Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Masih, Tara Lynn

Summary: "A riveting story of courage and strength in the face of Nazi terror ... about Hanna, a young Jewish girl, age 14, from a small Ukrainian village and how she and her family survived the Holocaust and eventually emigrated to America."--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Mandel Vilar Press 2018

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: Y FICTION MAS

Rajchman, Chil.

Summary: One of the few survivors of the Nazi death camp Treblinka during World War II, the author tells the story of how he survived by becoming one of the workers whose grim task it was to tend to the dead and went on to take part in the Treblinka workers' revolt and later testified at a war-crime tribunal.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pegasus Books 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult, Call number: 940.5318 RAJCHMAN, CHIL RAJ

Summary: In the final ten episodes of this terrifying series from the visionary minds of Guillermo Del Toro, Carlton Cuse and Chuck Hogan, nuclear winter envelopes the planet, and a desperate, weakened humanity, existing only as slave labor for 'The Partnership', is controlled by the bloodthirsty strigoi. Meanwhile, the sinister 'Master' grooms Eph's son Zach to rule the post-apocalyptic dystopia.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Television Series and Box Set DVDs, Call number: DVD TV STR

Baites, Mina

Summary: "A single treasured keepsake links one unforgettable family across continents. London, 1963. I dream about my sister almost every night. Lilian Morrison has one memento of her beloved sister, Emma: a battered silver music box. A family heirloom that was passed down through two world wars, the box was the key to Lilian's recent, joyous reunion with the surviving members of her birth family, whom...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: AmazonCrossing 2018

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: P BAI

Dweck, Nicole.

Summary: "Four hundred years before Oskar Schindler there was Suleiman the Magnificent, an Ottoman sultan who rescued thousands of Jews from the Inquisition. Inspired by this amazing moment in history, Nicole Dweck has imagined an enchanting family saga in the tradition of Anita Diamant's The Red Tent and Nomi Eve's The Family Orchard. In 1544, as Inquisition fires rage in Portugal, young José Mendez...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thomas Dunne Books 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC DWE

Baites, Mina

Summary: 1914. For Paul, with love. A Jewish silversmith engraved those words on his most exquisite creation, a singing filigree bird inside a tiny ornamented box. He crafted this treasure for his young son before leaving to fight in a terrible war. A half century later, Londoner Lilian Morrison inherits the box after the death of her parents. With the keepsake is a letter from Lilian's mother, telling...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Audiobook on MP3 CD, Call number: MP3CD FIC BAI

Balson, Ronald H

2 holds on 1 copy

Summary: "Lena Woodward, an elderly woman, enlists the help of both lawyer Catherine Lockhart and private investigator Liam Taggart to appraise the story of her harrowing past in Nazi occupied Poland. At the same time, Lena's son Arthur presents her with a hefty lawsuit under the pretense of garnering her estate--and independence--for his own purposes. Where these stories intersect is through Lena's...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2016

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Friedman, Carl.

Summary: A young girl relates her father's experiences in a World War II concentration camp and the effects on the family.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Persea 1995

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC FRI

Summary: The war between the bloodthirsty strigoi and the remaining human survivors of New York intensifies in the chilling third season. Although Dr. Ephraim Goodweather's bioweapon initially helped stave off the vampiric creatures, they have evolved into a bigger threat to humanity than ever. Now, distraught over his kidnapped son, Eph teams with Dutch to search for signs of weakness in the strigoi.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Television Series and Box Set DVDs, Call number: DVD TV STR

Adorján, Johanna

Summary: The author describes the unconventional lives of her grandparents, from surviving the Holocaust and fleeing Budapest during the uprising of 1956 to their complex personalities and long-buried family secrets that may have led them to take their own lives together.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: W.W. Norton 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult, Call number: 940.5318 ADORJAAN, JOHANNA ADO

Sender, Ruth Minsky.

