Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location
Audience

Hemingway, Ernest

2 holds on 2 copies

Summary: The definitive collection by the man whose craft and vision remains an enduring influence on generations of readers and writers. Contains twenty-one stories not included in the 1938 omnibus "The first forty-nine."

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Charles Scribner's Sons 1987

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Orner, Peter

Summary: In his orchestral and moving new book, Peter Orner ... chronicles people whose lives are at inflection points. In forty-four compressed gems, he grips us with a series of defining moments. Whether it's a first date that turns into a late-night road trip to a séance in an abandoned airplane hangar, or a family's memories of the painful mystery surrounding a forgotten uncle's demise, Orner...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Company 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC ORN

Summary: Collection of easy-to-read stories based on Playhouse Disney characters.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Disney Press 2009

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Gautreaux, Tim

Summary: "A widely celebrated novelist gives us a generous collection of exhilarating short stories, proving that he is a master of this genre as well. Once again, "he reminds us," wrote The Miami Herald, "that great writing is a timeless art." After the stunning historical novels The Clearing and The Missing, Tim Gautreaux now ranges freely through contemporary life with twelve new stories and eight...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC GAU

Kawakami, Hiromi

Summary: "A bossy child who lives under a white cloth near a tree; a schoolgirl who keeps doll's brains in a desk drawer; an old man with two shadows, one docile and one rebellious; a diplomat no one has ever seen who goes fishing at an artificial lake no one has ever heard of. These are some of the inhabitants of People From My Neighborhood. In their lives, details of the local and everyday-the lunch...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Soft Skull Press 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC KAW

Newman, Leigh

2 holds on 1 copy

Summary: Newman's stories turn a spotlight on women struggling in Alaska, facing not just grizzly bears and charging moose, but the psychological complexities of love and family. From Anchorage to the remote, unsettled wilderness, her stories reinvent what we think about the American frontier-- and what we believe about hope and human connection. -- adapted from jacket

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2022

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Enriquez, Mariana

Summary: El mundo de Mariana Enriquez no tiene por qué ser el nuestro, y, sin embargo, lo termina siendo. Bastan pocas frases para pisarlo, respirarlo y no olvidarlo gracias a una viveza emocional insólita. Con la cotidianidad hecha pesadilla, el lector se despierta abatido, perturbado por historias e imágenes que jamás conseguirá sacarse de la cabeza. Las autodenominadas "mujeres ardientes," que...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Vintage Español, una división de Penguin Random House LLC 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 468.4 FIC ENR

Kochai, Jamil Jan

Summary: "A luminous meditation on sons and fathers, ghosts of war, and living history that moves between modern-day Afghanistan and the Afghan diaspora. In playing "Metal Gear Solid V," a young man's video game experience turns into a surreal exploration on his own father's memories of war and occupation. A college student in "Hungry Ricky Daddy" starves himself in protest of Israeli violence against...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2022

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: "Join Winnie the Pooh and his friends at a birthday party, help Rabbit find his good mood, play with little Roo, and more! Each story in this collection is ideal for reading aloud in just five minutes--a perfect fit for bedtime, story time, or any time!"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Disney Press 2017

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Lionni, Leo

Summary: Four titles previously published independently, three of which were Caldecott honor books.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2002

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE LIO

Walden, Tillie

Summary: "In her first collection of short comics stories, Tillie Walden opens windows into strange new worlds with works such as 'The End of Summer,' 'I Love This Part,' 'A City Inside,' and never-before collected sketches, webcomics, and short comics for magazines"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Avery Hill Publishing 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Pandi

Summary: "The Accusation is a deeply moving and eye-opening work of fiction that paints a powerful portrait of life under the North Korean regime. Set during the period of Kim Il-sung and Kim Jong-il's leadership, the seven stories that make up The Accusation give voice to people living under this most bizarre and horrifying of dictatorships. The characters of these compelling stories come from a wide...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Grove Press 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC BAN

Cortázar, Julio

Summary: "In time for his centenary: two groundbreaking works from a major figure of world literature, one of the founders of the Latin American Boom. EVERYMAN'S LIBRARY CONTEMPORARY CLASSICS. With these two books--the "counter-novel" Hopscotch and the short-story collection Blow-Up--Cortazar earned a place among the most innovative authors of the twentieth century. Hopscotch follows the adventures of...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Everyman's Library, Alfred A. Knopf 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC COR

Rubio, Marytza K.

