Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location
Audience

Beer, Daniel

Summary: "The House of the Dead is a history of Siberia with a focus on the last four tsars (1801-1917). Daniel Beer explores the massive penal colony that became an incubator for the radicalism of revolutionaries who would one day rule Russia"--Provided by publisher.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2017

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Kalb, Marvin L.

Summary: Marvin Kalb, a former journalist and Harvard professor, traces how the Crimea of Catherine the Great became a global tinder box. The world was stunned when Vladimir Putin invaded and seized Crimea in March 2014. In the weeks that followed, pro-Russian rebels staged uprisings in southeastern Ukraine. The United States and its Western allies immediately imposed strict sanctions on Russia and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Brookings Institution Press 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947 KAL

Pomerantsev, Peter.

Summary: A British television producer reveals the corruption involved in every social and political aspect of Russian life, from propaganda gurus running the Russian media to Siberian mafia-towns and the international cabal of the super-rich.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: PublicAffairs 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 306 POM

Rounding, Virginia.

Summary: A study of the marriage of the last Russian tsar and tsarina offers psychological insights into their relationship and covers the Empress's ill health, their relationship with confidante Ania Vyrubova, and their reliance on the infamous Rasputin.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 ROMANOV FAMILY ROU

Garrels, Anne

Summary: "Portrait of the mid-size city of Chelyabinsk and how it is faring in the new Russia"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2016

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: 947 GAR

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947 GAR

Greene, David

Summary: "Travels with NPR host David Greene along the Trans-Siberian Railroad capture an overlooked, idiosyncratic Russia in the age of Putin. After two and a half years as NPR's Moscow bureau chief, David Greene travels across the country--a 6,000-mile journey by rail, from Moscow to the Pacific port of Vladivostok--to speak with ordinary Russians about how their lives have changed in the post-Soviet...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: W.W. Norton & Company 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 914.7 GRE

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: Trav Wor Greene

Turk, Jonathan.

Summary: A scientist relates the story of how Moonynaut, an elderly shaman in a remote Siberian village, healed his fractured pelvis after invoking the Spirit Raven, a healing that prompted the author to traverse the frozen tundra where the shaman was born and record the spiritual stories of bands of reindeer herders.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Griffin 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 915 Turk

Slezkine, Yuri

Summary: "On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction. The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Princeton University Press 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.084 SLE

Saab, Gabriella

Summary: Russia 1917: Beautiful, educated Svetlana Petrova defied her stifling aristocratic family to join a revolution promising freedom. Now, released after years of imprisonment, she discovers her socialist party vying for power against the dictatorial Bolsheviks and her beloved uncle, a champion of her cause, was murdered by a mysterious assassin named Orlova. Her signature? Blinding her victims...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper Large Print, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers 2023

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC SAA

Sanger, David E.

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: "A fast-paced account of America's plunge into simultaneous Cold Wars against two very different adversaries--Xi Jinping's China and Vladimir Putin's Russia--based on deep reporting from inside the White House, U.S. intelligence agencies, technology firms, and foreign governments"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Crown 2024

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Wallance, Gregory

Summary: "After returning to the United States, Kennan set out to generate public outrage over the plight of the exiles, writing the renowned Siberia and the Exile System. He then went on a nine-year lecture tour to describe the suffering of the Siberian exiles, intensifying the newly emerging diplomatic conflicts between the two countries which last to this day. In a book that ranks with the greatest...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2023

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Basic Books 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.5 SEI

Kasparov, G. K. (Garri Kimovich)

Summary: The ascension of Vladimir Putin -- a former lieutenant colonel of the KGB -- to the presidency of Russia in 1999 was a strong signal that the country was headed away from democracy. Yet in the intervening years -- as America and the world's other leading powers have continued to appease him -- Putin has grown not only into a dictator but an international threat. With his vast resources and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Public Affairs 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.086 KAS

Summary: Litvinenko, a former Russian spy dies in a London hospital, but not before naming his murderer. Poisoned with the deadliest substance known to man detectives dive into a high-stakes murder investigation. Can they find justice for Litvinenko's family?

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: RLJ Entertainment 2023

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in British Television Series DVDs, Call number: DVD BRITISH TV LIT

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Digital Video Disc, Call number: DVD LIT

Summary: This searing investigative work shadows a group of activists risking unimaginable peril to confront ongoing anti-LGBTQ pogrom raging in the repressive and closed Russian republic. Unfettered access and a remarkable approach to protecting anonymity exposes this under-reported atrocity, and an extraordinary group of people confronting evil.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC WEL

Galeotti, Mark

Summary: "Putin's Wars is a timely overview of the conflicts in which Russia has been involved since Vladimir Putin became prime minister and then president of Russia, from the First Chechen War to the two military incursions into Georgia, the annexation of Crimea and the eventual invasion of Ukraine itself. But it also looks more broadly at Putin's recreation of Russian military power and its expansion...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Osprey Publishing 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.086 GAL

Laqueur, Walter

Summary: "There is no question that tensions between Russia and America are on the rise. The forced annexation of Crimea, the downing of Malaysia Airlines flight 17, and the Russian government's treatment of homosexuals have created diplomatic standoffs and led to a volley of economic sanctions. Much of the blame for Russia's recent hostility towards the West has fallen on steely-eyed President Vladimir...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 327 LAQ

Blake, Heidi

Summary: "The untold story of how Russia refined the art and science of targeted assassination abroad-while Western spies watched in horror as their governments failed to guard against the threat. They thought they had found a safe haven in the green hills of England. They were wrong. One by one, the Russian oligarchs, dissidents, and gangsters who fled to Britain after Vladimir Putin came to power...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Mulholland Books/ Little, Brown and Company 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 327.47 BLA

Stent, Angela

Summary: "An analysis of Putin's Russia and how Russians perceive their place in the modern world"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Twelve 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 327.47 STE

Lucas, Edward

Summary: A senior Economist writer argues that the Kremlin's spymasters have excelled in their field beyond the capabilities of their Western-world adversaries, tracing the story behind the 2010 deportation of Anna Chapman while analyzing triumphs and disasters in Western intelligence throughout the Cold War as revealed by a leading Russian NATO spy.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Walker & Co. 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 327 LUC

Summary: "This captivating documentary film tells the story of the Russian all-girl punk rock band Pussy Riot, who stood up to the Russian government's human rights oppression and paid the price by being incarcerated in 2011. But rather than silencing their voices, the incident only amplified them, turning the band into a global symbol of feminist political activism, culminating in their widely seen...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC ACT

Summary: Over the years Tsar Nicholas cannot satisfy the needs of the people or prevent Russia's entry into World War I, and the Empress falls under the spell of the evil monk, Rasputin.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: RCA/Columbia Pictures Home Video 1999

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Drama DVDs, Call number: DVD DRAMA NIC

Gottschall, Meghan

Summary: Russia is the largest nation in the world. Its land spans continents just as its history spans the ages. Explore this country's frigid tundra and its beautiful cities.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Cherry Lake Publishing 2021

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in JT Non-Fiction, Call number: JT Place Co Gottschall

Short, Philip

Summary: "The first comprehensive, fully up-to-date biography of Vladimir Putin, woven into the tumultuous saga of Russia over the last sixty years. Vladimir Putin is wreaking havoc in Europe, threatening global peace and stability and exposing his fellow citizens to devastating economic countermeasures. Yet puzzlingly many Russians continue to support him. This book is essential reading for anyone who...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Henry Holt and Company 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 PUTIN, VLADIMIR VLASIMIROVICH SHO

chat loading...
Back to Top