Register for Summer Reading Club
Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Duffy, Damian

Summary: "Home is a new house with a loving husband in 1970s California that is suddenly transformed into the frightening world of the antebellum South. Dana, a young black writer, can't explain how she is transported across time and space to a plantation in Maryland. But she does quickly understand why: to deal with the troubles of Rufus, a conflicted white slaveholder - and her progenitor. Her...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Abrams Comicarts 2018

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Fordham, Fred

Summary: The explosion of racial hate in an Alabama town is viewed by a little girl whose father defends a black man accused of rape.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 741.5 FOR
1 available in Young Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: YA 741.5 FOR

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: YA 741.5 FOR

Lewis, John

1 hold on 2 copies

Summary: A first-hand account of the author's lifelong struggle for civil and human rights spans his youth in rural Alabama, his life-changing meeting with Martin Luther King, Jr., and the birth of the Nashville Student Movement.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Diamond Comic Distributors 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: YA 741.5 LEW

Lewis, John

1 hold on 2 copies

Summary: "After the success of the Nashville sit-in campaign, John Lewis is more committed than ever to changing the world through nonviolence -- but as he and his fellow Freedom Riders board a bus into the vicious heart of the deep south, they will be tested like never before."--page 3 of cover.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Top Shelf Productions 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 741.5 LEW

Johnson, Mat.

Summary: "The early 20th Century: an era when lynchings were commonplace throughout the American South. To most of the press, this epidemic of racial murder wan't even news. But a few courageous reporters from the North risked their lives to expose these atrocities. They were light-skinned African-American men who could 'pass' for white. They called this dangerous assignment 'going incognegro.' Zane...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Vertigo, DC Comics 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 741.5 Johnson

Feder, Tyler

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: "Tyler Feder shares her story of her mother's first oncology appointment to facing reality as a motherless daughter in this frank and refreshingly funny graphic memoir"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dial Books 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Bagieu, Pénélope

Summary: With her characteristic wit and dazzling drawings, celebrated graphic novelist Penelope Bagieu profiles the lives of these feisty female role models, some world famous, some little known. From Nellie Bly to Mae Jemison or Josephine Baker to Naziq al-Abid, the stories in this comic biography are sure to inspire the next generation of rebel ladies.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: First Second, an imprint of Roaring Book Press 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Non-fiction, Call number: YA 920 BAG

Iwahara, Yuji

Summary: True to his warning, Loser -- the infamous phantom thief -- makes an explosive entrance at the art museum to steal the Angels of Black and White Wings statue! "Collector" Kyouma Mabuchi, now teamed up with the android Mira to recover illegal Coils, faces off with the masked thief in the midst of the museum's heavy security. But it just so happens that Loser recognizes Kyouma -- and what's more,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Yen Press 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 741.5 DIM

Walden, Tillie

Summary: Ignatz Award winner Tillie Walden's powerful graphic memoir captures what it's like to come of age, come out, and come to terms with leaving behind everything you used to know. It was the same every morning. Wake up, grab the ice skates, and head to the rink while the world was still dark. Weekends were spent in glitter and tights at competitions. Perform. Smile. And do it again. She was good....

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: First Second 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: YA 741.5 WAL

Ha, Robin

2 holds on 1 copy

Summary: "A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Balzer + Bray/Harper Alley, imprints of HarperCollins Publishers 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.
Back to Top