Summary: A Holocaust survivor recounts her liberation from a Nazi concentration camp, search for surviving family members, and long and difficult ordeal of trying to immigrate with her husband and two children to America.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Aladdin Paperbacks 2000

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Stacks, Call number: Y 940.53 SEN

Stoessinger, Caroline.

Summary: Collects life lessons by a Holocaust survivor and concert pianist, sharing the wisdom she has gleaned and insights into her resolve to thrive in spite of loss and her choice to harbor no bitterness toward her oppressors.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Spiegel & Grau 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 940.5318 HERZ-SOMMER, ALICE STO

Wallant, Edward Lewis

Summary: For most of us, remembering the Holocaust requires effort; we listen to stories, watch films, read histories. But the people who came to be called "survivors" could not avoid their memories. Sol Nazerman, protagonist of Edward Lewis Wallant's The Pawnbroker, is one such sufferer. At 45, Nazerman, who survived Bergen-Belsen although his wife and children did not, runs a Harlem pawnshop. But the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Fig Tree Books LLC 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC WAL

Summary: Through a series of interviews, photographs and footage shot in the actual locations of her memories, Gerda Weissmann Klein takes us on her journey of survival of the Holocaust. Also includes Gerda Klein's Academy Award acceptance speech.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC ONE

Hunter, Georgia

1 hold on 6 copies

Summary: ""Reading Georgia Hunter's We Were the Lucky Ones is like being swung heart first into history. A brave and mesmerizing debut, and a truly tremendous accomplishment."--Paula McLain, New York Timesbestselling author of The Paris Wife. An extraordinary, propulsive novel based on the true story of a family of Polish Jews who scatter at the start of the Second World War, determined to survive, and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2017

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC HUN

Spiegelman, Art

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pantheon Books 1991

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult, Call number: 741.5 SPI

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Graphic Novels, Call number: 940.5318 SPI

Wiesel, Elie

Summary: Sixty year-old Doriel Waldman, a Polish Jew born in 1936, is on the verge of insanity until Dr. Thérèse Goldschmidt draws him out with his story of surviving the Holocaust in hiding with his father while his mother made a reputation for herself in the Polish resistance--only to die in an accident shortly after the war.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC WIE

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Stacks, Call number: FIC Wie

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: This film dramatizes part of the Israeli independence moment, dealing with various factions involved in the internecine struggle between the moderate Haganah and the radical terrorist Irgun Zvai Leumi. Interspersed throughout are segments showing the migration of European Jews to the new land, paying special attention to the ragged survivors of Nazi death camps on board the vessel Exodus,...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2002

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Gratz, Alan

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: Based on the life of Jack Gruener, this book relates his story of survival from the Nazi occupation of Krakow, when he was eleven, through a succession of concentration camps, to the final liberation of Dachau.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scholastic Press 2013

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J Fiction Gra

Summary: Examines the impact of the Holocaust on the children of survivors.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: City Lights Home Entertainment 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC GEN

Spiegelman, Art

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pantheon Books 1986

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Graphic Novels, Call number: 940.5318 SPI

Summary: When a freak virus kills all but four passengers on an airplane at JFK, Ephraim Goodweather, head of the Center for Disease Control's "Canary Team," is immediately called to the scene. With help from a mysterious Holocaust survivor, "Eph" and his colleague uncover the outbreak's ties to vampirism. Now, the only way to stop the terrifying disease from wiping out mankind is to face its source, a...

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Television Series and Box Set DVDs, Call number: DVD TV STR

Schimmel, Betty.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 1999

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult, Call number: 940.5318 SCH

Greenfield, Martin

Summary: "He's been called 'America's greatest living tailor' and 'the most interesting man in the world.' Now, for the first time, Holocaust survivor Martin Greenfield tells his incredible life story. Taken from his Czechoslovakian home at age fifteen and transported to the Nazi concentration camp at Auschwitz with his family, Greenfield came face to face with 'Angel of Death' Dr. Joseph Mengele and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Regnery Publishing, a Salem Communications Company 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 GREENFIELD, MARTIN GRE