Register for Summer Reading Club
Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

McPherson, Catriona

Summary: ""Agatha Christie meets Upstairs Downstairs. [For] fans of Phryne Fisher and Maisie Dobbs." --Publishers Weekly A mystery writer perfect for fans of Upstairs Downstairs, Downton Abbey, and Gosford Park, Catriona McPherson has charmed readers everywhere with her fun and clever series set in 1920s Scotland. In this new adventure, witty, aristocratic sleuth Dandy Gilver travels to an all-girls...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St Martins Pr 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCP

McPherson, Catriona

Summary: The body found in a muddy grave across the street is just the latest horror threatening to tear Ali McGovern's life apart seam by seam. She knows Angelo, her brooding teenage son, is keeping secrets. She fears he's in danger, too. But her new job at the psychiatric hospital, the job her husband pushed her into, is using up everything she's got every day. She can try to ignore the sounds that...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Midnight Inc 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCP

McPherson, Catriona

Summary: "It's the breezy Scottish summer of 1936 and aristocratic sleuth Dandy Gilver, along with trusted colleague Alec Osborne, has been called to solve the strange case of the Cramond Ferrywoman, on the Firth of Forth. From their cheerless digs in a local stately home, Dandy and Alec track Vesper Kemp, the ferrywoman, to a tiny tidal island. She seems to have lost her mind, roaming the beaches in...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Hodder & Stoughton 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCP

McPherson, Catriona

Summary: Receiving a letter from a woman who fears that her husband is planning to kill her, Dandy Gilver goes undercover as a maid and uses her aristocratic connections and prowess to discern the truth.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Minotaur Books 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCP

McPherson, Catriona

Summary: Jessie Constable has learned the hard way to always keep herself safe. But meeting Gus King changes everything. Before she knows it, Jessie is sleeping at Gus's house, babysitting his kids, becoming a part of his family. And yet, she can't ignore the unsettling questions. Who does she keep seeing from the corner of her eye? Why are strange men threatening her? Most importantly, what really...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Midnight Ink 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCP

McPherson, Catriona

Summary: Wedding bells are set to ring as Dandy Gilver, family in tow, arrives in windswept Wester Ross on Valentine's Day. They've come to celebrate Lady Lavinia's fiftieth birthday and to meet her daughter Mallory, a less-than-suitable bride-to-be for Dandy's son Donald. But soon love is the last thing on Dandy's mind when the news breaks that Lady Lavinia has been found dead, brutally murdered in the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Hodder & Stoughton General Division 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCP

McPherson, Catriona

Summary: When she was twelve years old, Opal Jones escaped her mother's endless drinking. Now, returning to their small Leeds cottage after her mum's death, Opal feels like she's gone back in time. Nosey Mrs. Pickess is still polishing her windows to a sparkle. Fishbo, Opal's ancient music teacher, still plays trumpet with his band. And much to Opal's delight, her favorite neighbor, Margaret Reid, still...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Midnight Ink 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCP

McPherson, Catriona

Summary: "Eden was its name. "An alternative school for happy children." But it closed in disgrace after a student's suicide. Now it's a care home, its grounds neglected and overgrown. Gloria Harkness is its only neighbor, staying close to her son who lives there in the home, lighting up her life and breaking her heart each day. When a childhood friend turns up at her door, Gloria doesn't hesitate...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Midnight Ink 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCP

McPherson, Catriona

Summary: For Keiko Nishisato, leaving Tokyo is a rare adventure, but it's living in the quiet little town of Painchton, Scotland, that shows her how far she is from home. For such a settled place, a lot of young women seem to leave. But the more Keiko discovers the less she believes, until she can't tell where her fears end and the real nightmares begin.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCP

McPherson, Catriona

Summary: Donna Weaver has put everything into The Breakers, a Bed and Breakfast that she and her mother are opening on a remote stretch of beach. Now it waits--freshly painted, richly furnished, filled with flowers. But as the guests arrive, they feel like they've been here before. Amid home-baked scones, gorgeous guest rooms, and lavish dinners fit for a king, the feeling of menace grows. Someone has...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Minotaur Books 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCP

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: M MCP

McPherson, Catriona

Summary: "Dandy is caught between two feuding families who run rival department stores. Dandy's services are needed when the heiress to one of the stores goes missing. As Dandy starts to unravel the long-hidden family secrets, she begins to discover disturbing connections and it's not long before danger abounds."--Dust jacket.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Minotaur Books 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCP

McPherson, Catriona

Summary: "It’s the oldest bookshop in a town full of bookshops; rambling and disordered, full of treasures if you look hard. Jude found one of the treasures when she visited last summer, the high point of a miserable vacation. Now, in the depths of winter, when she has to run away, Lowell’s chaotic bookshop in that backwater of a town is the safe place she runs to. Jude needs a bolt-hole; Lowell needs...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Midnight Ink 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCP

McPherson, Catriona

Summary: "On the rain-drenched, wave-lashed, wind-battered Banffshire coast, tiny fishing villages perch on ledges that would make a seagull think twice, and crumbly mansions cling to crumblier cliff tops while, out in the bay, the herring drifters brave the storms to catch their silver darlings. It's nowhere for a child of gentle Northamptonshire to spend Christmas. But when odd things start to turn up...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Minotaur Books 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCP

McPherson, Catriona

Summary: "From Catriona McPherson, Agatha Award-winning author of Quiet Neighbors, comes Strangers at the Gate: a twisty, fascinating mystery that asks the question: who do you turn to when everyone's a stranger and you've stopped believing your own eyes? Finnie Doyle and Paddy Lamb are leaving city life in Edinburgh behind them and moving to the little town of Simmerton. Paddy's been made partner at...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Minotaur Books 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCP

Summary: In this follow-up to the acclaimed In the Company of Sherlock Holmes, expert Sherlockians Laurie King and Les Klinger put forth the question: What happens when great writers/creators who are not known as Sherlock Holmes devotees admit to being inspired by Conan Doyle stories? While some are highly-regarded mystery writers, others are best known for their work in the fields of fantasy or science...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pegasus Books 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC ECH

Back to Top