Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Beer, Daniel

Summary: "The House of the Dead is a history of Siberia with a focus on the last four tsars (1801-1917). Daniel Beer explores the massive penal colony that became an incubator for the radicalism of revolutionaries who would one day rule Russia"--Provided by publisher.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 364 BEE

Kalb, Marvin L.

Summary: Marvin Kalb, a former journalist and Harvard professor, traces how the Crimea of Catherine the Great became a global tinder box. The world was stunned when Vladimir Putin invaded and seized Crimea in March 2014. In the weeks that followed, pro-Russian rebels staged uprisings in southeastern Ukraine. The United States and its Western allies immediately imposed strict sanctions on Russia and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Brookings Institution Press 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947 KAL

Pomerantsev, Peter.

Summary: A British television producer reveals the corruption involved in every social and political aspect of Russian life, from propaganda gurus running the Russian media to Siberian mafia-towns and the international cabal of the super-rich.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: PublicAffairs 2014

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Rounding, Virginia.

Summary: A study of the marriage of the last Russian tsar and tsarina offers psychological insights into their relationship and covers the Empress's ill health, their relationship with confidante Ania Vyrubova, and their reliance on the infamous Rasputin.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 ROMANOV FAMILY ROU

Garrels, Anne

Summary: "Portrait of the mid-size city of Chelyabinsk and how it is faring in the new Russia"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2016

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: 947 GAR

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947 GAR

Greene, David

Summary: "Travels with NPR host David Greene along the Trans-Siberian Railroad capture an overlooked, idiosyncratic Russia in the age of Putin. After two and a half years as NPR's Moscow bureau chief, David Greene travels across the country--a 6,000-mile journey by rail, from Moscow to the Pacific port of Vladivostok--to speak with ordinary Russians about how their lives have changed in the post-Soviet...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: W.W. Norton & Company 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 914.7 GRE

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: 914.7 Greene 2014

Turk, Jonathan.

Summary: A scientist relates the story of how Moonynaut, an elderly shaman in a remote Siberian village, healed his fractured pelvis after invoking the Spirit Raven, a healing that prompted the author to traverse the frozen tundra where the shaman was born and record the spiritual stories of bands of reindeer herders.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Griffin 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 915 Turk

Slezkine, Yuri

Summary: "On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction. The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Princeton University Press 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.084 SLE

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Basic Books 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.5 SEI

Kasparov, G. K. (Garri Kimovich)

Summary: The ascension of Vladimir Putin -- a former lieutenant colonel of the KGB -- to the presidency of Russia in 1999 was a strong signal that the country was headed away from democracy. Yet in the intervening years -- as America and the world's other leading powers have continued to appease him -- Putin has grown not only into a dictator but an international threat. With his vast resources and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Public Affairs 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.086 KAS

Blake, Heidi

Summary: "The untold story of how Russia refined the art and science of targeted assassination abroad-while Western spies watched in horror as their governments failed to guard against the threat. They thought they had found a safe haven in the green hills of England. They were wrong. One by one, the Russian oligarchs, dissidents, and gangsters who fled to Britain after Vladimir Putin came to power...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Mulholland Books/ Little, Brown and Company 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Stent, Angela

Summary: "An analysis of Putin's Russia and how Russians perceive their place in the modern world"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Twelve 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New Non-fiction, Call number: 327.47 STE

Laqueur, Walter

Summary: "There is no question that tensions between Russia and America are on the rise. The forced annexation of Crimea, the downing of Malaysia Airlines flight 17, and the Russian government's treatment of homosexuals have created diplomatic standoffs and led to a volley of economic sanctions. Much of the blame for Russia's recent hostility towards the West has fallen on steely-eyed President Vladimir...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press 2015

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Lucas, Edward

Summary: A senior Economist writer argues that the Kremlin's spymasters have excelled in their field beyond the capabilities of their Western-world adversaries, tracing the story behind the 2010 deportation of Anna Chapman while analyzing triumphs and disasters in Western intelligence throughout the Cold War as revealed by a leading Russian NATO spy.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Walker & Co. 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 327 LUC

Summary: "This captivating documentary film tells the story of the Russian all-girl punk rock band Pussy Riot, who stood up to the Russian government's human rights oppression and paid the price by being incarcerated in 2011. But rather than silencing their voices, the incident only amplified them, turning the band into a global symbol of feminist political activism, culminating in their widely seen...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC ACT

Summary: Founded in 2011 after Vladimir Putin was given a third term as Russian president, Pussy Riot is an anonymous feminist art collective/punk band based in Moscow. The group's protest inside the cathedral was intended to protest Putin's union of church and state. On Feb. 21, 2012 they participated in a 40-second "punk prayer protest" on the altar of Moscow's Christ the Savior Cathedral before being...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC PUS

Haddix, Margaret Peterson.

Summary: Jonah, thirteen, and Katherine, eleven, travel through time to 1918 Russia just as Alexei, Anastasia, and the rest of Tsar Nicholas II's family is about to be executed. Author's note includes facts about the Romanov's and the mystery surrounding their deaths.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FIC HAD

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J FICTION HAD

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J Fiction Haddix 2013

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: JFIC HAD

Summary: The story of a Paul Pena, a blind American blues musician, and his trek to Tuva to live among its inhabitants and compete in their triennial khoomei (throat singing) contest. He is accompanied by a documentary film team and Tuvinian throat singer Kongar-ol Ondar.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Docurama 2000

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC GEN

Gessen, Masha

Summary: Hailed for her "fearless indictment of the most powerful man in Russia" by the Wall Street Journal, award-winning journalist Masha Gessen is unparalleled in her understanding of the events and forces that have wracked her native country in recent times. In The Future Is History, she follows the lives of four people born at what promised to be the dawn of democracy. Each came of age with...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Riverhead Books 2017

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Lawhon, Ariel

3 holds on 4 copies

Summary: In this "historical suspense, Ariel Lawhon unravels the extraordinary twists and turns in Anna Anderson's 50-year battle to be recognized as Anastasia Romanov. Is she the Russian Grand Duchess, a beloved daughter and revered icon, or is she an imposter, the thief of another woman's legacy?"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC LAW

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Lawhon 2018

Summary: A father and son live together in a rooftop apartment. They have lived alone for years in their own private world. Sometimes they seem like brothers, at other times they appear to be like lovers. Following in his father's footsteps, the son, Alexei attends military school. He likes sports and has problems with his girlfriend. She is jealous of Alexei's relationship with his father. Alexei's...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Wellspring Media 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Foreign DVDs, Call number: DVD FOREIGN FAT

Knight, Amy W.

Summary: "'Western leaders should be aware that when they shake hands with Putin, they shake hands with a murderer.'--Leonid Martyniuk. In Russia, the twenty-first century belongs to Vladimir Putin. His political dominance has lasted two presidential terms, an appointment to prime minister, and a controversial election to a third presidential term. And like the violent tsars and Soviet revolutionaries...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press 2017

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Sylvan, Lu

Summary: "Learn about Putin's early life, how he became one of Russia's strongest presidents, and what has made him so controversial in current politics."--Publisher's website.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Core Library, an imprint of Abdo Publishing 2015

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: JB PUTIN SYL

Anderson, M. T

Summary: An account of the Siege of Leningrad reveals the role played by Russian composer Dmitri Shostakovich and his Leningrad Symphony in rallying and commemorating their fellow citizens.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Candlewick Press 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: YA 921 SHO