Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Davis, Angela Y. (Angela Yvonne)

Summary: A powerful study of the women's liberation movement in the U.S., from abolitionist days to the present, that demonstrates how it has always been hampered by the racist and classist biases of its leaders. From the widely revered and legendary political activist and scholar Angela Davis.--Publisher website.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Vintage Books 1983

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 305.4 DAV

hooks, bell

Summary: Stitching together girlhood memories with the finest threads of innocence, feminist intellectual bell hooks presents a powerfully intimate account of growing up in the South. A memoir of ideas and perceptions, Bone Black shows the unfolding of female creativity and one strong-spirited child's journey toward becoming a writer. She learns early on the roles women and men play in society, as well...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Henry Holt and Co. 1996

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 HOOKS, BELL HOO

Bombino

Summary: In Bombino's electrifying jams one can hear echoes of fellow Africans Tinariwen and Ali Farka Toure, as well as rock and blues icons Jimi Hendrix, John Lee Hooker, and Jimmy Page.

Format: sound recording-musical

Publisher / Publication Date: Cumbancha Discovery 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Audio Disc, Call number: CD INTERNATIONAL/AFRICAN BOM

Summary: Something strange is happening in Never Land. All things magical are disappearing! Jake must go on the Forever Quest to get back the missing items. All three things must be brought to the top of Mount Destiny by sundown, where they will help bring forth the new Forever Tree. The one who saves the magic of Never Land will receive some of the magic of the new tree, making them the most powerful...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Walt Disney Studios Home Entertainment 2013

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Children's videos, Call number: JUV DVD Ja

Barry, Dave.

Summary: Soon after Peter, an orphan, sets sail from England on the ship Never Land, he befriends and assists Molly, a young Starcatcher, whose mission is to guard a trunk of magical stardust from a greedy pirate and the native inhabitants of a remote island.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Playaway Digital Audio 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Audiobooks, Call number: J PA FIC BAR

Bowman, R. V.

Summary: Stuck at an exclusive boarding school year round, Andromeda "Rommy" Cavendish counts down the days to her seafaring father's twice-yearly visits. Every year, she hopes this will be the summer her father takes her with him on his travels. But he always says she is too young, and it's too dangerous. But this summer is going to be different. As the newest and youngest member of her school's...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Rosanne Bowman 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FIC BOW

Thorpe, Kiki

Summary: A new arrival in Pixie Hollow is the first fairy with a fire talent.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Brezenoff, Steven

Summary: When Catwoman and Harley quarrel about who is the best burglar, they decide to settle it with a bet: who can steal the fabled Marble of Atlantis from the Gotham City Antiquities Gallery; but Catwoman cheats (in fact she already has the pearl), and Harley has to move fast to outwit her rival and win their bet.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Stone Arch Books, an imprint of Capstone 2022

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Bombino

Summary: Fans of Bombino and Tuareg music in general will notice a few remarkable innovations on this album. The first is the introduction of a new style that Bombino is pioneering that he affectionally refers to as 'Tuareggae'; a sunny blend of Tuareg blues-rock with reggae one-drop and bounce. Another is the first-ever use of Western vocal harmonies in recorded Tuareg music, which give the songs new...

Format: sound recording-musical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Audio Disc, Call number: CD INTERNATIONAL/AFRICAN BOM

Back to Top