Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Kort, Michael.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Checkmark Books 2008

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: 947 Kor

Summary: Danger, disillusionment, and betrayal reach an all-time high in the suspense-laced fifth season of The Americans. KGB agents Philip and Elizabeth Jennings' unwavering dedication to their work comes at even more of a personal cost than before. And as Paige is drawn deeper into the reality of her parents' secret job, she realizes she will never have a normal life. Meanwhile, as Cold War tensions...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Television Series and Box Set DVDs, Call number: DVD TV AME

Medvedev, Zhores A.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Norton 1986

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult, Call number: 921 GOR

Kotkin, Stephen

Summary: Pulitzer Prize-finalist Stephen Kotkin continues his definitive biography of Stalin, from collectivization and the Great Terror through to the coming of the conflict with Hitler's Germany that is the signal event of modern world history. As the shadows of the 30's deepen, Stalin's drive to militarize Soviet society takes on increasing urgency, and the ambition of Nazi Germany becomes the...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD 921 STALIN, JOSEPH KOT

Kotkin, Stephen

Summary: Pulitzer Prize-finalist Stephen Kotkin continues his definitive biography of Stalin, from collectivization and the Great Terror through to the coming of the conflict with Hitler's Germany that is the signal event of modern world history. As the shadows of the 30's deepen, Stalin's drive to militarize Soviet society takes on increasing urgency, and the ambition of Nazi Germany becomes the...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD 921 STALIN, JOSEPH KOT

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper Perennial Modern Classics 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC SOL

Kotkin, Stephen

Summary: When we left Stalin at the end of Stalin: Paradoxes of Power: 1878-1928, it was 1928, and he had finally climbed the mountaintop and achieved dictatorial power of the Soviet empire. The vastest peasant economy in the world would be transformed into socialist modernity, whatever it took. What it took, or what Stalin believed it took, was the most relentless campaign of shock industrialization...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Press 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 STALIN, JOSEPH KOT

Khrushchev, Nikita Sergeevich

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown 1970

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult, Call number: 947.08 KHR

Lewin, Moshe

Summary: "One hundred years after the Russian Revolution the Soviet Union remains the most extraordinary, yet tragic, attempt to create a society beyond capitalism. Yet its history was one that for a long time proved impossible to write. In The Soviet Century, Moshe Lewin follows this history in all its complexity, drawing widely upon previously unavailable archive material. Highlighting key factors...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Verso 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.084 LEW

Finn, Peter

Summary: The dramatic, until-now-untold story of how a forbidden book in the Soviet Union became a secret CIA weapon in the ideological battle between East and West.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD 891.73 FIN

Finn, Peter

Summary: Drawing on newly declassified files, this is the story of how a book forbidden in the Soviet Union became a secret CIA weapon in the ideological battle between East and West. In May 1956, an Italian publishing scout paid a visit to Russia's greatest living poet, Boris Pasternak. He left carrying the manuscript of Pasternak's first and only novel, entrusted to him with these words: "This is...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House Inc 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 891.73 FIN

Service, Robert

Summary: Trotsky is perhaps the most intriguing and, given his prominence, the most understudied of the Soviet revolutionaries. Using new archival sources, Robert Service offers new insights. He discusses Trotsky's fractious relations with the leaders he was trying to unify; his attempt to disguise his political closeness to Stalin; and his role in the early 1920s as the progenitor of political and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 TROTSKY, LEON SER

Conquest, Robert.

Summary: The definitive work on Stalin's purges, the author's The Great Terror was universally acclaimed when it first appeared in 1968. It was "hailed as the only scrupulous, nonpartisan, and adequate book on the subject". And in recent years it has received equally high praise in the Soviet Union, where it is now considered the authority on the period, and has been serialized in Neva, one of their...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Oxford University Press 1990

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Sebestyen, Victor

Summary: "Victor Sebestyen's riveting biography of Vladimir Ilyich Lenin--the first major biography in English in nearly two decades--is not only a political examination of one of the most important historical figures of the twentieth century but also a fascinating portrait of Lenin the man. Brought up in comfort and with a passion for hunting and fishing, chess, and the English classics, Lenin was...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pantheon Books 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 LENIN, VLADIMIR ILYICH SEB

Applebaum, Anne

Summary: A fully documented history of the Soviet camp system, from its origins in the Russian Revolution to its collapse in the era of glasnost. Anne Applebaum first lays out the chronological history of the camps and the logic behind their creation, enlargement, and maintenance. Applebaum also examines how life was lived within this shadow country: how prisoners worked, how they ate, where they lived,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Doubleday 2003

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult, Call number: 365.45 APP

Taubman, William.

Summary: Drawing on newly opened archives in Russia and Ukraine, Taubman (political science, Amherst College) writes a thorough biography of one of the most complex and important political figures of the 20th century whose life and career spanned revolution, civil war, famine, collectivization, industrialization, terror, world war, the Cold War, Stalinism, and post-Stalinism. Includes two sections of...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: W.W. Norton 2003

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult, Call number: 921 KHR

Putin, Vladimir Vladimirovich

Contents: Preface -- Principle [sic] figures in First Person -- The Son -- The Schoolboy -- The University Student -- The Young Specialist -- The Spy -- The Democrat -- The Bureaucrat -- The Family Man -- The Politician.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: PublicAffairs 2000

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult, Call number: 921 PUT

Taubman, William

Summary: A comprehensive biography of the final leader of the Soviet Union chronicles Gorbachev's rise from peasant to politician and describes how his liberal policies ended the Cold War and unintentionally provoked the breakup of the USSR. "When Mikhail Gorbachev became the leader of the Soviet Union in 1985, the USSR. was one of the world's two superpowers. By 1989, his liberal policies of...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 GORBACHEV, MIKHAIL TAU

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: B GORBACHEV TAU

Summary: Examines Trotsky, the revolutionary, venerated and reviled, loved, hated, feared. Archive material compiled from all over the world, citations and new shoots create an electrifying proximity to the historical person and to the man Leon Trotsky.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2000

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in E-TV DVDs, Call number: DVD E-TV TRO

Khlevniuk, O. V. (Oleg Vitalʹevich)

Summary: Josef Stalin exercised supreme power in the Soviet Union from 1929 until his death in 1953. During that quarter-century, by Oleg Khlevniuk’s estimate, he caused the imprisonment and execution of no fewer than a million Soviet citizens per year. Millions more were victims of famine directly resulting from Stalin's policies. What drove him toward such ruthlessness? This essential biography, by...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Yale University Press 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 STALIN, JOSEPH KHL

Applebaum, Anne

Summary: A fully documented history of the Soviet camp system, from its origins in the Russian Revolution to its collapse in the era of glasnost. Anne Applebaum first lays out the chronological history of the camps and the logic behind their creation, enlargement, and maintenance. Applebaum also examines how life was lived within this shadow country: how prisoners worked, how they ate, where they lived,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Anchor Books 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 365.45 APP

Slezkine, Yuri

Summary: "On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction. The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Princeton University Press 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.084 SLE

Summary: A feature documentary about the Soviet Union and the most successful dynasty in sports history: the Red Army hockey team. Told from the perspective of its captain Slava Fetisov, the story portrays his transformation from national hero to political enemy. The film examines how sport mirrors social and cultural movements and parallels the rise and fall of the Red Army team with the Soviet Union.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in TC Film Fest DVDs, Call number: DVD TCFF RED

Kravchenko, Victor

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Transaction 1989

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.084 KRA