Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location
Audience

Morales, Areli

Summary: "In the first picture book written by a DACA dreamer, Areli Morales tells her own powerful and vibrant immigration story of moving from a quiet town in Mexico to the bustling and noisy metropolis of New York City"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House Studio 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE MOR

Haidle, Elizabeth

Summary: Brings to life the childhood experiences of beloved artists and illustrators such as Wanda Gág, Maurice Sendak, and Jerry Pinkney. Stylish illustrations paired with small vignettes and anecdotes from the artists' early lives helps illuminate the hard work, triumphs, failures, and inspiration that helped forge their successful careers.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Etch, an imprint of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 920 HAI

Ogle, Rex

Summary: "This final, essential chapter in Rex Ogle's memoir trilogy recounts being forced from his home and living on the streets after his father discovered he was gay. When Rex was outed the summer after he graduated high school, his father gave him a choice: he could stay at home, find a girlfriend, and attend church twice a week, or he could be gay--and leave. Rex left, driving toward the only...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Norton Young Readers, an Imprint of W. W. Norton & Company 2024

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Atkins, Jeannine

Summary: A biographical novel in verse of seven girls from different time periods who used math to explore the mysteries of the universe and grew up to do innovate work that changed history.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Atheneum Books for Young Readers 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Bell, Cece

Summary: Starting a new school is scary, even more so with a giant hearing aid strapped to your chest. At her old school, everyone in Cece's class was deaf. Here she is different. She is sure the kids are staring at the Phonic Ear, the powerful aid that will help her hear her teacher. Too bad it also seems certain to repel potential friends. Then Cece makes a startling discovery. With the Phonic Ear she...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Amulet Books 2020

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Juvenile Graphic Novels, Call number: J 741.5 BEL

Manning, Peyton.

Summary: During a trip to visit both sets of grandparents in Mississippi, brothers Eli, Cooper, and Peyton, and their father, former NFL star Archie Manning, take advantage of every opportunity to play football, practice plays, or play sports trivia games.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scholastic Press 2009

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: JE MAN

Lassieur, Allison

3 holds on 1 copy

Summary: This encyclopedia offers readers the chance to explore the 63 national parks in the United States and its territories. Alongside photos of the parks, the text highlights each park's history, points of interest, and things to do. Features include glossary, additional resources, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Encyclopedias, an imprint of Abdo Reference 2023

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Rusch, Elizabeth

Summary: "Una historia real sobre un científico contemporáneo que salvó la capa de ozono y el planeta, evitando un desastre en el medioambiente. Mario Molina es un científico mexicoamericano y un héroe de nuestros días que ayudó a resolver la crisis de la capa de ozono de la década de 1980. Se crió en la Ciudad de México y desde niño sintió curiosidad por los mundos ocultos que estudiaba a través de un...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Charlesbridge 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile World Languages, Call number: J SPANISH 921 MOL

Myer, Sarah

Summary: "Sarah has always struggled to fit in. Born in South Korea and adopted at birth by a white couple, she grows up in a rural community with few Asian neighbors. People whisper in the supermarket. Classmates bully her. She has trouble containing her anger in these moments--but through it all, she has her art. She's always been a compulsive drawer, and when she discovers anime, her hobby becomes an...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: First Second 2023

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: YA 921 MYE

Kimura, Yukie

Summary: "When Yukie Kimura was eight years old, her family lived on a tiny island near the coast of northern Japan, where her father was a lighthouse keeper. Her days were filled with adventure and nature: collecting seagull eggs to bake cookies, finding fresh seafood on the shore, and digging for fossils in a cave. But it was also 1945, the final year of World War II. Then, during one sunny weekend,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Roaring Brook Press 2023

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Russo, Marisabina

Summary: "It's 1950s New York, and Marisabina Russo is being raised Catholic and attending a Catholic school that she loves--but when she finds out that she's Jewish by blood, and that her family members are Jewish survivors of the Holocaust, her childhood is thrown into turmoil. To make matters more complicated, her father is out of the picture, her mother is ambitious and demanding, and her older...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Mercado, Yehudi

