Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Finck, Liana

Summary: "Passing for Human is what Finck calls 'a neurological coming-of-age story,' one in which, through her childhood, human connection proved elusive and her most enduring relationships were with plants and rocks and imaginary friends; in which her mother was an artist whose creative life had been stifled by an unhappy first marriage and a deeply sexist society that seemed expressly designed to...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2018

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Silverman, Sue William.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult, Call number: 921 SILVERMAN, SUE WILLIAM SIL

Sciolino, Elaine

Summary: "Part memoir, part travelogue, part love letter to the people who live and work on a magical street in Paris. Elaine Sciolino, the former Paris bureau chief for the New York Times, invites us on a tour of her favorite Parisian street, offering an homage to street life and the pleasures of Parisian living. 'I can never be sad on the rue des Martyrs,' Sciolino explains, as she celebrates the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: W.W. Norton & Company, Inc. 2016

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: 944 SCI

Foroutan, Parnaz

Summary: For all his wealth and success, Asher Malacouti -- the head of a prosperous Jewish family living in the Iranian town of Kermanshah -- cannot have the one thing he desires above all: a male son. His young wife Rakhel, trapped in an oppressive marriage at a time when a woman's worth is measured by her fertility, is made desperate by her failure to conceive, and grows jealous and vindictive.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC FOR

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC FOR

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: FICTION FOR

Benedict, Marie

10 holds on 4 copies

Summary: Hedy Kiesler is lucky. Her beauty leads to a starring role in a controversial film and marriage to a powerful Austrian arms dealer, allowing her to evade Nazi persecution despite her Jewish heritage. But Hedy is also intelligent. At lavish Vienna dinner parties, she overhears the Third Reich's plans. One night in 1937, desperate to escape her controlling husband and the rise of the Nazis, she...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Sourcebooks Landmark 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Kurzweil, Amy

Summary: "Flying couch tells the stories of three unforgettable women. Amy Kurzweil weaves her own coming-of-age as a young Jewish artist into the narrative of her mother, a psychologist, and Bubbe, her grandmother, a World War II survivor who escaped from the Warsaw Ghetto by disguising herself as a gentile. The voices and histories of these wise, hilarious, and very different women create a portrait...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Catapult/Black Balloon 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 741.5 KUR

Jenoff, Pam

Summary: Becoming a spy for the resistance after the Nazi's invade Poland, Emma Bau, taking on a new identity as a gentile, becomes a high-ranking Nazi official's assistant and, leading a double life, compromises her marriage vows, her safety, and the lives of those she loves for the cause.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Mira Books 2016

Copies Available at Fife Lake

2 available in Adult, Call number: FIC JEN

Shapiro, Dani

2 holds on 3 copies

Summary: "In the spring of 2016, through a genealogy website to which she had whimsically submitted her DNA, Dani Shapiro received the astonishing news that her beloved deceased father was not her biological father. Over the course of a single day, her entire history--the life she had lived--crumbled beneath her. In just a few hours of Internet sleuthing, she was able to piece together the story of her...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: Jewish Brooklyn widow Bertha Jacoby and Japanese businessman Koichi Asano develop an unlikely relationship when they meet in Tokyo.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Warner Home Video 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Comedy DVDs, Call number: DVD COMEDY MAJ

Rosen, Renée

Summary: "The bestselling author of White Collar Girl and What the Lady Wants explores one woman's journey of self-discovery set against the backdrop of a musical and social revolution. In the middle of the twentieth century, the music of the Mississippi Delta arrived in Chicago, drawing the attention of entrepreneurs like the Chess brothers. Their label, Chess Records, helped shape that music into the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Berkley 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC ROS

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: An accident during a bar mitzvah celebration leads to a gender rift in a devout Orthodox community in Jerusalem, in this rousing, good-hearted tale about women speaking truth to patriarchal power.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Menemsha Films 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Foreign DVDs, Call number: DVD FOREIGN WOM

Solomons, Natasha.

Summary: " A stunning new novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The House at Tyneford London, 1958. It's the eve of the sexual revolution, but in Juliet Montague's conservative Jewish community where only men can divorce women, shefinds herself a living widow, invisible. Ever since her husband disappeared seven years ago, Juliet has been a hardworking single mother of two and unnaturally...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC SOL

Summary: The story of the surviving members of the Viennese Hakoah sports club women's swim team, a world-dominating competitor in the 1930s. The club was eventually shut down during Hitler's reign, though all the women managed to escape capture. Combines historical footage and contemporary interviews to reconnect the women's lives and memories.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Kino on Video 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC WAT

Dickson, Athol

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Tyndale House Publishers 2002

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC DIC

Margolis, Sue.

Summary: Tallulah's grandmother, Nana Ida, wants her granddaughter to have a big Jewish wedding although Tallulah and her fiancé would prefer a small wedding. After months of planning the groom doesn't show up. So Nana Ida gets busy with matchmaking and Tallulah discovers that happiness doesn't always come in the form of the perfect doctor and that real love doesn't require a catered affair.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: New American Library 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MAR

Zarin, Jill.

Summary: A Jewish mother and her two daughters, including a radio host and one of the stars of "The Real Housewives of New York City," reveal their secrets to life, love, and happiness.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dutton 2010

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: 306.874 ZAR

Plain, Belva.

Summary: Though Iris Stern considers herself a modern woman, with a successful academic career and a happy marriage, she still holds steadfast to her old-fashioned sensibilities. But as the mother of three adult children, each with their own lives and burdens to bear, she often finds those sensibilities called into question when confronted with the choices her children have made.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Books on Tape 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC PLA

Plain, Belva.

Summary: Though Iris Stern considers herself a modern woman, with a successful academic career and a happy marriage, she still holds steadfast to her old-fashioned sensibilities. But as the mother of three adult children, each with their own lives and burdens to bear, she often finds those sensibilities called into question when confronted with the choices her children have made.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House Large Print 2011

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP Fiction Plain 2011

SHALIT, WENDY

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Free Press 1999

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult, Call number: 306.7082 SHA

Plain, Belva.

Summary: Though Iris Stern considers herself a modern woman, with a successful academic career and a happy marriage, she still holds steadfast to her old-fashioned sensibilities. But as the mother of three adult children, each with their own lives and burdens to bear, she often finds those sensibilities called into question when confronted with the choices her children have made.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Delacorte Press 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC PLA

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC PLA

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: FICTION PLA

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Plain 2011

Weisman, Jamie

Summary: "For readers of Maggie Shipstead and Maria Semple, a tender and funny debut that tells the story of an interfaith wedding in Atlanta -- from the perspectives of its (adoring, envious, resentful, hilarious) guests...One afternoon in Atlanta, Georgia. Two people heading to the altar. One hundred fifty guests. The bride, Elizabeth Gottlieb, proud graduate of the University of Virginia and of Emory...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2018

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Glaser, Sherry.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 1997

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult, Call number: 812.54 GLA

Summary: "As a teenager, filmmaker Pearl Gluck left her [Hasidic] Jewish community in Brooklyn for secular life in Manhattan. Many years later, Pearl's father has one wish: that she marry and return to the community . Pearl, however, takes a more creative approach to mend the breach. She travels to Hungary to retrieve a turn-of-the-century family heirloom: a couch upon which esteemed rabbis once slept....

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Zeitgeist Films 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC DIV

Anders, Gigi.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Rayo 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult, Call number: 973 ANDERS, GIGI AND