Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Tilley, Jim

Summary: "Against the Wind is a story of six characters' second chances to make things right. A successful environmental lawyer is forced to take himself to task when he realizes that everything about his work has betrayed his core beliefs. A high school English teacher asks her former high school love to take up her environmental cause. A transgender adolescent male raised by his grandparents struggles...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Red Hen Press 2019

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC TIL

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Browsing Hot Titles, Call number: HOT TITLE

Cohen, Jon

Summary: "When you climb a tree, the first thing you do is to hold on tight...Thirty-four-year-old Harry Crane works as an analyst for the US Forest Service. When his wife dies suddenly, he is unable to cope. Leaving his job and his old life behind, Harry makes his way to the remote woods of northeastern Pennsylvania's Endless Mountains, determined to lose himself. But fate intervenes in the form of a...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Mira 2018

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC COH

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC COH

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION COH

Reeves, Virginia.

Summary: "In this astonishingly accomplished, morally complicated, "exceptional and starkly beautiful debut" (Kevin Powers, National Book Award-nominated author of The Yellow Birds), a prideful electrician in 1920s rural Alabama struggles to overcome past sins and find peace after being sent to prison for manslaughter. Roscoe T Martin set his sights on a new type of power spreading at the start of the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2016

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC REE

Goudge, Eileen.

Summary: Colin McGinty's grandfather, a famous artist, is best known for his haunting portrait Woman in Red, which happens to be of Alice Kessler's grandmother. In a tale that weaves the past with the present, we come to know the story behind the portrait, of a forbidden wartime romance between William McGinty and Eleanor Styles, and a deadly secret---one that is about to be unburied, as the ghost of an...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Vanguard Press 2007

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC GOU

Young, William Paul.

Summary: The Shack shattered our limited perceptions about God. Eve will destroy harmful misconceptions about ourselves.From the author of the twenty-five-million copy bestseller The Shack comes a beautifully-crafted, captivating new novel destined to be one of the most important and talked-about books of the decade. Eve is a bold, unprecedented exploration of the Creation narrative, true to the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thorndike 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC YOU

Toyne, Simon

Summary: "For fans of Lee Child and Stephen King, the author of the acclaimed Sanctus trilogy conjures an eerie epic of good and evil, retribution and redemption-the first novel in the mesmerizing Solomon Creed series in which a man with no memory of his past must save a lost soul in a small Arizona town"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC TOY

Evans, Sara

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thomas Nelson 2012

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Eva

Warrington, Freda

Summary: A young woman studying art at a vast country estate near the site where a child was snatched by fairies decades earlier stumbles onto the portal to the Otherworld through which a handsome, charming, and innocent young man emerges and captures her heart.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Tor 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC WAR

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Stacks, Call number: SF WAR

Grisham, John.

Summary: The careers of a golden boy rookie hitter for the Cubs and a hard-hitting Mets pitcher take very different paths.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House Audio 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC GRI

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CDA Fiction Gri

Mortimer, Ian

Summary: With 1348 Britain in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will die and suffer in the afterlife; but as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world, or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries—living each one of their remaining days 99 years after the last.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MOR

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MOR

Meissner, Susan

Summary: When her black sheep brother disappears, Amanda Janvier is happy to take in her sixteen-year-old niece Tally. Practically an orphan, Tally is motherless and her father raises Tally in a haphazard manner--often taking on wild schemes. Amanda envisions that she, her husband Neil, and their two teenagers can offer the girl stability and a shot at a "normal" life. What she doesn't know is that...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Center Point Pub. 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC MEI

Pelecanos, George P.

Summary: After years of trouble and rebellion that enraged his father and nearly cost him his life, Chris has a steady job in his father's company, he's seriously dating a woman he respects, and, aside from the distrust that lingers in his father's eyes, his mistakes are firmly in the past. One day on the job, Chris and his partner come across a temptation almost too big to resist. Chris does the right...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Co. 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC PEL

Evans, Richard Paul.

Summary: Wildly successful real estate mogul James Kier gets the shock of a lifetime when he opens the newspaper and discovers his own obituary has been mistakenly printed. Says the notice, "He was known as a fierce, oftentimes ruthless, businessman." Kier's initial anger soon melts with the realization that he's been given a rare opportunity to face his own legacy. Confronting the mistakes he's made,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 2009

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC EVA

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC EVA

Dyachenko, Serhii

Summary: Disfigured and cursed by a mysterious man after killing an innocent student in a duel, Egert, an egotistical member of an elite guard, embarks on an odyssey to undo the damage he has caused and seeks forgiveness from the student's grief-stricken fiancee.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Tor 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC DYA

McNeal, Laura Lane.

Summary: "A big-hearted coming-of-age debut set in Civil Rights-era New Orleans--a novel of Southern eccentricity, secrets, and laughter. When Ibby Bell's father dies in a tragic accident in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother, Fannie, and throws in her father's urn for good measure. Fannie's Victorian house is like no place Ibby has ever been--and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pamela Dorman Books/Viking 2014

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: FICTION MCN

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Mcneal 2014

Martin, Charles

Summary: Charlie Finn had to grow up fast, living alone by age sixteen. Highly intelligent, he earned a life-changing scholarship to Harvard, where he learned how to survive and thrive on the outskirts of privileged society. That skill served him well in the cutthroat business world, as it does in more lucrative but dangerous ventures he now operates off the coast of Miami. Charlie tries to separate...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Playaway, Call number: PA FIC MAR

Kenyon, Sherrilyn

Summary: The complete collection of short stories written for the Dark-Hunter series includes "Phantom Lover" and "Love Bytes" as well as a new, previously unreleased title and tales that have only been published exclusively on the author's website.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC KEN

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC KEN

Lovett, Charles C.

Summary: A sequel to "A Christmas Carol" set twenty years after Scrooge's famous reformation finds him teaming up with a returning cast of ghosts to help the restless spirit of Jacob Marley make amends to victimized associates in order to find peace.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC LOV

Yejide, Morowa.

Summary: " . . . A novel about an autistic boy whose drawings represent something much deeper than even the doctors who study can grasp; his father, serving 25 to life for murder; his mother, trying to hold herself together and fix her broken child. It's a supernatural journey of crime and punishment, retribution and redemption that ultimately leads to a father saving his son, a mother connecting with...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC YEJ

Brown, Karma

Summary: "Meg Pepper has a fulfilling career and a happy family. Most days she's able to keep it all together and glide through life. But then, in one unalterable moment, everything changes. After school pickup one day, she stops her car to wave a teenage boy across the street-just as another car comes hurtling down the road and slams into him. Meg can't help but blame herself for her role in this...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Park Row Books 2017

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: FICTION BRO

Evans, Richard Paul.

Summary: A man's desire to write his own obituary prior to his death allows him to learn what the world really thinks of him.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Center Point Pub. 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC EVA