Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location
Audience

Child, Lee

Summary: Collects six short stories and three novellas featuring Jack Reacher, including "Too Much Time," in which Reacher witnesses a bag-snatching while in a small town in Maine, but there is more to the simple crime and it could prove fatal.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC CHI

Patterson, James

1 hold on 2 copies

Summary: "Enjoy three heart-racing thrillers from the New York Times bestselling master of suspense. 23 1/2 LIES: Lindsay Boxer's estranged father is gunned down execution-style, and her investigation uncovers life-altering truths. --

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Grand Central Publishing 2023

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

2 holds on 1 copy

Summary: Offers science fiction and fantasy stories from American authors, including Alix E. Harrow, Stephen Graham Jones, chosen by editor R. F. Kuang.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Mariner Books 2023

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: "Triumph. Tragedy. The empyreal. The infernal. Even the mundane, filtered through the fantastical. Superheroes are, appropriately enough, a sort of super-genre, encompassing all other story types. This YA anthology features 13 short stories that creatively turn superhero tropes on their head, while still paying homage to the genre that has found fans for more than eight decades. And there will...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Amulet Books 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: YA FIC GEN

Coelho, Joseph

Summary: UK Children's Laureate Joseph Coelho presents twenty tiny tales -- each one illustrated by a different artist, and each just ten words long -- in a book that's as much a work of art as an invitation to budding writers. Is it possible to spin a tale using just ten words? In this magnificent compendium, author and poet Joseph Coelho proves that it is -- with mini-stories of underwater worlds,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Candlewick Press 2023

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE COE

Gomera-Tavarez, Camille

Summary: A collection of interconnected short stories from the Dominican diaspora focuses on one extended family.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Levine Querido 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: YA FIC GOM

Hunt, Laird

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: "Candy Wilson has forgotten to buy the paprika. Turner Davis needs to get his zinnias in. Della Dorner told her mother she was going to the Galaxy Swirl, but that's not where she's really headed on her new Schwinn five-speed. Float Up, Sing Down is the story of a single day. But in that day, how much teeming life! The residents of this rural town have their routines, their preferences, their...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Bloomsbury Publishing 2024

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Kennedy, Sharon M.

Summary: "A compilation of short stories depicting the struggles and lives of contemporary adults in the unforgiving rural environment of Michigan's Upper Peninsula"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Modern History Press 2022

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Key, Justin C.

Summary: Justin C. Key has long been obsessed with monsters. Reading R.L. Stine's Goosebumps as a kid, he imagined himself battling monsters and mayhem to a triumphant end. But when watching Scream 2, in which the movie's only Black couple is promptly killed off, he realized that the Black and Brown characters in his favorite genre were almost always the victim or villain--if they were portrayed at all....

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperCollins Publishers 2023

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Murakami, Haruki

Summary: Contains seventeen short fiction stories by Haruki Murakami about people whose lives veer off the path of normalcy.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Vintage Books 1994

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Oliver, Diane

Summary: "A bold and haunting debut story collection that follows various characters as they navigate the day-to-day perils of Jim Crow racism from Diane Oliver, a missing figure in the canon of twentieth-century African American literature. A remarkable talent far ahead of her time, Diane Oliver died in 1966 at the age of twenty-two, leaving behind these crisply told and often chilling tales that...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Grove Press 2024

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Rubio, Marytza K.

Summary: "For fans of Kali Fajardo-Anstine and Lesley Nneka Arimah, a darkly funny and imaginative debut conjuring tales of Mexican American mystics and misfits. "The first witch of the waters was born in Destruction. The moon named her Maria." From former PEN America Emerging Voices Fellow Marytza K. Rubio comes Maria, Maria, an inimitable collection set across the tropics and megacities of the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Liveright Publishing Corporation, a division of W.W. Norton & Company 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC RUB

Rylant, Cynthia

Summary: Hornbeam the moose goes on a picnic with his best friend Eureka, sleeps over his friend Cuddy's house, and learns how to swim with Adorabelle.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Beach Lane Books 2023

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: JE RYL

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE RYL

Scarry, Richard

Summary: This fun-filled collection of stories, each of which can be read aloud in five minutes, is the ticket to Busytown, where kids will meet such friendly characters as Lowly Worm, Huckle Cat, Sergeant Murphy and others.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2022

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE SCA

Zeineddine, Ghassan

Summary: "Spanning several decades, Ghassan Zeineddine's debut collection examines the diverse range and complexities of the Arab American community in Dearborn, Michigan. In ten tragicomic stories, Zeineddine explores themes of identity, generational conflicts, war trauma, migration, sexuality, queerness, home and belonging, and more. In Dearborn, a father teaches his son how to cheat the IRS and hide...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Tin House 2023

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: Seven LEGO Batman Step into Reading leveled readers in one action-packed collection! Step 2 Readers feature engaging characters in easy-to-follow plots about popular topics for children who are ready to read with help.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2023

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: JBR GREEN LEG

Summary: The Best Horror of the Year showcases the previous year's best offerings in short horror fiction. This edition includes award-winning and critically acclaimed authors Andy Davidson, Tananarive Due, Gemma Files, Jeffrey Ford, John Langan, Livia Llewellyn, Angela Slatter, and others. For more than four decades, award-winning editor and anthologist Ellen Datlow has had her finger on the pulse of...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Night Shade Books 2023

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: An anthology of ten stories by young adult authors about surprising and unusual collections.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dutton Books 2023

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: "Dark Stars, edited by John F.D. Taff, is a tribute to horror's longstanding short fiction legacy, featuring 12 terrifying original stories from today's most noteworthy authors, with an introduction by bestselling author Josh Malerman and an afterword by Ramsey Campbell. Created as an homage to the 1980 classic horror anthology, Dark Forces, edited by Kirby McCauley, this collection contains 12...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Nightfire, a Tom Doherty Associates Book 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC DAR

Summary: Set within the highly charged confines of individual psychotherapy sessions, the series once again centers around Dr. Paul Weston, who recently divorced his wife Kate and moved from Maryland to a brownstone in Brooklyn, New York. Rebuilding his practice while wrestling with some of the demons he left behind, including a lawsuit filed by the father of Alex, a patient who died last year, Paul...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Television Series DVDs, Call number: DVD TV IN

Summary: Bob is a playboy who recklessly crashes his boat, necessitating the use of a resuscitator. While the equipment is used on Bob, a beloved physician dies of a heart atttack because the resuscitator was unavailable. To atone for this, Bob decides to become a doctor himself. He becomes involved with the doctor's widow, but an accident that causes her to go blind will shadow the rest of their lives.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: A collection of new and exclusive short stories inspired by, and in tribute to, Shirley Jackson. Chilling, human, poignant and strange, her stories have inspired a generation of writers and readers. This anthology, edited by legendary horror editor Ellen Datlow, will bring together today's leading horror writers to offer their own personal tribute to the work of Shirley Jackson.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Titan Books 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC WHE

Summary: "A groundbreaking and must-read young adult fiction anthology written by adoptees of all backgrounds, for adoptees, that inclusively represents diverse experiences of youth adoptees..."

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2023

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Barrett, Colin

Summary: "When Colin Barrett's debut Young Skins was published, it swept up several major literary awards, and, in both its linguistic originality and sharply drawn portraits of working-class Ireland, earned Barrett comparisons to Faulkner, Hardy, and Musil. Now, in a blistering follow-up collection, Barrett brings together eight character-driven stories, each showcasing his inimitably observant eye and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Grove Press 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC BAR

Back to Top