Summary: "For fans of Kali Fajardo-Anstine and Lesley Nneka Arimah, a darkly funny and imaginative debut conjuring tales of Mexican American mystics and misfits. "The first witch of the waters was born in Destruction. The moon named her Maria." From former PEN America Emerging Voices Fellow Marytza K. Rubio comes Maria, Maria, an inimitable collection set across the tropics and megacities of the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Liveright Publishing Corporation, a division of W.W. Norton & Company 2022

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: No matter how or where they appear, strangers are walking mysteries, complete unknowns in once-familiar territories who disrupt our lives with unease and wonder. In this newest collection of short stories, each author weaves a fresh tale surrounding the eerie feeling that comes when a stranger enters our midst.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Harlequin Audio 2021

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CDA FIC WHE

Summary: Nineteen stories based on characters from various Disney movies.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Disney Press 2007

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Van den Berg, Laura

Summary: "A dislocating collection of short stories from the author of "The Third Hotel""--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC VAN

Johnston Phelps, Ethel

Summary: "Long before Suzanne Collins created Katniss Everdeen and Octavia Butler wrote Parable of the Sower, there were many traditional folktales full of adventure, intrigue, and intrepid female characters. Feminist Folktales from Around the World collects these forgotten classics. Enjoy this collection of all four volumes."--

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Audiobooks, Call number: J PA FIC JOH

Christie, Agatha

Summary: "Ablinding snowstorm - and a homicidal maniac - traps a small party of friends in an isolated estate. Out of this deceptively simple setup, Agatha Christie fashioned one of her most ingenious puzzlers, which in turn would provide the basis for The Mousetrap, the longest-running play in history ..."--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC CHR

Summary: "Six critically acclaimed, bestselling, and award-winning authors bring the glowing warmth and electricity of Black teen love to this interlinked novel of charming, hilarious, and heartwarming stories that shine a bright light through the dark"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company 2021

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: YA FIC BLA

Ahern, Cecelia

Summary: "Cecelia Ahern gives us thirty stories, all titled 'The Woman Who...', that capture the different facets of women's lives. Humorous, moving and poignant, the stories capture the moments the characters are overwhelmed by guilt, confusion, frustration, intimidation, exhaustion the private moments when they feel the need to roar"--Provided by publisher.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Grand Central Publishing 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC AHE

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION AHE

Alzayat, Dima

Summary: "The award-winning stories in Dima Alzayat's collection are luminous and tender, whether dealing with a woman performing burial rites for her brother in "Ghusl," or a great-aunt struggling to explain cultural identity to her niece in "Once We Were Syrians."Alzayat's stories are rich and relatable, chronicling a sense of displacement through everyday scenarios. There is the intern in pre-#MeToo...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Two Dollar Radio 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC ALZ

Bieker, Chelsea

Summary: A woman steals a baby from a shelter in an attempt to salvage her own lost motherhood. A phone-sex operator sees divine opportunity when a lavender-eyed cowboy walks into her life. A mother and a son selling dream catchers along a highway that leads to a toxic beach manifest two young documentary filmmakers into their realm. And two teenage girls play a dangerous online game with destiny....

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Catapult 2022

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Christie, Agatha

Summary: In this collection of mysteries, Agatha Christie presents 12 unexplained phenomena with no apparent earthly explanation, including a dog-shaped gunpowder mark, an omen from the 'other side', an eerie wireless messages and a levitation experience.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperCollins Publishers 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC CHR

Back to Top