Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Westover, Tara

Summary: Cómo una educación puede salvar una vida. "Podéis llamarlo transformación. Metamorfosis. Falsedad. Traición. Yo lo llamo una educación." Nacida en las montañas de Idaho, Tara Westover ha crecido en armonía con una naturaleza grandiosa y doblegada a las leyes que establece su padre, un mormón fundamentalista convencido de que el final del mundo es inminente. Ni Tara ni sus hermanos van a la...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Lumen 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 468.4 WES

Summary: "For most of America's history, rural people and culture have been casually mocked, stereotyped, and, in general, deeply misunderstood. Now an array of short stories, poetry, graphic short stories, and personal essays, along with anecdotes from the authors' real lives, dives deep into the complexity and diversity of rural America and the people who call it home. Fifteen extraordinary...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Candlewick Press 2020

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: YA FIC RUR

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New YA Materials, Call number: YA FIC RUR

Westover, Tara

Summary: Tara Westover was seventeen the first time she set foot in a classroom. Born to survivalists in the mountains of Idaho, she prepared for the end of the world by stockpiling home-canned peaches and sleeping with her "head-for-the-hills bag." In the summer she stewed herbs for her mother, a midwife and healer, and in the winter she salvaged in her father's junkyard. Her father distrusted the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: JC Lattès 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 448.4 WES

Summary: The story of John Grant, a bonded teacher who arrives in the rough outback mining town of Bundanyabba, plans to stay overnight before catching the plane to Sydney, Australia. But, as his one night stretches to five, he plunges headlong toward his own destruction. When the alcohol-induced mist lifts, the educated John Grant is no more. Instead there is a self-loathing man in a desolate...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Image Entertainment 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Drama DVDs, Call number: DVD DRAMA WAK

Ganter, J. Carl.

Summary: With These Hands is a documentary project of the Grand Traverse Regional Land Conservancy, showcasing four family farms in Leelanau County, Michigan, as they deal with the threat of residential development. The families include Mary and Whitney Lyon, Leo Ocanas, Lew Seibold and Rex Dobson of Ruby Ellen Farm.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Grand Traverse Regional Land Conservancy 1998

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Nelson Room, Call number: R NEL 630 GAN

Ganter, J. Carl.

Summary: Video showcasing four family farms in Leelanau County Michigan as they deal with the threat of residential development.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: MediaVia 2003

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in E-TV DVDs, Call number: DVD E-TV WIT

Kiesling, Lydia

Summary: In Lydia Kiesling's debut novel, we accompany Daphne, a young mother on the edge of a breakdown, as she flees her sensible but strained life in San Francisco for the high desert of Altavista with her toddler, Honey. Bucking under the weight of being a single parent--her Turkish husband is unable to return to the United States because of a "processing error"--Daphne takes refuge in a mobile home...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2018

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC KIE

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC KIE

Westover, Tara

Summary: Traces the author's experiences as a child born to survivalists in the mountains of Idaho, describing her participation in her family's paranoid stockpiling activities and her resolve to educate herself well enough to earn acceptance into a prestigious university and the unfamiliar world beyond.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Findaway World, LLC 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Playaway, Call number: PA 921 WESTOVER, TARA WES

Summary: A young mathematician, David Summer, and his English wife, Amy, move to a Cornish village, seeking the quiet life. But beneath the seemingly peaceful isolation of the village lies a savagery and violence that could destroy the couple.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Metro Goldwyn Mayer Home Entertainment 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Thriller DVDs, Call number: DVD THRILLER STR

Wuthnow, Robert

Summary: What is fueling rural America's outrage toward the federal government? Why did rural Americans vote overwhelmingly for Donald Trump? And, beyond economic and demographic decline, is there a more nuanced explanation for the growing rural-urban divide? Drawing on more than a decade of research and hundreds of interviews, Robert Wuthnow brings us into America's small towns, farms, and rural...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Princeton University Press 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 306 WUT

Kleeb, Jane

Summary: "From Democratic Party rising star Jane Kleeb, an urgent and stirring roadmap showing how the Democratic Party can, and should, engage rural America"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ecco 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 324.2736 KLE

Campbell, Bonnie Jo

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2002

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC CAM

Logsdon, Gene.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ohio University Press 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC LOG

Hammer, Chris

Summary: "In the vein of The Dry and Before the Fall, a town's dark secrets come to light in the aftermath of a young priest's unthinkable last act in this arresting and searing debut thriller. In Riversend, an isolated rural community afflicted by an endless drought, a young priest does the unthinkable, killing five parishioners before being taken down himself. A year later, accompanied by his own...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Atria Books 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC HAM

Summary: Up against centuries of oppression, an unforgiving mountainous environment, decimated natural resources, and a centralized state government that offers little or no development assistance to rural communities, the people of Fondwa have taken matters into their own hands. Leaders and dreamers and dedicated workers. Children, mothers, priests, and students. Haitians, Cubans, Americans and...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Fondwa Productions 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC Roa

Summary: Chronicles the uprising that toppled the government of Ukrainian president Victor Yanukovich and has since developed into an international crisis between Russia and the West.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Cinema Guild 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC MAI

Agee, James

Summary: Provides an unsparing record of three families surviving under the harsh conditions of Depression-era poverty in 1936 rural Alabama.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Melville House 2013

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Hesse, Monica

Summary: "The arsons started on a cold November midnight and didn't stop for months. Night after night, the people of Accomack County waited to see which building would burn down next, regarding each other at first with compassion, and later suspicion. Vigilante groups sprang up, patrolling the rural Virginia coast with cameras and camouflage. Volunteer firefighters slept at their stations. The arsonist...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Liveright Publishing Corporation 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 364 HES

Kamkwamba, William

Summary: An enterprising teenager in Malawi builds a windmill from scraps he finds around his village and brings electricity, and a future, to his family.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: William Morrow 2009

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 KAM

Summary: The story of Jean Cadoret, a man who inherits a farm from his mother and foolishly hopes to become a gentleman farmer. But even before he arrives, his powerful neighbor is plotting to steal his land.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: MGM Home Entertainment Inc. 2001

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Foreign DVDs, Call number: DVD FOREIGN JEA

Agee, James

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Houghton Mifflin 1988

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 976.1 AGE

Bragg, Rick.

Summary: A haunting memoir about growing up dirt-poor in the Alabama hills--and about moving on but never really being able to leave. The extraordinary gifts for evocation and insight and the stunning talent for story- telling that earned Rick Bragg a Pulitzer Prize for feature writing in 1996 are here brought to bear on the wrenching story of his own family's life. It is the story of a war-haunted,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pantheon Books 1997

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: 921 Bragg

Gies, Frances.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper & Row 1989

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Ray, Janisse

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Milkweed Editions 2003

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 975.8784 RAY

Back to Top