Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Paschkis, Julie

Summary: "Lily ran and jumped and barked and whimpered and growled and wiggled and wagged and licked and snuggled. But not now. It is hard to lose a pet. There is sadness, but also hope--for a beloved pet lives on in your heart, your memory, and your imagination"--Dust jacket flap.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Henry Hold and Company 2020

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: JE PAS

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE PAS

Gershon, Gina.

Summary: A founding member of the New York City theater group Naked Angels traces her life-long relationship with cats while recounting the loss of and search for a beloved feline companion, a quest through the back streets of Los Angeles that led to encounters with numerous personalities.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Gotham Books 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 636.8 GERSHON, GINA GER

Preller, James.

Summary: Jigsaw Jones investigates when the champion frog in a frog-jumping contest mysteriously disappears.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scholastic 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Beginning Readers - Transitional Reader (Blue), Call number: JBR BLUE PRE

Bragg, Rick

5 holds on 1 copy

Summary: "Speck is not a good boy. He is a terrible boy, a defiant, self-destructive, often malodorous boy, a grave robber and screen door moocher who spends his days playing chicken with the Fed Ex man, picking fights with thousand-pound livestock, and rolling in donkey manure, and his nights howling at the moon. He has been that way since the moment he appeared on the ridgeline behind Rick Bragg's...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Shaw, Chloe

Summary: "On the heels of her family's beloved dog's death, one woman returns to the canines of her past in order to imagine the human she hopes to become in the future in her memoir, What Is a Dog? Chloe Shaw is in a dog house of her own choosing. A married mother with kids, the death of Booker, her children's eldest family pet, has left her reeling and reckoning with her lifelong relationship with...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Flatiron Books 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Sage, Angie.

Summary: Barry Wizard's five acrobatic frogs are missing, and Araminta and her best friend Wanda, aided by the spectral Sir Horace, follow the trail to Morris's Water Wonderland, where something fishy is going on.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Katherine Tegen Books 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FIC SAG

Collins, Britt

Summary: For fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, Strays is a compelling true story of a man who rescues a stray, injured cat and how they save each other. Homeless, alcoholic, and depressed, Michael King lives in a UPS loading bay on the wrong side of the tracks in Portland, Oregon. One rainy night, he stumbles upon a hurt, starving, scruffy cat...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Atria Books 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 636.8 COL

Summary: When young Lili is forced to give up her beloved dog Hagen, deemed 'unfit' by the State, she and the dog begin a dangerous journey back toward each other. The one-time house pet has learned much, not all good, in his journey through the streets and animal control centers, as he leads a pack of 'unfit' dogs to bite the hands that beat them.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Magnolia Home Entertainment 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Foreign DVDs, Call number: DVD FOREIGN WHI

Schaefer, Lola M.

Summary: Mittens the kitten goes for a walk with Nick, but he is distracted by a butterfly and becomes lost.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperCollins 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Beginning Readers - New Reader (Green), Call number: JBR GREEN SCH

Gut, Corey

Summary: Staying Strong for Smokey is a children's book on Pet Loss. Written by a veterinarian with guidance from an elementary counselor and children's therapist, this book gently introduces the emotionally provocative topic of the death of a family pet in a gentle, non-threatening way.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Corey Gut 0000

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE GUT

Atwood, Megan

Summary: Pen pals Molly and Olive consider themselves best friends even though they have never actually met because Molly lives in New York City and Olive lives on a farm in Iowa--but when Olive finds a diamond bracelet in the grass the two girls start to wonder if they can finally get the money for one of them to visit the other.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Capstone Young Readers 2017

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: JFIC ATW

Harrington, Claudia

Summary: Hank pet sits Otis the very large dog. Otis gets a toothache, and Hank has to take him to the vet.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Calico Kid, an imprint of Magic Wagon 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile World Languages, Call number: JBR PURPLE SPANISH HAR

Grady, Wayne.

Summary: "This book is an exploration of the biology and ecology of a vital, ever-changing terrain. Written by one of Canada's best-known science and nature writers, it is intended not only for those who live in the Great Lakes basin but for anyone captivated by the splendor of the natural world and sensitive to the challenges of its preservation."--Jacket.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Greystone Books 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 508 GRA

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Michigan Room, Call number: MI 508.77 Grady

Back to Top