Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Thomas, Rachael L.

Summary: In this engaging biography, readers will learn about Nintendo innovator Hiroshi Yamauchi. Follow the story of Yamauchi as he takes over his family's playing card manufacturing company and transforms it into the video game powerhouse responsible for Donkey Kong, Super Mario Brothers, the Game Boy, and the WII.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Checkerboard Library, an imprint of ABDO Publishing 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 921 YAM

Summary: "Brought to life by director Daniel Junge, this is a tale of brilliant innovations, colossal failures and ego-driven rivalries akin to Steve Jobs versus Bill Gates. It is a 50-year-long, multi-generation epic featuring corporate coups, industrial espionage, secret burial grounds and the promise of unimaginable riches just one cartridge away. The only constant through the saga is this: just when...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC GAM

Rusch, Elizabeth

Summary: "Una historia real sobre un científico contemporáneo que salvó la capa de ozono y el planeta, evitando un desastre en el medioambiente. Mario Molina es un científico mexicoamericano y un héroe de nuestros días que ayudó a resolver la crisis de la capa de ozono de la década de 1980. Se crió en la Ciudad de México y desde niño sintió curiosidad por los mundos ocultos que estudiaba a través de un...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Charlesbridge 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile World Languages, Call number: J SPANISH 921 MOL

Harris, Blake J.

Summary: "In the tradition of The Accidental Billionaires and Moneyball, a behind-the-scenes business thriller about how the small, scrappy Sega, led by one unlikely visionary, took on the juggernaut Nintendo and changed the face of entertainment"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperCollins 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 338.761 HAR

Sheff, David.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 1993

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 794.8 SHE

Rodríguez, Patty

Summary: "Inspired by one of the oldest traditional games of chance, this book will introduce your little one to their first English and Spanish words"--Page 4 of cover.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little Libros 2014

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Foreign Language, Call number: JE ROD Board Book

Reynoso, Naibe

Summary: Brief biographies in rhyme of 11 notable Latinos.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Con Todo Press 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J SPANISH 920 REY

Levy, Janice.

Summary: Simple text and color illustrations present the historical background and contemporary celebration of the Cinco de Mayo holiday.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Albert Whitman 2007

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J468 LEV SPANISH

Mills, Deborah

Summary: Alfredo y su papá deben cruzar la frontera en un viaje difícil de México a los Estados Unidos. ¿Encontrarán el nuevo hogar que están buscando en el otro lado? Basándose en hechos reales, esta historia cobra vida gracias a la ilustradora Mexicana Claudia Navarro, y está repleta de notas al final del texto para iniciar conversaciones sobre inmigración.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Barefoot Books 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile World Languages, Call number: J SPANISH 325 MIL

Wilson, Seán Michael

Summary: "Tells the story of Minamata disease, a debilitating and sometimes fatal condition caused by the Chisso chemical factory's careless release of methylmercury into the waters of the coastal community of Minamata in southern Japan. First identified in 1956, it became a hot topic in Japan in the 1970s and 80s, growing into an iconic struggle between people versus corporations and government...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Stone Bridge Press 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: 615.9 WIL

Gerster, Michelle

Summary: "A poignant bilingual YA graphic memoir about a teenage girl's harrowing experience crossing the Mexico-US border. This compelling young adult graphic memoir tells the story of Gricelda, a fifteen-year-old Mexican girl who crosses the border into America with her mother and younger brother in search of a better life. Their treacherous journey is filled with both heartbreak and hope. Will...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Arsenal Pulp Press 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New YA Materials, Call number: YA WORLD SPANISH GER

Fatus, Sophie

Summary: "Follow a friendly family through their busy day. You'll find over 700 words in Spanish and English to learn and share!"--Page 4 of cover.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Barefoot Books 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile World Languages, Call number: J SPANISH 463 FAT

Engle, Margarita

Summary: "De niña, a Teresa Carreño le encantaba dejar que sus manos bailaran a lo largo de las hermosas teclas del piano. Si se sentía triste, la música le levantaba el ánimo y, cuando estaba feliz, el piano la ayudaba a compartir esa alegría. Pronto comenzó a escribir sus propias canciones y a tocar en grandes catedrales. Entonces, una revolución en Venezuela hizo que su familia tuviera que huir a...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Atheneum Books for Young Readers 2021

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Foreign Language, Call number: J468 SPANISH ENG

Gifford, Scott

Summary: Explains how in the language of mathematics, fractions, decimals and percents are three different ways of describing the same parts of things.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Tricycle Press 2007

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 513.26 GIF

Kalman, Bobbie.

Summary: By introducing young readers to the colors of foods also teaches about healthy eating, as eating fruits and vegetables in as many colors of the rainbow as possible every day helps people get all the important vitamins.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Crabtree Pub. 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile World Languages, Call number: J SPANISH 612.3 KAL

Falligant, Erin

Summary: Learn all about what Guinea Pigs need to be happy and playful pets. ¡Las mascotas! Las amamos y las cuidamos mucho. Aprende todo sobre qué necesitan los Cobayos para estar felices y ser mascotas juguetonas.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Cantata Learning 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile World Languages, Call number: JE SPANISH FAL

Tolstikova, Dasha

Summary: Depicts the author's life with her grandmother in Moscow while her mother goes to school in America, describing how she navigated her problems with friends and school and her surprise when she learned she would be joining her mother.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Groundwood Books, House of Anansi Press 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 921 TOL

Summary: Although mistreated by her stepmother and stepsisters, Cinderella meets her prince with the help of her fairy godmother.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ladybird Books 2012

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: SPANISH J468 TAY

Rodríguez, Patty

Summary: Inspired by one of the most recognized symbols of Dia De Muertos or Day of the Dead, a holiday that celebrates life and remembers the dearly departed, this book will introduce little ones to emotional expressions and their first English and Spanish words.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Lil Libros, LLC 2017

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Foreign Language, Call number: JE ROD Board Book

Barner, Bob.

Summary: With sugar skulls, sweet-smelling marigold petals and joyful songs, Hispanic families welcome back ancestors on this holiday.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Holiday House 2010

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: SPANISH 468 BAR

Carle, Eric

Summary: Early learners can match numbers to a group of everyday objects. = Los niños pequeños pueden emparejar números a un grupo de objetos de uso cotidiano.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2013

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: BRD

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Board Books, Call number: JE CAR

Brown, Monica

Summary: As a boy, Gabito had the ability to imagine many things. He lived in a small house with a large family. He would grow up to become a writer known as Gabriel García Márquez.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Luna Rising 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 921 GAR

Boynton, Sandra.

Summary: Book of opposite words.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster Libros para niños 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile World Languages, Call number: JE SPANISH BOY

Liker, Jeffrey K.

Summary: Describes the management principles of Lean production that are employed by Toyota.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: McGraw-Hill 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 658.5 LIK

Back to Top