Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Cohen, Tziporah

Summary: Buying and moving into the run-down Jewel Motor Inn in upstate New York wasn't eleven-year-old Miriam Brockman's dream, but at least it's an adventure. Miriam befriends Kate, whose grandmother owns the diner next door, and finds comfort in the company of Maria, the motel's housekeeper, and her Uncle Mordy, who comes to help out for the summer. She spends her free time helping Kate's grandmother...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Recorded Books 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Audiobooks, Call number: J CD COH

Horn, Dara

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Norton 2002

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC HOR

Gregory, Philippa.

1 hold on 4 copies

Summary: A young woman caught in the rivalry between Queen Mary and her half sister, Elizabeth, must find her true destiny amid treason, poisonous rivalries, loss of faith, and unrequited love. It is winter, 1553. Pursued by the Inquisition, Hannah Green, a fourteen-year-old Jewish girl, is forced to flee Spain with her father. But Hannah is no ordinary refugee. Her gift of "Sight," the ability to...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC GRE

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC GRE

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Gregory 2004

Fletcher, Martin

Summary: "As World War II winds to a close, Europe's roads are clogged with twenty million exhausted refugees walking home. Among them are Jacob and Sarah, lonely Holocaust survivors who meet in Heidelberg. But Jacob is consumed with hatred and cannot rest until he has killed his brother's murderer, a concentration camp guard nicknamed "The Rat." Now he must choose between revenge and love, between...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St Martins Pr 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC FLE

Lavigne, Michael.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC LAV

Carter, Betsy

Summary: "For readers of The Nightingale and, an exquisitely moving novel about friendship, love, and redemption in a circle of immigrants who flee Europe for 1930s-era New York City. On the eve of World War II Egon Schneider--a gallant and successful Jewish doctor, son of two world-famous naturalists--escapes Germany to an uncertain future across the sea. Settling into the unfamiliar rhythms of upper...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Grand Central Publishing 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC CAR

Murphy, Louise

Summary: A retelling of the classic fairy tale, set in Nazi-occupied Poland, follows two Jewish children, left by their father and stepmother to seek refuge in a dense forest, as they wander the woods until being taken in by Magda, an eccentric old woman.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Books 2003

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MUR

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: FICTION Murphy

Mitchell, Judith Claire

Summary: "In the vein of such classic family sagas as Fall on Your Knees, A Reunion of Ghosts is the confessional of three sisters who have decided to kill themselves on the very last day of the 20th century; in it they tell the story of a family haunted by suicide ever since the sisters' great-grandfather, a Nobel Prize-winning chemist, developed the first poison gas used in warfare and also the lethal...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MIT

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Mitchell 2015

Masad, Ilana

2 holds on 1 copy

Summary: "Intimacy has always eluded twenty-seven-year-old Maggie Krause - despite being brought up by married parents, models of domestic bliss - until, that is, Lucia came into her life. But when Maggie's mom, Iris, dies in a car crash, Maggie returns home only to discover a withdrawn dad, an angry brother, and, along with Iris's will, five sealed envelopes, each addressed to a mysterious man she's...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dutton 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MAS

Dweck, Nicole.

Summary: "Four hundred years before Oskar Schindler there was Suleiman the Magnificent, an Ottoman sultan who rescued thousands of Jews from the Inquisition. Inspired by this amazing moment in history, Nicole Dweck has imagined an enchanting family saga in the tradition of Anita Diamant's The Red Tent and Nomi Eve's The Family Orchard. In 1544, as Inquisition fires rage in Portugal, young José Mendez...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thomas Dunne Books 2015

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Ball, Bethany

Summary: "From a remarkable new voice in fiction, Bethany Ball, comes a transporting debut; a hilarious multigenerational family saga set in Israel, New York, and Los Angeles that explores the secrets and gossip-filled lives of a kibbutz community near Jerusalem. Meet Marc Solomon, an Israeli ex-Navy commando now living in L.A., who is falsely accused of money laundering through his asset management...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Atlantic Monthly Press 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC BAL

Ozick, Cynthia.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: RB Large Print Print 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC OZI

Jacobson, Howard.