Summary: "In Yehudi Mercado's full-color middle grade graphic memoir sequel to Chunky, Hudi and his imaginary friend, Chunky, head to Jewish summer camp, where the dynamic duo meet a new friend who can see Chunky, too, and get mixed up in a prank war. This series is perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jerry Craft. Hudi finally embraced his love of art and comedy, but his class clown antics keep...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Katherine Tegen Books, HarperAlley, imprints of HarperCollinsPublishers 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Graphic Novels, Call number: J 741.5 MER

Takei, George

Summary: "Star Trek actor, activist, and author George Takei shares his empowering and moving story about growing up in Japanese American incarceration camps during WWII"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Crown Books for Young Readers 2024

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Prince, Liz

Summary: Eschewing female stereotypes throughout her early years and failing to gain acceptance on the boys' baseball team, Liz learns to embrace her own views on gender as she comes of age, in an anecdotal graphic novel memoir.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Zest Books 2014

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Young Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: YA 741.5 PRI

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: YA 921 PRI

Wilson, Misty

Summary: "Debut author Misty Wilson chronicles her seventh-grade experience as the only girl on her town's football team in this empowering graphic memoir about teamwork, friendship, crushes, and touchdowns"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Balzer + Bray, Harper Alley, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 921 WIL

Castle, Jiordan

Summary: "Moving and evocative, this YA memoir-in-verse follows author Jiordan Castle's coming-of-age as her family reckons with the aftershocks of her father's imprisonment"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar Straus Giroux Books for Young Readers 2023

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Non-fiction, Call number: YA 921 CAS

North, Sterling

Summary: The author recalls his carefree life in a small midwestern town at the close of World War I, and his adventures with his pet raccoon, Rascal.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Recorded Books 1998

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Audiobooks, Call number: J CD NOR

Flack, Roberta

Summary: "Legendary singer Roberta Flack reflects on her early childhood and her love of music"--

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: [Library Ideas, LLC] 2024

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Harper, Charise Mericle

Summary: "Meet Charise. She's energetic, helpful, a model pet owner and full of inventions. But she's also a bad sister. When she goes too far and breaks little brother Daniel's tooth, can she redeem herself? Is an accident really an accident if you could have stopped it? But most importantly... What does it mean to be a good sister?"--Back cover.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: First Second 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Graphic Novels, Call number: J 741.5 HAR

Fawkes, Glynnis

Summary: "A graphic novel biography of Charlotte Brontë, following her and her siblings from childhood to the publication of Jane Eyre"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Disney - Hyperion 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Graphic Novels, Call number: J 741.5 FAW

Brown, Monica

Summary: A powerful and accesible bilingual picture book that highlights "the power and impact of ordinary but dedicated citizens." Every day, thousands of farmworkers harvested the food that ended up on kitchen tables all over the country. But at the end of the day, when the workers sat down to eat, there were only beans on their own tables. Then Dolores Huerta and Cesar Chavez teamed up. Together they...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: [Library Ideas, LLC] 2021

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Juvenile Audiobooks, Call number: J READ-ALONG BRO

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Audiobooks, Call number: J READ-ALONG BRO

Sabic-El-Rayess, Amra

Summary: "A middle-grade nonfiction story of five young cousins who grow closer than sisters as ethnic tensions escalate over three summers in 1980s Bosnia"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar Straus Giroux 2024

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 921 SAB

Robeson, Teresa

Summary: "Follow the 14th Dalai Lama's harrowing escape to India in 1959, as he fled Chinese suppression of a national uprising in Tibet. A story of risk and political tension, this graphic novel invites readers to immerse themselves in the incredible story of the Tibetan spiritual and political leader--brought to life by gripping narrative and vivid full-color illustrations that jump off the page"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Workshop 2023

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New Non-fiction, Call number: J 921 DAL

Page, Tyler

Summary: "Tyler's brain is different. Unlike his friends, he has a hard time paying attention in class. He acts out in goofy, over-the-top ways. Sometimes, he even does dangerous things--like cut up a bus seat with a pocketknife or hang out of an attic window. To the adults in his life, Tyler seems like a troublemaker. But he knows that he's not. Tyler is curious and creative. He's the best artist in...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: First Second 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 921 PAG

chat loading...
Back to Top