Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Tyler, Anne.

Summary: "It was a beautiful, breezy, yellow-and-green afternoon." This is the way Abby Whitshank always begins the story of how she fell in love with Red that day in July 1959. The whole family--their two daughters and two sons, their grandchildren, even their faithful old dog--is on the porch, listening contentedly as Abby tells the tale they have heard so many times before. And yet this gathering is...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House Large Print 2015

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Ellsworth, Loretta

Summary: For the first time in decades, Lorraine Kindred has returned to the ballroom where she was swept away by the big bands during the 1940s--and by a star-crossed romance. As she takes in the magnificent energy and brassy sounds of her youth, the past comes to life, along with the fateful decision all those years ago that forced her to choose between personal conviction and social expectation,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC ELL

Minot, Susan.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Vintage Contemporaries 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MIN

Lester, Alison Jean.

Summary: "A middle-aged woman in the 1960s looks back on her life as a single woman and on the men in her life"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Center Point Large Print 2015

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP Fiction Lester 2015

Lester, Alison Jean.

Summary: "A middle-aged woman in the 1960s looks back on her life as a single woman and on the men in her life"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: G. P. Putnam's Sons 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC LES

Ellsworth, Loretta

Summary: " For the first time in decades, Lorraine Kindred has returned to the ballroom where she was swept away by the big bands during the 1940s--and by a star-crossed romance. As she takes in the magnificent energy and brassy sounds of her youth, the past comes to life, along with the fateful decision all those years ago that forced her to choose between personal conviction and social expectation,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: Fiction Ellsworth 2017

Backman, Fredrik

1 hold on 3 copies

Summary: "From the New York Times bestselling author of A Man Called Ove, My Grandmother Asked Me To Tell You She's Sorry, and Britt-Marie Was Here, comes an exquisitely moving portrait of an elderly man's struggle to hold on to his most precious memories, and his family's efforts to care for him even as they must find a way to let go. "Isn't that the best of all life's ages, an old man thinks as he...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Atria Books 2016

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION BAC

Shafak, Elif

Summary: Peri, a wealthy Turkish woman, is on her way to a dinner party at a seaside mansion in Istanbul when a beggar snatches her handbag. Wrestling to get it back, a photograph falls to the ground-- an old polaroid of three young women and their university professor, a relic from the past. Over the evening, as Peri arrives at the party and navigates the tensions that simmer in this crossroads country...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Bloomsbury USA, an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing Plc 2017

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC SHA

Rock, Peter

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: "Beneath the surface of Lake Michigan there are vast systems: crosscutting currents, sudden drop-offs, depths of absolute darkness, shipwrecked bodies, hidden places. Peter Rock's stunning auto-biographical novel begins in the 90s on the Door Peninsula of Wisconsin, where the narrator, a man recently graduated from college, and a young widow, Mrs. Abel, swim together at night, making their way...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Soho 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC ROC

Doyle, Roddy

Summary: "Two old friends reconnect in Dublin for a dramatic, revealing evening of drinking and storytelling in this winning new novel from the author of the Booker Prize winning Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha Davy and Joe were drinking pals back in their Dublin youth. Davy rarely sees Joe for a pint anymore--maybe one or two when Davy comes over from England to check on his elderly father. But tonight Davy's...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2020

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC DOY

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: Fiction Doyle 2020

Rooney, Kathleen

Summary: "Fall 2016 Library Journal Editors' Pick "In my reckless and undiscouraged youth," Lillian Boxfish writes, "I worked in a walnut-paneled office thirteen floors above West Thirty-Fifth Street ..." She took 1930s New York by storm, working her way up writing copy for R.H. Macy's to become the highest paid advertising woman in the country. It was a job that, she says, "in some ways saved my life,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC ROO

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC ROO

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Rooney 2017

Pittard, Hannah.

Summary: Nora went missing on Halloween. Far more eager to imagine Nora's fate than to scrutinize their own, the neighborhood boys sleepwalk into an adulthood of jobs, marriages, families, homes, and daughters of their own, all the while pining for a girl-- and a life-- that no longer exists, except in the imagination.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ecco 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC PIT

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Pittard 2011

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: YA FIC PIT

Olsson, Linda.

Summary: "From the beloved author of Astrid & Veronika, a moving tale of friendship and redemption Fans of Astrid & Veronika and Chris Cleave's Little Bee will be thrilled to read Linda Olsson's third novel. Here is Olsson doing what she does best: illuminating the terrain of friendship and examining the many forms that love can take. Marion Flint, in her early fifties, has spent fifteen years living a...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Books 2013

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: P OLS

Holthe, Tess Uriza.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Crown Publishers 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC HOL

Robinson, Marilynne.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thorndike Press 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC ROB

Russo, Richard

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC RUS

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Stacks, Call number: FIC RUS

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC RUS

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Russo 2009

Jackson, Brenda (Brenda Streater)

Summary: "Bryce Witherspoon's heart races every time she sees Kaegan Chambray. Everyone in town knows they can't stand each other, but the truth is, even though the man broke her heart ten years ago, she still feels that irresistible, oh-so-familiar jolt of desire. When Kaegan returned to Catalina Cove to run the family business, he knew there'd be no avoiding Bryce. The woman he thought he'd one day...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HQN Books 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC JAC

Harris, Joanne.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Black Swan 2000

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: P Har

Robinson, Marilynne.

Summary: Returning to Gilead to care for her dying father, Glory Boughton is joined by her long-absent brother, with whom she bonds throughout his struggles with alcoholism, unemployment and their father's traditionalist values.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC ROB

Robinson, Marilynne.

Summary: With her father ailing, Glory Boughton has returned home to Gilead to care for him. Shortly after she returns, her brother Jack shows up after a twenty year absence. As the family copes with the death of their patriarch, they learn valuable lessons about love, death, and the fortitude of familial bonds.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Macmillan Audio 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC ROB

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Compact Audio Disc, Call number: CD Fiction Robinson 2008

Gardam, Jane.

1 hold on 1 copy

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Europa Editions 2006

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Ferry, Peter

Summary: "Tom Johnson has just turned eighty-five. When faced with a nursing home, he escapes to the Netherlands to find the woman he fell in love with during World War II. His children want him back, but Tom fights to stay in the Netherlands for love, family and all the remaining rights of an old man"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Center Point Large Print 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC FER

Griffin, Anne

Summary: At the bar of a grand hotel in a small Irish town sits 84-year-old Maurice Hannigan. He's alone, as usual, though tonight is anything but. Over the course of this evening he will raise five toasts to the five people who have meant the most to him. Toasts to unspoken joy and regret, a secret tragedy kept hidden, a fierce love that never found its voice. The toasts tell you about the people who...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Center Point Large Print 2019

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: LP FIC GRI

Tan, Amy.

1 hold on 3 copies

Summary: In 1949, four Chinese women--drawn together by the shadow of their past--begin meeting in San Francisco to play mah jong, invest in stocks and "say" stories. They call their gathering the Joy Luck Club--and forge a relationship that binds them for more than three decades.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Books 2006

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.
Back to Top