Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Hogg, Lauren

Summary: Lauren Hogg, one of the survivors of the shooting at the Marjory Stoneman Douglas school in Parkland, Florida, dramatically tells her story in graphic novel form. The tragedy of yet another mass shooting has galvanized the young people of the country, and helped launch a movement that continues to gain momentum. Lauren Hogg lost her two best friends that horrible day, but despite her loss she,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Zuiker Press 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Graphic Novels, Call number: J 371.7 HOG

Capaldi, Gina.

Summary: Zitkala-Š̌̌̌a finds that she can sing through her music, but also by writing stories and giving speeches and being an activist for Native American rights.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Carolrhoda Books 2011

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J 921 Zitkala 2011

Hinman, Bonnie

Summary: Ivanka Trump has carved a name for herself in the business world and as a political activist assisting her father, President Donald Trump. Ivanka Trump: Businesswoman and Political Activist explores Trump's early life and her successful business ventures. Easy-to-read text, vivid images, and helpful back matter give readers a clear look at this subject. Features include a table of contents,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Core Library, an imprint of Abdo Publishing 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 921 TRU

Haddock, Doris.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thorndike Press 2001

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP 917.304 HAD

Kengor, Paul

Summary: A portrait of Frank Marshall Davis, an American communist and mentor to President Obama, discusses his beliefs, pro-communist writings for newspapers in Chicago and Honolulu, and influence on the young future president.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Threshold Editions/Mercury Ink 2012

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult- Biography, Call number: 921 Kengor 2012

Summary: Ralph Nader is without a doubt one of the most passionate and determined personalities of our time. Loved, hated, respected and feared, Nader has had more impact on our daily lives than most presidents. This first-hand account takes you behind his groundbreaking consumer advocacy campaigns and contested presidential runs and shows why Nader continues to be one of the most unique and important...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Genius Entertanment 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC UNR

Wilentz, Sean

Summary: "One of our most eminent historians reminds us of the commanding role party politics has played in America's enduring struggle against economic inequality. 'There are two keys to unlocking the secrets of American politics and American political history.' So begins The Politicians & the Egalitarians, Princeton historian Sean Wilentz's bold new work of history. First, America is built on an...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: W.W. Norton & Company 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 306.2 WIL

Bhagwati, Anuradha Kristina

Summary: "A raw, unflinching, and inspirational memoir by a former United States Marine Captain describing her journey from dutiful daughter of immigrants to wide-eyed recruit to radical activist dedicated to effecting historic policy reform in the military. Aftera lifetime of buckling to the demands of her strict Indian parents, Anuradha Bhagwati abandons her grad school career at Harvard University to...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Atria Books 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 BHAGWATI, ANURADHA KRISTINA BHA

Rappaport, Doreen.

Summary: A brief account of the life and accomplishments of Eleanor Roosevelt.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Disney/Hyperion Books 2009

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Stacks, Call number: J 921 ROO

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J 921 Roosevelt 2009

Forché, Carolyn

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: Describes the author's deep friendship with a mysterious intellectual who introduced her to the culture and people of El Salvador in the 1970s, a tumultuous period in the country's history, inspiring her work as an unlikely activist.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Press 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Hochschild, Adam

Summary: "From the bestselling author of King Leopold's Ghost and Spain in Our Hearts comes the astonishing but forgotten story of an immigrant sweatshop worker who married an heir to a great American fortune and became one of the most charismatic radical leadersof her time"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Gregory, Josh

Summary: Over the course of his amazing life, legendary boxer Muhammad Ali made a huge impact both inside and outside the ring. Readers will learn how Ali first started boxing and what made him such a powerful fighter. They will also find out about efforts to battle racism, his impact on the civil rights movement, his philanthropic endeavors, and much more.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Children's Press 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 921 ALI

Sarsour, Linda

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: "Women's March co-organizer Linda Sarsour shares how growing up Palestinian Muslim American, feminist, and empowered moved her to become a globally recognized and celebrated activist on behalf of marginalized communities across the country"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 37 INK, Simon & Schuster 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Hitchens, Christopher.

