Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location
Audience

Latham, Irene

Summary: This beautiful poetry collection introduces readers to the art of found poetry as the poet writes a 37-line poem, "Nest," then finds 160 smaller poems within it. What can you find in a poem about a robin's nest? Irene Latham masterfully discovers "nestlings" or smaller poems about an astonishing variety of subjects--emotions, wild animals, natural landmarks on all seven continents, even planets...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Wordsong, an imprint of Boyds Mills & Kane 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 811 LAT

Silverman, Erica

Summary: A unique and artful blend of poetry, science, and activism, this picture book shows how city dwellers can intervene so that nature can work her magic. Perfect for fans of The Curious Garden and Harlem Grown.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Clarion Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers 2024

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Lanham, J. Drew (Joseph Drew)

Summary: "...J. Drew Lanham explores his obsession with birds and all things wild in a mixture of poetry and prose."--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Hub City Press 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 811 LAN

Florian, Douglas

Summary: "Discover the poetry of our weather in these poems about everyday and once-in-a-lifetime natural phenomena"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Beach Lane Books 2024

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 811 FLO

Lanham, J. Drew (Joseph Drew)

Summary: "From J. Drew Lanham, MacArthur "Genius" Grant recipient and author of Sparrow Envy: A Field Guide to Birds and Lesser Beasts, comes a sensuous new collection in his signature mix of poetry and prose. In gorgeous and timely pieces, Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves is a lush journey into wildness and Black being. Lanham notices nature through seasonal shifts, societal unrest, and deeply...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Hub City Press 2024

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New Non-fiction, Call number: 811 LAN

Frost, Helen

Summary: When you are outside on a summer's day, have you ever seen fine powder on a flower or floating on the breeze? That's pollen, almost invisible, waiting for the only thing it needs -- a ride on the wind, or a wing, or a feather. And it's the pollinators, small and mighty, who hold the world together with their work.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Candlewick Press 2024

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE FRO

Hass, Robert

Summary: The first collection of new materials in ten years from the previous U.S. Poet Laureate. Hass's trademark careful attention to the natural world, his subtle humor, and the delicate but wide-ranging eye he casts on the human experience are on display in this collection, touching on topics of loss, beauty, and the mutability of desire.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 811 HAS

Summary: Part 1, The rise of the dog, examines the relationship between dogs and humans, from their initial domestication to the present day. Part 2, Dogs by design, examines the many different breeds of dogs, and how modern technology is changing the science of dog breeding.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Distributed by Questar 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in E-TV DVDs, Call number: DVD E-TV DOG

Reagan, Jean

Summary: "New hiking boots call for a hiking adventure! Pack your backpack with snacks, water, and a map, and join an uncle and his nephew as they head out for their trip, but this time, the kids lead the way!"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2023

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Beginning Readers - New Reader (Green), Call number: JBR GREEN REA

Yum, Hyewon

Summary: One rainy day, a little boy is upset because he can't go out and play. His mom comes up with a way to keep him entertained - by drawing a picture of herself and him going outside, playing in the rain, and splashing in a giant puddle. They have so much fun drawing themselves that they decide to venture out and make the most of the rainy weather. --

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE YUM

Peters, Lisa Westberg

Summary: "If you're a curious child and you get a new dog, you discover all kinds of things. Gravity has new meaning, when you're racing down a slide toward your eager-beaver dog waiting at the bottom (uh-oh!). Friction has a new meaning, when your slippery dog escapes from the bath (soap+fingers=not enough friction). But love has a new meaning too, when you and your cosmic dog become the center of your...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Wordsong, and imprint of Astra Books for Young Readers 2023

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 811 PET

Emezi, Akwaeke

Summary: "Collection of poems by Akwaeke Emezi"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Copper Canyon Press 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 821 EME

Hood, Susan

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: "An inspirational nonfiction novel-in-verse about Zhanna Arshanskaya, a young Ukrainian Jewish girl using the alias Anna, whose phenomenal piano-playing skills saved her life and the life of her sister, Frina, during the Holocaust-from award-winning author Susan Hood, with Zhanna's son, Greg Dawson"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2022

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.
chat loading...
Back to Top