Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Wiesel, Elie

Summary: Sixty year-old Doriel Waldman, a Polish Jew born in 1936, is on the verge of insanity until Dr. Thérèse Goldschmidt draws him out with his story of surviving the Holocaust in hiding with his father while his mother made a reputation for herself in the Polish resistance--only to die in an accident shortly after the war.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC WIE

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Stacks, Call number: FIC Wie

Gratz, Alan

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: Based on the life of Jack Gruener, this book relates his story of survival from the Nazi occupation of Krakow, when he was eleven, through a succession of concentration camps, to the final liberation of Dachau.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scholastic Press 2013

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J Fiction Gra

Friedman, Carl.

Summary: A young girl relates her father's experiences in a World War II concentration camp and the effects on the family.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Persea 1995

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC FRI

Dweck, Nicole.

Summary: "Four hundred years before Oskar Schindler there was Suleiman the Magnificent, an Ottoman sultan who rescued thousands of Jews from the Inquisition. Inspired by this amazing moment in history, Nicole Dweck has imagined an enchanting family saga in the tradition of Anita Diamant's The Red Tent and Nomi Eve's The Family Orchard. In 1544, as Inquisition fires rage in Portugal, young José Mendez...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thomas Dunne Books 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC DWE

Baites, Mina

Summary: "A single treasured keepsake links one unforgettable family across continents. London, 1963. I dream about my sister almost every night. Lilian Morrison has one memento of her beloved sister, Emma: a battered silver music box. A family heirloom that was passed down through two world wars, the box was the key to Lilian's recent, joyous reunion with the surviving members of her birth family, whom...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: AmazonCrossing 2018

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: P BAI

Masih, Tara Lynn

Summary: "A riveting story of courage and strength in the face of Nazi terror ... about Hanna, a young Jewish girl, age 14, from a small Ukrainian village and how she and her family survived the Holocaust and eventually emigrated to America."--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Mandel Vilar Press 2018

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: Y FICTION MAS

Hunter, Georgia

6 holds on 6 copies

Summary: ""Reading Georgia Hunter's We Were the Lucky Ones is like being swung heart first into history. A brave and mesmerizing debut, and a truly tremendous accomplishment."--Paula McLain, New York Timesbestselling author of The Paris Wife. An extraordinary, propulsive novel based on the true story of a family of Polish Jews who scatter at the start of the Second World War, determined to survive, and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2017

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Thoene, Bodie

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Tyndale House Publishers 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC THO

Balson, Ronald H.

Summary: "The gripping tale about two boys, once as close as brothers, who find themselves on opposite sides of the Holocaust. Elliot Rosenzweig, a respected civic leader and wealthy philanthropist, is attending a fundraiser when he is suddenly accosted and accused of being a former Nazi SS officer named Otto Piatek, "the butcher of Zamosc." Although the charges are denounced as preposterous, his...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St Martins Pr 2013

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Balson, Ronald H.

Summary: Elliot Rosenzweig, a respected civic leader and wealthy philanthropist, is attending a fundraiser when he is suddenly accosted and accused of being a former Nazi SS officer named Otto Piatek. Although the charges are denounced as preposterous, his accuser, Ben Solomon, is convinced he is right. Solomon urges attorney Catherine Lockhart to take his case, revealing that Otto Piatek was abandoned...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Berwick Court Pub. Co. 2009

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Russell, Mary Doria

Summary: In September 1943, Claudette Blum and her father flee across the Alps into Italy with other Jews seeking refuge, only to find an open battle ground among the Nazis, Allied forces, resistance fighters, and ordinary Italians struggling to survive.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2005

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC RUS

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC RUS

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: FICTION Russell

Gillham, David R.

3 holds on 4 copies

Summary: "What if Anne Frank survived the Holocaust? The year is 1945, and Anne Frank is sixteen years old. Having survived the concentration camps but lost her mother and sister along the way, she reunites with her father, Pim, in newly liberated Amsterdam. But it's not easy to fit the pieces of their life back together. Anne is adrift, haunted by the ghosts of the horrors they experienced, while Pim...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2019

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC GIL

Russell, Mary Doria

Summary: It is September 8, 1943, and fourteen-year-old Claudette Blum is learning Italian with a suitcase in her hand. She and her father are among the thousands of Jewish refugees scrambling over the Alps toward Italy, where they hope to be safe at last, now that the Italians have broken with Germany and made a separate peace with the Allies. The Blums will soon discover that Italy is anything but...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ballantine Books 2005

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Book Club Kit, Call number: Book Club Kit FIC RUS

Prose, Francine

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperCollins Publishers 2005

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC PRO

Baites, Mina

Summary: 1914. For Paul, with love. A Jewish silversmith engraved those words on his most exquisite creation, a singing filigree bird inside a tiny ornamented box. He crafted this treasure for his young son before leaving to fight in a terrible war. A half century later, Londoner Lilian Morrison inherits the box after the death of her parents. With the keepsake is a letter from Lilian's mother, telling...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Audiobook on MP3 CD, Call number: MP3CD FIC BAI

Balson, Ronald H

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: "Lena Woodward, an elderly woman, enlists the help of both lawyer Catherine Lockhart and private investigator Liam Taggart to appraise the story of her harrowing past in Nazi occupied Poland. At the same time, Lena's son Arthur presents her with a hefty lawsuit under the pretense of garnering her estate--and independence--for his own purposes. Where these stories intersect is through Lena's...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St. Martin's Press 2016

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Fletcher, Martin

Summary: "As World War II winds to a close, Europe's roads are clogged with twenty million exhausted refugees walking home. Among them are Jacob and Sarah, lonely Holocaust survivors who meet in Heidelberg. But Jacob is consumed with hatred and cannot rest until he has killed his brother's murderer, a concentration camp guard nicknamed "The Rat." Now he must choose between revenge and love, between...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St Martins Pr 2013

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Guttfreund, Amir

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Toby Press 2006

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC GUT

Singer, Isaac Bashevis

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 1972

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC SIN

Stark-Nemon, Barbara

Summary: Spanning one century and three continents, Even in Darkness tells the story of Kläre Kohler, whose early years as beloved daughter of a prosperous German-Jewish family hardly anticipate the often harrowing life she faces as an adult—a long saga of family, lovers, two world wars, concentration camps, and sacrifice. As the world changes around her, Kläre is forced to make a number of seemingly...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: She Writes Press 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC STA

Wallant, Edward Lewis

Summary: For most of us, remembering the Holocaust requires effort; we listen to stories, watch films, read histories. But the people who came to be called "survivors" could not avoid their memories. Sol Nazerman, protagonist of Edward Lewis Wallant's The Pawnbroker, is one such sufferer. At 45, Nazerman, who survived Bergen-Belsen although his wife and children did not, runs a Harlem pawnshop. But the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Fig Tree Books LLC 2015

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Zerries, A. J.

Contents: "A Tom Doherty Associates Book."

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Forge Books 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC ZER

Cantor, Jillian.

1 hold on 2 copies

Summary: 1959. Margie Franklin is working in Philadelphia as a secretary at a Jewish law firm. On the surface she lives a quiet life, but Margie has a secret: a life she once lived, a past and a religion she has denied, and a family and a country she left behind. Margie is really Margot Frank, older sister of Anne, who did not die in Bergen-Belsen as reported, but who instead escaped the Nazis for...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC CAN

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: FICTION CAN

Cantor, Jillian.

Summary: In a reimagining of the life of Anne Frank's sister Margot, Margie Franklin, working as a secretary at a Jewish law firm in Philadelphia, finds her carefully constructed life falling apart when her sister becomes a global icon.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Recorded Books 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC CAN