Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location
Audience

Hood, Susan

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: "An inspirational nonfiction novel-in-verse about Zhanna Arshanskaya, a young Ukrainian Jewish girl using the alias Anna, whose phenomenal piano-playing skills saved her life and the life of her sister, Frina, during the Holocaust-from award-winning author Susan Hood, with Zhanna's son, Greg Dawson"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2022

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Cotner, June

Summary: "A beautifully illustrated collection of poems and prayers to help children develop an appreciation for the natural world"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Convergent 2023

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 242 BLE

Watson, Renée

Summary: "Poet Renée Watson looks back at her childhood and urges readers to look forward at their futures with love, understanding, and celebration in this fully illustrated poetry collection"-- Provided by publisher.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Kokila 2024

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Non-fiction, Call number: YA 811 WAT

Nehanda, Walela

Summary: "When Walela is diagnosed at twenty-three with advanced stage blood cancer, they're suddenly thrust into the unsympathetic world of tubes and pills, doctors who don't use their correct pronouns, and hordes of "well-meaning" but patronizing people offering unsolicited advice as they navigate rocky personal relationships and share their story online. But this experience also deepens their...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Kokila 2024

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Non-fiction, Call number: YA 921 NEH

Peters, Lisa Westberg

Summary: "If you're a curious child and you get a new dog, you discover all kinds of things. Gravity has new meaning, when you're racing down a slide toward your eager-beaver dog waiting at the bottom (uh-oh!). Friction has a new meaning, when your slippery dog escapes from the bath (soap+fingers=not enough friction). But love has a new meaning too, when you and your cosmic dog become the center of your...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Wordsong, and imprint of Astra Books for Young Readers 2023

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 811 PET

James, Omotara

Summary: "A profound and intersectional text, Song of My Softening is a queer, fat, love song of the interior. Poems study the ever-changing relationship with oneself, while also investigating the relationship that the world and nation has with Black queerness. This book is a window into what perseverance looks like, ungilded, a mirror for anyone born into a culture outside of their identity, who has...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alice James Books 2024

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New Non-fiction, Call number: 811 JAM

Sappho.

Summary: "A bilingual edition of the work of the Greek poet Sappho, in a new translation by Anne Carson. Sappho lived on the island of Lesbos from about 630 B.C. She was a musical genius who devoted her life to composing and performing songs. Of the nine books of lyrics Sappho is said to have composed, none of the music is extant and only one poem has survived complete. All the rest are fragments. In If...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2002

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Damezin, Yann

Summary: "It is a story known around the world. Born of an Arabic tale, it has been interpreted hundreds of times in Persian, Turkish, and Indian languages. It has influenced playwrights, composers, filmmakers, scholars, modern popular language, the first opera of Islamic origin, and individuals as varied as Aleister Crowley and Eric Clapton. The tragic tale of love unfulfilled - Majnun and Layla. Qays...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Life Drawn, an imprint of Humanoids, Inc. 2023

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: 741.5 DAM

Odenkirk, Bob

Summary: "A collection of humorous and heartfelt poetry for children and adults"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Company 2023

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 811 ODE

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J811 ODE

Foster, John L. (John Lawrence)

Contents: Some rather lively lines (Papyrus Chester Beatty I)--Songs inscribed on an earthen vessel (Cairo ostracon 25218)--Songs of the garden (Papyrus Harris 500)--Songs of great heart's ease (Papyrus Chester Beatty I)--Songs from a faded papyrus (Papyrus Harris 500)--Stanzaic love song (Papyrus Chester Beatty I)--Songs of the orchard (Papyrus Turin 1966)--Songs of the birdcatcher's daughter (Papyrus...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 1974

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 493.1 FOS

Ondaatje, Michael

Summary: "Following several of his internationally acclaimed, beloved novels, A Year of Last Things is Michael Ondaatje's long-awaited return to poetry. In pieces that are sometimes wittily funny, moving, and always wise, we journey back through time by way of alchemical leaps, unearthing writings by revered masters, moments of shared tenderness, and abandoned landscapes we hold onto to rediscover the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2024

