Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Sandel, Michael J.

Summary: "A world-famous political philosopher, and the bestselling author of Justice, reveals the driving force behind the resurgence of populism: the tyranny of the meritocracy and the resentments it produces"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 306.0973 SAN

Lukianoff, Greg

1 hold on 2 copies

Summary: "Something has been going wrong on many college campuses in the last few years. Speakers are shouted down. Students and professors say they are walking on eggshells and are afraid to speak honestly. Rates of anxiety, depression, and suicide are rising--on campus as well as nationally. How did this happen? First Amendment expert Greg Lukianoff and social psychologist Jonathan Haidt show how the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Press 2018

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Bishop, Bill.

Summary: America may be more diverse than ever coast to coast, but the places where we live are becoming increasingly crowded with people who live, think, and vote as we do. We've built a country where we can all choose the neighborhood--and church and news show--most compatible with our lifestyle and beliefs. And we are living with the consequences of this way-of-life segregation. Our country has...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Houghton Mifflin 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305 BIS

Brooks, Arthur C.

Summary: Cites the role of divisive leaders in today's partisan America, outlining specific recommendations for reuniting the nation around its core principles of respect, kindness, and dignity.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Broadside Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublisher 2019

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 320.973 BRO

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 320.973 BRO

Klein, Ezra

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: "America's political system isn't broken. The truth is scarier: it's working exactly as designed. In this book, journalist Ezra Klein reveals how that system is polarizing us -- and how we are polarizing it -- with disastrous results. "The American political system -- which includes everyone from voters to journalists to the president -- is full of rational actors making rational decisions...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Avid Reader Press 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 306.0973 KLE

French, David

Summary: "David French examines the depths of the American ideological divide, diagnoses its core causes, and provides a hopeful path forward. Polarization. Tribalization. Division. Some look at the growing political tension in our nation and call it a "cold civilwar." Others say it's nothing more than the culture war of the last three decades, amplified beyond reason by social media. David French...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 306.2 FRE

Fukuyama, Francis

Summary: "A provocative examination of modern identity politics: its origins, its effects, and what it means for our democracy and international affairs of state"--Dust jacket.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 320.01 FUK

Garfield, Bob

Summary: "Why is our society in the fix it is in? Is it all Trump's fault? Well, no. As often observed, Trump is a symptom of a virus has been incubating for at least 50 years and maybe 150. But not often observed is where the virus is imbedded: in the psychic core of identity. This book explores the primacy of identity in American society and makes the argument that hyper-polarization was not only...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Counterpoint 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 306.2 GAR

Taibbi, Matt

Summary: In this characteristically turbocharged new book, celebrated Rolling Stone journalist Matt Taibbi provides an insider's guide to the variety of ways today's mainstream media tells us lies. Part tirade, part confessional, it reveals that what most people think of as "the news" is, in fact, a twisted wing of the entertainment business. In the Internet age, the press have mastered the art of...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: OR Books 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 302.23 TAI

Daum, Meghan

Summary: "A book blending memoir, reporting, and argument, which drills past the obvious political opinions of our moment in an attempt to make sense of our social and political landscape, particularly with regards to feminism and the various layers of the Trump Resistance movement"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Gallery Books 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 306.0973 DAU

Kruse, Kevin Michael

Summary: "If you were asked when America became polarized, your answer would likely depend on your age: you might say during Barack Obama's presidency, or with the post- 9/11 war on terror, or the culture wars of the 1980s and 1990s, or the 'Reagan Revolution' and the rise of the New Right. For leading historians Kevin M. Kruse and Julian E. Zelizer, it all starts in 1974. In that one year, the nation...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2019

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: 973.92 Krause 2019

Frank, Thomas

Summary: "What does a middle-class democracy look like when it comes apart? When, after forty years of economic triumph, America's winners presuade themselves that they owe nothing to the rest of the country? In this collection of interlocking essays, Thomas Frank takes us on a wide-ranging tour through present-day America, showing us a society in the late stages of disintegration and describing the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Metropolitan Books, Henry Holt and Company 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 306.2 FRA

Dotson, Taylor

Summary: "A highly readable and punchy roadmap that ordinary citizens and policymakers alike can use to begin rethinking and refashioning their political interactions to be more productive"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: The MIT Press 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New Non-fiction, Call number: 321.8 DOT

Smith, Hedrick.

Summary: Recounts how the American dream has been dismantled over the past forty years by legislative, electoral, and corporate decisions that have compromised the middle class and minimized individual economic and political power.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 973.91 SMI

Wehner, Peter

Summary: "The New York Times opinion writer, media commentator, outspoken Republican and Christian critic of the Trump presidency offers a spirited defense of politics and its virtuous and critical role in maintaining our democracy and what we must do to save it before it is too late. "Any nation that elects Donald Trump to be its president has a remarkably low view of politics." Frustrated and feeling...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperOne, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 306.2 WEH

Goldberg, Bernard

Summary: Broadcast journalist Goldberg is back with more hard-hitting observations and no-nonsense advice for saving America from the lunatics on the Left and the sellouts on the Right. He argues that while conservatives still believe in important things, the jury is out on Republicans. The 2006 election was a wake-up call, he warns, and if the wimps on the Right fail to regain their courage, recover...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperCollins 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 320.5209 GOL

Edwards, Mickey

Summary: A former congressman draws on his first-hand experience with legislative battles to present a solution-based, practical way to break the stranglehold of the political party system and banish the negative effects of partisan warfare.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Yale University Press 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 320.973 EDW

Hacker, Jacob S.

Summary: "A groundbreaking account of how the dangerous alliance of right-wing plutocrats and populists threatens the very pillars of American democracy. We often assume that the Republican Party is divided between a tax-cutting old guard and a white-nationalist vanguard-and that with Donald Trump's ascendance, the upstarts are winning. Yet as New York Times best-selling authors Jacob S. Hacker and Paul...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Liveright Publishing Corporation 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 320.52 HAC

Kreitner, Richard

Summary: From journalist and historian Richard Kreitner, a "powerful revisionist account"of the most persistent idea in American history: these supposedly United States should be broken up (Eric Foner). The novel and fiery thesis of Break It Up is simple: the United States has never lived up to its name -- and never will. The disunionist impulse may have found its greatest expression in the Civil War,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Company 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 320.973 KRE

Lessig, Lawrence

Summary: "In the vein of On Tyranny and How Democracies Die, the bestselling author of Republic, Lost argues that our democracy no longer represents us and shows that reform is both necessary and possible"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dey Street Books 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 320.973 LES

Norris, Zachary

Summary: "Overturning more than 200 years of fear-based dehumanization, punishment and trauma, Zachary Norris presents a comprehensive new vision of care-based public safety for America that actually holds people accountable for harms rendered, that tackles the harms currently going unaddressed, and that prevents many harms from happening, through strengthened relationships, strategic investment of...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Beacon Press 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 363.1 NOR

Tomasky, Michael

Summary: Presents a revisionist assessment of the origins of political polarization in America that outlines ambitious recommendations in the areas of ranked-choice voting, at-large congressional elections, and civics education.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Liveright Publishing Corporation, a division of W.W. Norton & Company 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 320.973 TOM

Back to Top