Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location
Audience

Poe, Edgar Allan

Summary: Brings together Poe's stories and poems in one volume.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Doubleday 1966

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 818 POE
1 available in Young Adult Non-fiction, Call number: YA 818 POE

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: 818 POE

Murakami, Haruki

Summary: Contains seventeen short fiction stories by Haruki Murakami about people whose lives veer off the path of normalcy.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Vintage Books 1994

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Hemingway, Ernest

1 hold on 2 copies

Summary: The definitive collection by the man whose craft and vision remains an enduring influence on generations of readers and writers. Contains twenty-one stories not included in the 1938 omnibus "The first forty-nine."

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Charles Scribner's Sons 1987

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Hemmingway 1987

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC HEM

4 holds on 2 copies

Summary: "A bold, clever, and sublimely sinister collection of horror, fantasy, science fiction, and gritty crime by both new and established Indigenous authors that dares to ask the question: "Are you ready to be un-settled?" Many Indigenous people believe that one should never whistle at night. This belief ranges far and wide and takes many forms; for instance, Native Hawaiians believe it summons the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Vintage Books, a division of Penguin Random House LLC 2023

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Akiwenzie-Damm, Kateri

Summary: Fourteen stories that illuminate the strange workings of the human heart

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HighWater Press 2015

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in New Non-fiction, Call number: 813.54 AKI

Orner, Peter

Summary: In his orchestral and moving new book, Peter Orner ... chronicles people whose lives are at inflection points. In forty-four compressed gems, he grips us with a series of defining moments. Whether it's a first date that turns into a late-night road trip to a séance in an abandoned airplane hangar, or a family's memories of the painful mystery surrounding a forgotten uncle's demise, Orner...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Company 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC ORN

Keenan, Sheila

Summary: Three fictional stories, told in graphic novel format, about soldiers in World War I, World War II, and the Vietnam War who were aided by combat dogs.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Graphix, an imprint of Scholastic 2013

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: Collection of easy-to-read stories based on Playhouse Disney characters.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Disney Press 2009

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Rodari, Gianni

Summary: A collection of nearly seventy short and surreal stories told by Signor Bianchi, a traveling salesman, to his daughter over the telephone nightly.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Enchanted Lion Books 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FIC ROD

Coelho, Joseph

Summary: UK Children's Laureate Joseph Coelho presents twenty tiny tales -- each one illustrated by a different artist, and each just ten words long -- in a book that's as much a work of art as an invitation to budding writers. Is it possible to spin a tale using just ten words? In this magnificent compendium, author and poet Joseph Coelho proves that it is -- with mini-stories of underwater worlds,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Candlewick Press 2023

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE COE

Zeineddine, Ghassan

Summary: "Spanning several decades, Ghassan Zeineddine's debut collection examines the diverse range and complexities of the Arab American community in Dearborn, Michigan. In ten tragicomic stories, Zeineddine explores themes of identity, generational conflicts, war trauma, migration, sexuality, queerness, home and belonging, and more. In Dearborn, a father teaches his son how to cheat the IRS and hide...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Tin House 2023

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New Fiction, Call number: FIC ZEI

Gautreaux, Tim

Summary: "A widely celebrated novelist gives us a generous collection of exhilarating short stories, proving that he is a master of this genre as well. Once again, "he reminds us," wrote The Miami Herald, "that great writing is a timeless art." After the stunning historical novels The Clearing and The Missing, Tim Gautreaux now ranges freely through contemporary life with twelve new stories and eight...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC GAU

Kawakami, Hiromi

Summary: "A bossy child who lives under a white cloth near a tree; a schoolgirl who keeps doll's brains in a desk drawer; an old man with two shadows, one docile and one rebellious; a diplomat no one has ever seen who goes fishing at an artificial lake no one has ever heard of. These are some of the inhabitants of People From My Neighborhood. In their lives, details of the local and everyday-the lunch...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Soft Skull Press 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC KAW

Newman, Leigh

Summary: Newman's stories turn a spotlight on women struggling in Alaska, facing not just grizzly bears and charging moose, but the psychological complexities of love and family. From Anchorage to the remote, unsettled wilderness, her stories reinvent what we think about the American frontier-- and what we believe about hope and human connection. -- adapted from jacket

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC NEW

Enriquez, Mariana

Summary: El mundo de Mariana Enriquez no tiene por qué ser el nuestro, y, sin embargo, lo termina siendo. Bastan pocas frases para pisarlo, respirarlo y no olvidarlo gracias a una viveza emocional insólita. Con la cotidianidad hecha pesadilla, el lector se despierta abatido, perturbado por historias e imágenes que jamás conseguirá sacarse de la cabeza. Las autodenominadas "mujeres ardientes," que...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Vintage Español, una división de Penguin Random House LLC 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 468.4 FIC ENR

Kochai, Jamil Jan

Summary: "A luminous meditation on sons and fathers, ghosts of war, and living history that moves between modern-day Afghanistan and the Afghan diaspora. In playing "Metal Gear Solid V," a young man's video game experience turns into a surreal exploration on his own father's memories of war and occupation. A college student in "Hungry Ricky Daddy" starves himself in protest of Israeli violence against...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC KOC

Summary: Few parts of America are as historied as the South, so it's no surprise that many southern horror stories feature the long-lived vampire. Vampire Stories from the American South is a feast of fear for lovers of vampire fiction, offering a dozen tales in which insatiable vampires prowl plantations and scour the bayous in search of mortal blood.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Metro Books 2007

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 808.8 VAM

Summary: "Join Winnie the Pooh and his friends at a birthday party, help Rabbit find his good mood, play with little Roo, and more! Each story in this collection is ideal for reading aloud in just five minutes--a perfect fit for bedtime, story time, or any time!"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Disney Press 2017

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE DIS

Lionni, Leo

Summary: Four titles previously published independently, three of which were Caldecott honor books.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2002

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE LIO

Scieszka, Jon

Summary: Madcap revisions of familiar fairy tales.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 1992

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE SCI

Cortázar, Julio

Summary: "In time for his centenary: two groundbreaking works from a major figure of world literature, one of the founders of the Latin American Boom. EVERYMAN'S LIBRARY CONTEMPORARY CLASSICS. With these two books--the "counter-novel" Hopscotch and the short-story collection Blow-Up--Cortazar earned a place among the most innovative authors of the twentieth century. Hopscotch follows the adventures of...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Everyman's Library, Alfred A. Knopf 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC COR

Rubio, Marytza K.

Summary: "For fans of Kali Fajardo-Anstine and Lesley Nneka Arimah, a darkly funny and imaginative debut conjuring tales of Mexican American mystics and misfits. "The first witch of the waters was born in Destruction. The moon named her Maria." From former PEN America Emerging Voices Fellow Marytza K. Rubio comes Maria, Maria, an inimitable collection set across the tropics and megacities of the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Liveright Publishing Corporation, a division of W.W. Norton & Company 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC RUB

Rylant, Cynthia

Summary: Hornbeam the moose goes on a picnic with his best friend Eureka, sleeps over his friend Cuddy's house, and learns how to swim with Adorabelle.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Beach Lane Books 2023

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: JE RYL

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE RYL

Summary: For Angela, it came on the basketball court--while playing on the boys' team. For Penny, it came on a school field trip to the lake (making for some cringeworthy moments of humor). And to Layla's disappointment, it came at the start of her first fasting Ramadan, meaning that she won't be able to fast after all. Whether it spurs silence or celebration, whether the subjects are well prepared or...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Candlewick Press 2023

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FIC CAL

Back to Top