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New Non-fiction, Call number: 811 OND

Contents: Introduction/editor's note -- Michigan map -- Rooted in geography, natural and man-made landscapes -- Rooted in weather, seasons, and animals -- Rooted in history -- Rooted with others -- [Up]Rooted in a brave, new world -- Acknowledgements -- Contributors -- About Poetry Society of Michigan.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: "An anthology of poems edited by Erin Belieu and Carl Phillips"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Copper Canyon Press 2023

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: In this comprehensive and vibrant poetry anthology, bestselling author and poet Kwame Alexander curates a collection of contemporary anthems at turns tender and piercing and deeply inspiring throughout. Featuring work from well-loved poets such as Rita Dove, Jericho Brown, Warsan Shire, Ross Gay, Tracy K. Smith, Terrance Hayes, Morgan Parker, and Nikki Giovanni, This Is the Honey is a rich and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Company 2024

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Acevedo, Elizabeth

Summary: "In her most famous spoken-word poem, author of the Pura Belpré-winning novel-in-verse The Poet X Elizabeth Acevedo embraces all the complexities of Black hair and Afro-Latinidad--the history, pain, pride, and powerful love of that inheritance. Paired with full-color illustrations by artist Andrea Pippins in a format that will appeal to fans of Mahogany L. Browne's Black Girl Magic or Jason...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Quill Tree Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Non-fiction, Call number: YA 811 ACE

Adaf, Shimon

Summary: Cycle of poems composed after Adaf's sister's death.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alice James Books 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 492.4 ADA

Agosín, Marjorie.

Summary: A collection of poems by Marjorie Agosin that give voice to the victims of the corrupt dictatorships that existed in Latin America during the late twentieth century.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: White Pine Press 1998

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 468.4 AGO

Alberti, Rafael

Summary: A bilingual anthology by a Spanish poet, illustrated with paintings that inspired it. In the poem, Botticelli, accompanied by the painting, The Birth of Venus, he writes: "Upon the sea / all is curling witchery, / twirling curl / & rippling wave, / a geometric order / carried to the border / by uncooling winds that shower bird & flower."

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Northwestern University Press 1997

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 468.4 ALB

Alyan, Hala

Summary: A diaspora of memories runs through this poetry collection--a multiplicity of voices, bodies, and houses hold archival material for one another, tracing paths between Brooklyn, Beirut, and Jerusalem. Boundaries and borders blur between space and time and poetic form--small banal moments of daily life live within geopolitical brutalities and, vice versa, the desire for stability lives in...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers 2024

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Codjoe, Ama

Summary: "Ama Codjoe's highly anticipated debut collection brings generous light to the inner dialogues of women as they bathe, create art, make and lose love. Each poem rises with the urgency of a fully awakened sensual life"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Milkweed Editions 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Display, Call number: 811 COD

Coelho, Joseph

Summary: "Everybody has a poem inside them! Writing one is not as hard as you think, you just need to know how to get started. Discover all sorts of ways to write and perform your very own poems, from found poems, to haikus, to tanka poems, to tongue-twisters!" --

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Wide Eyed Editions 2023

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 808.1 COE

Emezi, Akwaeke

Summary: "Collection of poems by Akwaeke Emezi"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Copper Canyon Press 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 821 EME

Grass, Günter

Summary: A bilingual poetry collection. In Nursery Rhyme, he writes: "Who laughs here, who has laughed? / Here we have ceased to laugh. / To laugh here is now treason / The laugher has a reason."

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harcourt Brace 1996

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 438.4 GRA

Harris, Chris

Summary: "A witty, illustrated collection of humorous (and sometimes even heartwarming) poems and nonsense inspired by the absurdities of everyday life"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Company, Hachette Book Group 2023

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 811 HAR

chat loading...
Back to Top