Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Hampton, Ryan

Summary: Nearly every American knows someone who has been affected by the opioid crisis. Addiction is a trans-partisan issue that impacts individuals from every walk of life. Millions of Americans, tired of watching their loved ones die while politicians ignore this issue. Where is the solution? Where is the hope? Where's the outrage? Ryan Hampton is a young man who has made addiction and recovery...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: All Points Books 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.29 HAM

Summary: Examines the toll of opioid addiction in the U.S. on individuals, families, and communities through personal stories, including a couple who lost their son to prescription painkillers, and expert commentary.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: PBS 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in E-TV DVDs, Call number: DVD E-TV UND

Rieder, Travis

Summary: "A bioethicist's eloquent and riveting memoir of opioid dependence and withdrawal -- a harrowing personal reckoning and clarion call for change not only for government but medicine itself, revealing the lack of crucial resources and structures to handle this insidious nationwide epidemic. Travis Rieder's terrifying journey down the rabbit hole of opioid dependence began with a motorcycle...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 RIEDER, TRAVIS RIE

Macy, Beth

Summary: In this masterful work, Beth Macy takes us into an epicenter of America's twenty-plus year struggle with opioid addiction. The first to chart the tragic spread of prescription and street drugs from distressed small communities in Central Appalachia to wealthy suburbs, disparate cities, and once-idyllic farm towns, a trajectory that explains how the crisis persisted for so long and became so...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD 362.2 MAC

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD 362.2 MAC

Summary: "America is in the midst of the deadliest drug epidemic in US history. In 2017 alone, around 70,000 Americans died from drug overdoses, driven by a dramatic rise in the abuse of opioids like OxyContin, heroin, and fentanyl. It's a slow-motion disaster that is destroying whole communities, with no end in sight. As our nation looks for answers, take an unflinching look at the epidemic through the...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in E-TV DVDs, Call number: DVD E-TV ADD

Summary: This four-part season follows Central Americans on an odyssey to the United States (and others heading back home after being deported), while also delving into the shadow industries that prey on them every step of the way. The series sheds light on the smugglers and traffickers who take advantage of the migrants' vulnerability, and law enforcement pursuing them at the border while providing a...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in E-TV DVDs, Call number: DVD E-TV TRA

Foreman, Judy.

Contents: The enormity of the problem -- What is pain, anyway? -- The genetics of pain -- Gender and pain -- Children in pain -- The mind-body in pain -- Opioid wars : part I -- Opioid wars : part II -- How the immune system cranks up pain -- Marijuana : the weed america loves to hate -- Beyond opioids : western medicine -- Beyond opioids : complementary and alternative medicine -- Exercise : the real...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Oxford University Press 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 616.0472 FOR

Bisaga, Adam

Summary: From a leading addiction expert, a desperately needed medical guide to understanding, treating, and finally defeating opioid use disorder.--Amazon.com

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: The Experiment 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.2 BIS

Westhoff, Ben

Summary: "A deeply human story, Fentanyl, Inc. is the first deep-dive investigation of a hazardous and illicit industry that has created a worldwide epidemic, ravaging communities and overwhelming and confounding government agencies that are challenged to combat it. "A whole new crop of chemicals is radically changing the recreational drug landscape," writes Ben Westhoff. "These are known as Novel...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Atlantic Monthly Press 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 615.783 WES

Peres, Daniel

Summary: In the vein of Mary Karr's Lit, Augusten Burroughs' Dry and Sarah Hepola's Blackout, As Needed for Pain is a raw and riveting--and often wryly funny--addiction memoir from one of New York media's most accomplished editors which explores his never-before-told story of opioid addiction and the drastic impact it had on his life and career--Jacket.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 PERES, DANIEL PER

Macy, Beth

Summary: In this masterful work, Beth Macy takes us into an epicenter of America's twenty-plus year struggle with opioid addiction. The first to chart the tragic spread of prescription and street drugs from distressed small communities in Central Appalachia to wealthy suburbs, disparate cities, and once-idyllic farm towns, a trajectory that explains how the crisis persisted for so long and became so...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Playaway, Call number: PA 362.2 MAC

Quinones, Sam

4 holds on 1 copy

Summary: From the best-selling author of Dreamland comes a searing follow-up that explores fentanyl and the quiet yet groundbreaking steps communities are taking to end the opioid crisis nationwide.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Bloomsbury Publishing 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: The story of a drug company that pushed opioids by bribing doctors and committing insurance fraud. With the Financial Times, FRONTLINE investigates how Insys Therapeutics profited from a fentanyl-based painkiller 50-100 times stronger than heroin.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in E-TV DVDs, Call number: DVD E-TV OPI

Macy, Beth

Summary: Chronicles America's more than twenty-year struggle with opioid addiction, from the introduction of OxyContin in 1996, through the spread of addiction in distressed communities in Central Appalachia, to the current national crisis.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Company 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.2 MAC

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: 362.2909 MAC

Coleman, Reed Farrel

Summary: When a high school cheerleader dies of a suspected heroin overdose, it's clear that the opioid epidemic has reached the idyllic town of Paradise. Police chief Jesse Stone must unravel the supply chain and unmask the criminals behind it. The investigation's epicenter is Paradise High School, a prime market for Boston dealers looking to expand into the suburbs. As he digs deeper into the case,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC COL

Hampton, Ryan

Summary: "Unsettled is the inside story of Purdue's excruciating Chapter 11 bankruptcy proceedings, the company's eventual restructuring, and the Sackler family's evasion of any true accountability. It's also the untold story of how a group of determined ordinarypeople tried to see justice done against the odds-and in the face of brutal opposition from powerful institutions and even government...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New Non-fiction, Call number: 338.7 HAM

Dean, Madeleine

Summary: "For the first time, a Congresswoman and her son reveal how he survived a ten-year battle with opioid abuse--and what their family's journey to recovery can teach us about finding hope amidst the unspeakable. When Madeleine Dean discovered that her son, Harry, was stealing from the family to feed a painkiller addiction, she was days away from taking the biggest risk of her life: running for...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Convergent 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 DEA

Back to Top