Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Summary: This searing investigative work shadows a group of activists risking unimaginable peril to confront ongoing anti-LGBTQ pogrom raging in the repressive and closed Russian republic. Unfettered access and a remarkable approach to protecting anonymity exposes this under-reported atrocity, and an extraordinary group of people confronting evil.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Basic Books 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.5 SEI

Zimmerman, William

Summary: "When the Soviet Union collapsed, many hoped that Russia's centuries-long history of autocratic rule might finally end. Yet today's Russia appears to be retreating from democracy, not progressing toward it. Ruling Russia is the only book of its kind to trace the history of modern Russian politics from the Bolshevik Revolution to the presidency of Vladimir Putin. It examines the complex...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Princeton Univ Pr 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 320.947 ZIM

Kalb, Marvin L.

Summary: Marvin Kalb, a former journalist and Harvard professor, traces how the Crimea of Catherine the Great became a global tinder box. The world was stunned when Vladimir Putin invaded and seized Crimea in March 2014. In the weeks that followed, pro-Russian rebels staged uprisings in southeastern Ukraine. The United States and its Western allies immediately imposed strict sanctions on Russia and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Brookings Institution Press 2015

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Slezkine, Yuri

Summary: "On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction. The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Princeton University Press 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.084 SLE

Harding, Luke

Summary: On November 1, 2006, journalist and Russian dissident Alexander Litvinenko was poisoned in London. He died twenty-two days later. The cause of death was Polonium--a rare, lethal, and highly radioactive substance. This is the inside story of the life and death of Litvinenko. And it is the story of the aftermath: a decade of geopolitical disruptions still felt today. In A Very Expensive Poison,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Vintage Books, a division of Penguin Random House LLC 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 327 HAR

Rasmussen, Crystal

Summary: "A cocktail-spitting, norm-pinching dive into twenty-first-century queer life, exploring bodies, identity, shame, and the glory of loving yourself"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: FSG Originals, Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 RASMUSSEN, CRYSTAL RAS

Aleksievich, Svetlana

Summary: "Bringing together dozens of voices in her distinctive style of oral history, Secondhand Time is a monument to the collapse of the USSR, charting the decline of Soviet culture and speculating on what will rise from the ashes of Communism. As in all her books, Alexievich gives voice to women and men whose stories are lost in the official narratives of nation-states, creating a powerful...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.086 ALE

Summary: Enlightening documentary about the Russian avant-garde and the role art played in the Russian Revolution. Explores the works and careers of important Russian artists, including Chagall, Kandinsky, Rodchenko, Malevich, and many others. Includes historical reenactments.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC REV

Slaght, Jonathan C.

3 holds on 1 copy

Summary: "A young field scientist and conservationist tracks the elusive Blakiston's Fish Owl in the forbidding reaches of eastern Russia"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Igort

Summary: Graphic novelist Igort illuminates two harrowing moments in recent history--the Ukraine famine and the assassination of a Russian journalist.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 741.5 IGO

Jamali, Naveed

Summary: "In 2008, almost two decades after the Cold War was officially consigned to the history books, an average American guy in his twenties helped to bring down a top Russian spy based at the United Nations. This American had no formal espionage training. Everything he knew about spying he'd learned from books, movies, video games, and TV. And yet, with the help of an initially reluctant FBI duo, he...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2015

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: 921 JAM

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 JAMALI, NAVEED JAM

Babchenko, Arkadii.

Contents: Mountain Brigade -- The river Argun -- Chechens -- Chechens II -- Yakovlev -- The cow -- To Mozdok -- The ninth neighborhood -- Sharik -- The apartment -- The runway -- Mozdok-7 -- The summer of 1996 -- Special cargo -- New Year's Eve -- Alkhan-Yurt -- The storming operation -- Argun -- A soldier's dream -- Field deception -- The obelisk -- Lais -- Hello sister -- Traitors -- Chechen Penal...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Grove Press 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.5 BABCHENKO, ARKADY BAB

Summary: Chronicles the uprising that toppled the government of Ukrainian president Victor Yanukovich and has since developed into an international crisis between Russia and the West.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Cinema Guild 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC MAI

Durbin, William

Summary: In the 1930s, a young Finnish-American boy reluctantly moves with his family to Karelia, a communist-Finnish state founded in Russia, where his idealistic father soon realizes that his conception of a communist utopia is flawed.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Orchard Books 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FIC DUR

G, Mady (Mady M. Giuliani)

Summary: A guide to queer and transgender life, in graphic format, covers essential topics ranging from sexuality and gender identity to coming out and navigating gender-diverse relationships.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Limerence Press, Inc. 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Non-fiction, Call number: YA 306.7 G

Beer, Daniel

Summary: "The House of the Dead is a history of Siberia with a focus on the last four tsars (1801-1917). Daniel Beer explores the massive penal colony that became an incubator for the radicalism of revolutionaries who would one day rule Russia"--Provided by publisher.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 364 BEE

Judah, Tim

Summary: "From one of the finest journalists of our time comes a definitive, boots-on-the-ground dispatch from the front lines of the conflict in Ukraine. Ever since Ukraine's violent 2014 revolution, followed by Russia's annexation of Crimea, the country has been at war. Misinformation reigns, more than two million people have been displaced, and Ukrainians fight one another on a second front--the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Tim Duggan Books 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.086 JUD

Booth, John

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Wellfleet Press 1990

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Oversize, Call number: OVS 739.2 BOO

Baiev, Khassan.

Summary: Dr. Khassan Baiev describes his experiences after leaving a promising surgical career in Moscow in 1994 to provide medical services to the people of Chechnya which was under attack by Russian troops, discussing how he managed with poor facilities and few supplies, as well as the constant threat of execution by the Russians.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Walker & Co. 2003

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 BAIEV, KHASSAN BAI

Sakwa, Richard

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.086 SAK

Summary: "Sexuality researcher Jane Fleishman shares the stories of nine fearless elders in the LGBTQ community who came of age around the time of Stonewall. In candid interviews, they lay bare their struggles, their strengths, their activism, and their sexual liberation in the context of the political movements of the 1960s and 1970s and today"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Skinner House Books 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 306.76 STO

Warren, Susan May

Summary: Kidnapped by rebels while serving as an interpreter in Ukraine, Signe Kincaid has spent the past decade secreting out valuable information about Russian assets in the US to her CIA handler. Fearing for her daughter after being discovered as an operative, Signe sends her to former Navy SEAL Hamilton Jones for safekeeping. When Ham discovers the reason Signe has kept her distance, he must choose...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Djavadi, Négar

Summary: "Kimiâ Sadr fled Iran at the age of ten in the company of her mother and sisters to join her father in France. Now twenty-five and facing the future she has built for herself as well as the prospect of a new generation, Kimiâ is inundated by her own memories and the stories of her ancestors, which come to her in unstoppable, uncontainable waves. In the waiting room of a Parisian fertility...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Europa Editions 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC DJA

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC DJA

Back to Top