Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Morris, Heather

Summary: This novel is based on the true story of Lale and Gita Sokolov, Slovakian Jews who survived Auschwitz. Lale was given the job of tattooing the prisoners and used the job's freedom of movement to trade items taken from murdered Jews for food to keep others alive.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Morris, Heather

Summary: "In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz-Birkenau. When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a Tätowierer (the German word for tattooist), tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners. Imprisoned for more than two and a half years, Lale witnesses horrific atrocities and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperLuxe, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers 2018

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Morris, Heather

Summary: "In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz-Birkenau. When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a T©Þtowierer (the German word for tattooist), tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners. Imprisoned for more than two and a half years, Lale witnesses horrific atrocities and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Book Club Kit, Call number: BOOK CLUB KIT FIC MOR

Morris, Heather

Summary: For fans of Schindler's List; The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz; and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas; comes a heart breaking story of the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances. He tattooed a number on her arm. She tattooed her name on his heart.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Playaway, Call number: PA FIC MOR

Morris, Heather

2 holds on 5 copies

Summary: "In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz-Birkenau. When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a Tätowierer (the German word for tattooist), tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners. Imprisoned for more than two and a half years, Lale witnesses horrific atrocities and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2018

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MOR

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MOR

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC MOR

Ruby, Laura

Summary: It was only a few days ago that Tess Biedermann, Theo Biedermann, and Jaime Cruz, along with a mysterious figure from the past, managed to survive an assault on the location of the latest clue in the Morningstarr cipher -- and, in the process, made a shocking discovery about their own connection to this one-hundred-sixty-year-old enigma. Now the friends are divided. Tess and Theo have no idea...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Walden Pond Press, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FIC RUB

Polacco, Patricia.

Summary: A single china cup from a tea set left behind when Jews were forced to leave Russia helps hold a family together through generations of living in America, reminding them of the most important things in life.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers 2013

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE Fiction Polacco 2013

Kimmel, Eric A.

Summary: On the first night of Hanukkah, Old Bear wanders into Bubba Brayna's house and receives a delicious helping of potato latkes when she mistakes him for the rabbi. Includes a recipe for latkes.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2013

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: JE KIM

Pasternack, Sofiya

Summary: Thirteen-year-old Anya sets out to find her missing father but instead travels to Kiev, where she meets the tsar, dines with a rabbi, and rescues two brothers from a dangerous monster lurking beneath the city.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Recorded Books 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Audiobooks, Call number: J CD PAS

Simpson, Martha Seif

Summary: The most beautiful dreidel a shopkeeper has ever seen will not spin for the two children who insist they must own it, but perhaps it would spin for a child with the true spirit of Hanukkah in his heart.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Wisdom Tales 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE SIM

Graudin, Ryan

Summary: In this alternate version of the 1950s, after the Axis powers win World War II, Yael, a Jewish skinshifter, fails in her mission to kill Hitler and finds herself being hunted while trying to finish what she started.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Company 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: YA FIC GRA

Correa, Armando Lucas

Summary: Una novela inolvidable ambientada en el Berlín de la primavera de 1939, la Cuba pre- y postrevolucionaria y el Nueva York después del 11 de septiembre. Antes de que todo se desmoronara, Hannah Rosenthal y sus padres tenían una vida encantadora. Su familia, una de las más distinguidas en los altos círculos sociales berlineses, era admirada por amigos y vecinos. Ahora en 1939, Berlín se ha teñido...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Atria Español 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 468.4 FIC COR

Silverman, Erica.

Summary: Rhymed text and illustrations follow a family's activities as they prepare to celebrate Hanukkah.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers 2011

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: JE SIL

Correa, Armando Lucas

Summary: Before everything changed, young Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now, in 1939, the streets of Berlin are draped with red, white, and black flags; her family's fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places that once felt like home. Hannah and her best friend, Leo Martin, make a pact: whatever the future has in store for them, they'll meet it together....

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Atria Books 2016

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC COR

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC COR

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC COR

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION COR

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Correa 2016

Sullivan, Mark T.

Summary: "Based on a true story, Pino Lella is forced to enlist as a German soldier and recruited to become the personal driver for Hitler's left hand in Italy. With the opportunity to spy for the Allies inside the German High Command, Pino endures the horrors of the war and the Nazi occupation by fighting in secret"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Center Point Large Print 2018

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: Fiction Sulllivan 2018

Hesse, Monica

Summary: In 1943 Nazi-occupied Amsterdam, teenage Hanneke--a 'finder' of black market goods--is tasked with finding a Jewish girl a customer had been hiding, who has seemingly vanished into thin air, and is pulled into a web of resistance activities and secrets as she attempts to solve the mystery and save the missing girl.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Blackstone Audio, Inc. 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC HES

Gordon, Cambria

Summary: Isabel Perez is a sixteen-year-old who dreams of writing poetry, love, and being with the young nobleman Diego Altamirano; but in Trujillo, Spain in 1481 such a love is forbidden by the boy's family because Isabel's families are conversos, new Christians,but in the privacy of their home they still practice Judaism--a secret that could destroy them all when the Inquisition reaches Trujillo and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scholastic Press 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: YA FIC GOR

Koons, Jon.

Summary: The villagers of Chelm, in the rabbi's absence, send a messenger to a nearby village in order to be reminded how to prepare for the coming Hanukkah.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dutton Children's Books 2004

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE FIC KOO

Cerrito, Angela

Summary: A nine-year-old Jewish girl, helped by Irena Sendler and the Zegota organization, is smuggled out of the Warsaw ghetto, given a new identity, and sent to live in the countryside for the duration of the World War II.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Holiday House 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FIC CER

Tarshis, Lauren

Summary: A young Jewish boy escapes the ghetto and finds a group of resistance fighters in the forests of Poland, and he must determine if he has what it takes to survive the Nazis and fight back.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Findaway World, LLC 2016

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Glaser, Linda.

Summary: When Rachel makes latkes with her friend Mrs. Greenberg, the project turns out to be a very messy one.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scholastic. 2008

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: JE GLA BASKET

Safier, David

Summary: In Warsaw, Poland, in 1942, Mira faces impossible decisions after learning that the Warsaw ghetto is to be "liquidated," but a group of young people are planning an uprising against their Nazi captors.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Feiwel and Friends 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: YA FIC SAF

Ross, Susan L

Summary: "More than six decades after the end of World War II, twelve-year-old Charlie, a budding musician, searches for clues about her violin-prodigy namesake's fate"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Holiday House 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FIC ROS

Watts, Irene N

Summary: Young Marianne escapes Nazi Germany to the safety of Britain, but she does not speak English, she is not welcome in her sponsors' home, and she misses her mother terribly, which all add up to a difficult struggle to survive.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Tradewind Books 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Graphic Novels, Call number: J 741.5 WAT

Back to Top