Summary: Life should have been sunny for Max Glickman, growing up in peacetime, with his mother's glamorous card evenings to look forward to, and photographs of his father's favorite boxers on the walls. But other voices whisper to him of Buchenwald, extermination, and the impossibility of forgetting. Fixated on the crimes which have been committed against his people, but unable to live among them, Max...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: W.F. Howes 2006

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC JAC

Bank, Melissa.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC BAN

Isaacs, Susan

Summary: Tycoon Gloria Garrison, née Goldberg, has a kingdom to bequeath to one of the grandchildren she barely knows. They're all twenty-somethings who foolishly believe money isn't everything. Just shy of eighty, Gloria doesn't wish to watch the minutes tick by while the three dither over the issues of their generation, love, meaning, identity. She has summoned them all from New York for a weekend at...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Center Point Pub. 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC ISA

Plain, Belva.

Summary: Though Iris Stern considers herself a modern woman, with a successful academic career and a happy marriage, she still holds steadfast to her old-fashioned sensibilities. But as the mother of three adult children, each with their own lives and burdens to bear, she often finds those sensibilities called into question when confronted with the choices her children have made.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Books on Tape 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC PLA

Roth, Philip.

1 hold on 2 copies

Summary: When the renowned aviation hero and rabid isolationist Charles A. Lindbergh defeated Franklin Roosevelt by a landslide in the 1940 presidential election, fear invaded every Jewish household in America. Not only had Lindbergh, in a nationwide radio address, publicly blamed the Jews for selfishly pushing America toward a pointless war with Nazi Germany, but, upon taking office as the thirty-third...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Houghton Mifflin Co. 2004

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Kellerman, Faye.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Time Warner AudioBooks 2002

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC Kelle

Reisman, Nancy

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thorndike Press 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC REI

Segal, Francesca

Summary: As he prepares for his wedding to Rachel Gilbert, the girl he has been with for twelve years, Adam Newman begins to question everything when Rachel's fiercely independent and beautiful young cousin moves home from New York.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Voice / Hyperion 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC SEG

Margolis, Sue.

Summary: Tallulah's grandmother, Nana Ida, wants her granddaughter to have a big Jewish wedding although Tallulah and her fiancé would prefer a small wedding. After months of planning the groom doesn't show up. So Nana Ida gets busy with matchmaking and Tallulah discovers that happiness doesn't always come in the form of the perfect doctor and that real love doesn't require a catered affair.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: New American Library 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MAR

Plain, Belva.

Summary: Though Iris Stern considers herself a modern woman, with a successful academic career and a happy marriage, she still holds steadfast to her old-fashioned sensibilities. But as the mother of three adult children, each with their own lives and burdens to bear, she often finds those sensibilities called into question when confronted with the choices her children have made.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Delacorte Press 2011

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC PLA

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Plain 2011

Lippman, Laura

Summary: Mark Rubin's family is missing - and the police won't do a thing because all the evidence indicates his wife left willingly. The successful furrier turns to Tess Monaghan, hoping she can help him find his wife and three children. Tess doesn't know what to make of Rubin, a wealthy Orthodox Jew who doles out vitally important information in grudging dribs and drabs. According to Rubin, he and his...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper Collins Publishers 2004

View online at Hoopla

Lippman, Laura.

Summary: Tess Monaghan is called to help Mark Rubin, a wealthy Orthodox Jew who grudingly gives important information, find his family that simply vanished. Tess is able to locate the runaway wife and family, moving furtively with an unremarkable stranger. An intricate web of betrayal and vengeance unravels as memory leads to rage to murder.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Recorded Books 2004

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FICTION Lippman

Back to Top