Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

McLain, Paula

Summary: "Paula McLain, author of the phenomenal bestseller The Paris Wife, now returns with her keenly anticipated new novel, transporting readers to colonial Kenya in the 1920s. Circling the Sun brings to life a fearless and captivating woman--Beryl Markham, a record-setting aviator caught up in a passionate love triangle with safari hunter Denys Finch Hatton and Karen Blixen, author of the classic...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House Large Print 2015

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC MCL

McLain, Paula.

Summary: In this fictional memoir, Hadley Hemingway chronicles the life and career of her husband, famed twentieth century writer Ernest Hemingway. Through Hadley's unique perspective, listeners get a behind-the-scenes look into the personal lives of the Lost Generation writers, including Scott Fitzgerald, Gertrude Stein, and Ezra Pound.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House, Inc. 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC MCL

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC MCL

McLain, Paula

1 hold on 11 copies

Summary: "From the New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Wife comes an atmospheric novel of intertwined fate and heart-wrenching suspense: A detective hiding away from the world. A series of disappearances that reach into her past. Can solving them help her heal? Anna Hart is a seasoned missing persons detective in San Francisco with far too much knowledge of the darkest side of human nature....

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ballantine Books, an imprint of Random House, a division of Penguin Random House LLC 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

McLain, Paula.

1 hold on 6 copies

Summary: "Paula McLain, author of the phenomenal bestseller The Paris Wife, now returns with her keenly anticipated new novel, transporting readers to colonial Kenya in the 1920s. Circling the Sun brings to life a fearless and captivating woman--Beryl Markham, a record-setting aviator caught up in a passionate love triangle with safari hunter Denys Finch Hatton and Karen Blixen, author of the classic...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ballantine Books 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCL

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCL

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCL

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC MCL

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: FICTION MCL

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction McLain 2015

McLain, Paula

Summary: "Anna Hart is a seasoned missing persons detective in San Francisco with far too much knowledge of the darkest side of human nature. When tragedy strikes her personal life, Anna, desperate and numb, flees to the Northern California village of Mendocino to grieve. She lived there as a child with her beloved foster parents, and now she believes it might be the only place left for her. Yet the day...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Playaway, Call number: PA FIC MCC

McLain, Paula.

Summary: Portrays the love affair and marriage between Ernest Hemingway and Hadley Mowrer from their Chicago meeting in 1920 to their lives during the Jazz Age in Paris, but as Ernest struggles to find his literary voice, Hadley tries to define herrole in their relationship as wife, friend, and muse.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Playaway Digital Audio 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Playaway, Call number: PA FIC MCL

McLain, Paula.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Books on Tape 2011

View online at OverDrive

McLain, Paula

Summary: In the tradition of Jo Ann Beard's Boys of My Youth, and Mary Karr'sThe Liar's Club, Paula McLain has written a powerful and haunting memoir about the years she and her two sisters spent as foster children. In the early 70s, after being abandoned by both parents, the girls were made wards of the Fresno County, California court and spent the next 14 years-in a series of adoptive homes. The...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Back Bay Books 2013

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult- Biography, Call number: 921 McLain 2003

McLain, Paula

Summary: After meeting and falling in love while she covered the Spanish Civil War in Madrid, Martha Gellhorn is forced to choose between her marriage to Ernest Hemingway and her career as a war correspondent.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House Audio 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC MCL

McLain, Paula

Summary: "In 1937, twenty-eight-year-old Martha Gellhorn travels alone to Madrid to report on the atrocities of the Spanish Civil War and becomes drawn to the stories of ordinary people caught in the devastating conflict. It's the adventure she's been looking for and her chance to prove herself a worthy journalist in a field dominated by men. But she also finds herself unexpectedly--and...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Findaway World, LLC 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Playaway, Call number: PA FIC MCL

McLain, Paula.

1 hold on 5 copies

Summary: Meeting through mutual friends in Chicago, Hadley is intrigued by brash "beautiful boy" Ernest Hemingway, and after a brief courtship and small wedding, they take off for Paris, where Hadley makes a convincing transformation from an overprotected child to a game and brave young woman who puts up with impoverished living conditions and shattering loneliness to prop up her husband's career.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ballantine Books 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCL

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCL

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC MCL

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction McLain 2011

McLain, Paula

Summary: "In 1937, twenty-eight-year-old Martha Gellhorn travels alone to Madrid to report on the atrocities of the Spanish Civil War and becomes drawn to the stories of ordinary people caught in the devastating conflict. It's the adventure she's been looking for and her chance to prove herself a worthy journalist in a field dominated by men. But she also finds herself unexpectedly--and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCL

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC MCL

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCL

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCL

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: FICTION MCL

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction McLain 2018

McLain, Paula

3 holds on 1 copy

Summary: From the New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Wife comes an atmospheric novel of intertwined fate and heart-wrenching suspense: A detective hiding away from the world. A series of disappearances that reach into her past. Can solving them help her heal? Anna Hart is a seasoned missing persons detective in San Francisco with far too much knowledge of the darkest side of human nature....

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House Large Print 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

McLain, Paula.

Summary: "Brought to Kenya from England as a child and then abandoned by her mother, Beryl is raised by both her father and the native Kipsigis tribe who share his estate. Her unconventional upbringing transforms Beryl into a bold young woman with a fierce love of all things wild and an inherent understanding of nature's delicate balance. But even the wild child must grow up, and when everything Beryl...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Books on Tape 2015

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD Fiction McLain 2015

McLain, Paula.

Summary: Meeting through mutual friends in Chicago, Hadley is intrigued by brash "beautiful boy" Ernest Hemingway, and after a brief courtship and small wedding, they take off for Paris, where Hadley makes a convincing transformation from an overprotected child to a game and brave young woman who puts up with impoverished living conditions and shattering loneliness to prop up her husband's career.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House Publishing Group 2011

View online at OverDrive

McLain, Paula.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: New Issues, Western Michigan University 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 811.54 MCL

McLain, Paula.

3 holds on 1 copy

Summary: Anna Hart is a seasoned missing persons detective in San Francisco with far too much knowledge of the darkest side of human nature. When overwhelming tragedy strikes her personal life, Anna, desperate and numb, flees to the Northern California village of Mendocino to grieve. She lived there as a child with her beloved foster parents, and now she believes it might be the only place left for her....

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House Audio 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.
Back to Top