millaa -- Swahili spoken here -- West -- Flood : the flight from Wyndham -- First steps -- Landmarks -- The river -- The cave in the cliff -- Oralee...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Arcade Pub. 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 919.41 CHA

Proenneke, Richard.

1 hold on 1 copy

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alaska Northwest Books 1999

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 917.984 PRO

Jacobs, Alan

Summary: Traces the life of the twentieth-century Christian literary master, drawing on themes from the Narnia series to offer insight into Lewis's experiences, from his work as a medieval scholar to his role as a beloved children's book author.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperSanFrancisco 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 823.912 LEWIS, C. S. JAC

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: 921 Lew

Marsden, George M.

Summary: Mere Christianity, C. S. Lewis's eloquent and winsome defense of the Christian faith, originated as a series of BBC radio talks broadcast during the dark days of World War Two. Here is the story of the extraordinary life and afterlife of this influential and much-beloved book.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Princeton University Press 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 230 LEW

McGrath, Melanie

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.897 MCG

Summary: The account of the day-to-day explorations and activities of Dick Proenneke as he built a cabin in the remote wilderness of the Twin Lakes Region of Alaska.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Bob Swerer Productions 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC ALO

Summary: It explores the fundamental characteristics of myth, reality, ritual, and imagination, and tells the story of C.S. Lewis's intellectual journey into the realm of faith, which began at a meeting with fellow author J.R.R. Tolkien.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: PBS Distribution 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in E-TV DVDs, Call number: DVD E-TV TOL

Finkel, Michael

Summary: "For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2017

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: 921 KNI

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: B KNIGHT FIN

Bullock, Margaret E.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Portland Art Museum 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Oversize, Call number: OVS 759.13 BUL