Summary: "The life story of one of the most admired and controversial public intellectuals of our time"--Provided by publisher.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Twelve 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP 921 HITCHENS, CHRISTOPHER HIT

Hitchens, Christopher.

Summary: "The life story of one of the most admired and controversial public intellectuals of our time"--Provided by publisher.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Twelve 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 HITCHENS, CHRISTOPHER HIT

Wulf, Andrea.

Summary: "From the author of the acclaimed The Brother Gardeners, a fascinating look at the founding fathers from the unique and intimate perspective of their lives as gardeners, plantsmen, and farmers. For the founding fathers, gardening, agriculture, and botany were elemental passions, as deeply ingrained in their characters as their belief in liberty for the nation they were creating. Andrea Wulf...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Books on Tape 2011

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: Two raging grannies on their mobility scooters travel from Seattle to Wall Street on a quest to find out whether perpetual economic growth is possible. Shirley (90) and Hinda (84) grew up during the great depression. This is a film searching for new answers, but also a film about friendship, coming of age, illness and fear of death.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in TC Film Fest DVDs, Call number: DVD TCFF TWO

Schulman, Daniel.

Summary: "Like the Rockefellers and the Kennedys, the Kochs are one of the most influential dynasties of the modern age, but they have never been the subject of a major biography... until now. Not long after the death of his father, Charles Koch, then in his early 30s, discovered a letter the family patriarch had written to his sons. 'You will receive what now seems to be a large sum of money,' Fred...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 KOCH BROTHERS SCH

Von Hoffman, Nicholas.

Summary: A personal portrait of the controversial mastermind of popular movements, a man who is often called the American Machiavelli, Saul Alinsky.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Nation Books 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 ALINSKY, SAUL DAVID VON

Wilderson, Frank B.

Summary: "In the tradition of Edward Said's Orientalism and Frantz Fanon's Black Skin, White Masks, Afropessimism is an unparalleled account of the non-analogous experience of being Black. A seminal work that strikingly combines groundbreaking philosophy with searing flights of memoir, Afropessimism presents the tenets of an increasingly influential intellectual movement that theorizes blackness through...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Liveright Publishing Corporation, a division of W.W. Norton and Company 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New Non-fiction, Call number: 921 WILDERSON, FRANK WIL

Rogak, Lisa

1 hold on 2 copies

Summary: "The first biography of the most popular anchor in cable news. Rachel Maddow has beaten the odds in a way that's novel in today's America: she uses her brain. In a world of banal and opinionated soundbites, she regularly crushes Sean Hannity's ratings thanks to her deeply researched reports. And in our highly polarized world, Maddow amiably engages the staunchest conservatives, while never...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thomas Dunne Books 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Goldstein, Warren.

Contents: The great war, Greenwich Village, and the Upper East Side -- Early years -- Europe : music and war -- Russians White and Red -- The education of a warrior-priest -- From education to vocation -- "Bus-riding chaplain" -- Preaching the word : Coffin in demand -- Wading into the big muddy -- Moments of truth : civil disobedience and the draft -- Marriage and family life -- Activist episodes --...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Yale University Press 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 COFFIN, WILLIAM GOL

McCarter, Jeremy

Summary: "What does it mean to live for your ideals ... and to risk dying for them? This book tells the story of young American radicals who sensed a moment of unprecedented promise for American life--politically, socially, culturally--and struggled to bring it about, only to see a cataclysmic war sweep it away. Based on six years of extensive archival research, Jeremy McCarter's dramatic narrative...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 MCC

Loughery, John.

1 hold on 2 copies

Summary: "After a middle-class Republican childhood and a few years as a Communist sympathizer, Dorothy Day converted to Catholicism and became an anomaly in American life for almost fifty years. As an orthodox Catholic, political radical, and a rebel who courted controversy, she attracted three generations of admirers. Day went to jail challenging the draft and the war in Vietnam. She was critical of...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.
Back to Top