Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Conquest, Robert.

Summary: The definitive work on Stalin's purges, the author's The Great Terror was universally acclaimed when it first appeared in 1968. It was "hailed as the only scrupulous, nonpartisan, and adequate book on the subject". And in recent years it has received equally high praise in the Soviet Union, where it is now considered the authority on the period, and has been serialized in Neva, one of their...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Oxford University Press 1990

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.0842 CON

Khlevniuk, O. V. (Oleg Vitalʹevich)

Summary: Josef Stalin exercised supreme power in the Soviet Union from 1929 until his death in 1953. During that quarter-century, by Oleg Khlevniuk’s estimate, he caused the imprisonment and execution of no fewer than a million Soviet citizens per year. Millions more were victims of famine directly resulting from Stalin's policies. What drove him toward such ruthlessness? This essential biography, by...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Yale University Press 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 STALIN, JOSEPH KHL

Slezkine, Yuri

Summary: "On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction. The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Princeton University Press 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.084 SLE

Kort, Michael.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Checkmark Books 2008

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: 947 Kor

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper Perennial Modern Classics 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC SOL

Kotkin, Stephen

Summary: Pulitzer Prize-finalist Stephen Kotkin continues his definitive biography of Stalin, from collectivization and the Great Terror through to the coming of the conflict with Hitler's Germany that is the signal event of modern world history. As the shadows of the 30's deepen, Stalin's drive to militarize Soviet society takes on increasing urgency, and the ambition of Nazi Germany becomes the...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD 921 STALIN, JOSEPH KOT

Kotkin, Stephen

Summary: Pulitzer Prize-finalist Stephen Kotkin continues his definitive biography of Stalin, from collectivization and the Great Terror through to the coming of the conflict with Hitler's Germany that is the signal event of modern world history. As the shadows of the 30's deepen, Stalin's drive to militarize Soviet society takes on increasing urgency, and the ambition of Nazi Germany becomes the...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD 921 STALIN, JOSEPH KOT

Ryan, William

Summary: As Stalin's great terror begins, a killer strikes. Moscow 1936. A young woman's mutilated body is found on an alter in a deconsecrated church. Korolev is asked to investigate. The victim is discovered to be an American citizen, and now one false move will mean exile to the Zone, the frozen camps of the far north.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Minotaur Books 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC RYA

Gellately, Robert

Summary: This book is a chilling, riveting account based on newly released Russian documentation that reveals Joseph Stalin's true motives -- and the extent of his enduring commitment to expanding the Soviet empire -- during the years in which he seemingly collaborated with Franklin D. Roosevelt, Winston Churchill, and the capitalist West. At the Big Three conferences of World War II, Stalin...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.084 GEL

Khrushchev, Nikita Sergeevich

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown 1970

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.08 KHR

Ryan, William

Summary: Moscow, 1936, and Stalin's Great Terror is beginning. In a deconsecrated church, a young woman is found dead, her mutilated body displayed on the altar for all to see. Captain Alexei Korolev, finally beginning to enjoy the benefits of his success with the Criminal Investigation Division of the Moscow Militia, is asked to investigate. But when he discovers that the victim is an American citizen,...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Macmillan Audio 2010

View online at Hoopla

Kotkin, Stephen

Summary: In his biography of Stalin, Kotkin rejects the inherited wisdom about Stalin's psychological makeup, showing us instead how Stalin's near paranoia was fundamentally political and closely tracks the Bolshevik revolution's structural paranoia, the predicament of a Communist regime in an overwhelmingly capitalist world, surrounded and penetrated by enemies. At the same time, Kotkin posits the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Press 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 STALIN, JOSEPH KOT