Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Harper, Charise Mericle

Summary: "Meet Charise. She's energetic, helpful, a model pet owner and full of inventions. But she's also a bad sister. When she goes too far and breaks little brother Daniel's tooth, can she redeem herself? Is an accident really an accident if you could have stopped it? But most importantly... What does it mean to be a good sister?"--Back cover.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: First Second 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Haidle, Elizabeth

Summary: Brings to life the childhood experiences of beloved artists and illustrators such as Wanda Gág, Maurice Sendak, and Jerry Pinkney. Stylish illustrations paired with small vignettes and anecdotes from the artists' early lives helps illuminate the hard work, triumphs, failures, and inspiration that helped forge their successful careers.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Etch, an imprint of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Graphic Novels, Call number: J 920 HAI

Atkins, Jeannine

Summary: A biographical novel in verse of seven girls from different time periods who used math to explore the mysteries of the universe and grew up to do innovate work that changed history.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Atheneum Books for Young Readers 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FIC ATK

Rusch, Elizabeth

Summary: "Una historia real sobre un científico contemporáneo que salvó la capa de ozono y el planeta, evitando un desastre en el medioambiente. Mario Molina es un científico mexicoamericano y un héroe de nuestros días que ayudó a resolver la crisis de la capa de ozono de la década de 1980. Se crió en la Ciudad de México y desde niño sintió curiosidad por los mundos ocultos que estudiaba a través de un...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Charlesbridge 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Lowry, Lois

Summary: "From two-time Newbery medalist and living legend Lois Lowry comes a moving account of the lives lost in two of WWII's most infamous events: Pearl Harbor and Hiroshima. With evocative black-and-white illustrations by SCBWI Golden Kite Award winner KenardPak"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 940.54 LOW

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in JT Non-Fiction, Call number: JT 940.54 Lowry 2020

Russo, Marisabina

Summary: "It's 1950s New York, and Marisabina Russo is being raised Catholic and attending a Catholic school that she loves--but when she finds out that she's Jewish by blood, and that her family members are Jewish survivors of the Holocaust, her childhood is thrown into turmoil. To make matters more complicated, her father is out of the picture, her mother is ambitious and demanding, and her older...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: YA 921 RUS

Mercado, Yehudi

Summary: "In Yehudi Mercado's full-color middle grade graphic memoir sequel to Chunky, Hudi and his imaginary friend, Chunky, head to Jewish summer camp, where the dynamic duo meet a new friend who can see Chunky, too, and get mixed up in a prank war. This series is perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jerry Craft. Hudi finally embraced his love of art and comedy, but his class clown antics keep...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Katherine Tegen Books, HarperAlley, imprints of HarperCollinsPublishers 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Graphic Novels, Call number: J 741.5 MER

Curry, Parker

Summary: "Parker writes letters to her friend Gia while she travels across the U.S. and visits states such as Georgia and New Mexico"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon Spotlight 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Beginning Readers - New Reader (Green), Call number: JBR GREEN CUR

Curry, Parker

Summary: While playing dress-up, Parker and her siblings imagine endless possibilities for future careers.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon Spotlight 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Beginning Readers - New Reader (Green), Call number: JBR GREEN CUR

Prince, Liz

Summary: Eschewing female stereotypes throughout her early years and failing to gain acceptance on the boys' baseball team, Liz learns to embrace her own views on gender as she comes of age, in an anecdotal graphic novel memoir.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Zest Books 2014

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Young Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: YA 741.5 PRI

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: YA 921 PRI

León, Amyra

Summary: The author takes readers on a poetic journey through her childhood in Harlem. León explores love and loss, melody and bloodshed as she navigates the intricacies of foster care, mourning, self-love, and resilience. She invites readers to dream with abandon-- because it is a privilege to dream at all. -- adapted from front flap.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Workshop 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Non-fiction, Call number: YA 811 LEO

Fawkes, Glynnis

Summary: "A graphic novel biography of Charlotte Brontë, following her and her siblings from childhood to the publication of Jane Eyre"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Disney - Hyperion 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Graphic Novels, Call number: J 741.5 FAW

North, Sterling

Summary: The author recalls his carefree life in a small midwestern town at the close of World War I, and his adventures with his pet raccoon, Rascal.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Recorded Books 1998

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Audiobooks, Call number: J CD NOR

Page, Tyler

Summary: "Tyler's brain is different. Unlike his friends, he has a hard time paying attention in class. He acts out in goofy, over-the-top ways. Sometimes, he even does dangerous things--like cut up a bus seat with a pocketknife or hang out of an attic window. To the adults in his life, Tyler seems like a troublemaker. But he knows that he's not. Tyler is curious and creative. He's the best artist in...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: First Second 2022

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Juvenile Graphic Novels, Call number: J GRAPHIC PAG

Mills, Deborah

Summary: Alfredo y su papá deben cruzar la frontera en un viaje difícil de México a los Estados Unidos. ¿Encontrarán el nuevo hogar que están buscando en el otro lado? Basándose en hechos reales, esta historia cobra vida gracias a la ilustradora Mexicana Claudia Navarro, y está repleta de notas al final del texto para iniciar conversaciones sobre inmigración.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Barefoot Books 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile World Languages, Call number: J SPANISH 325 MIL

Lee, Sungju.

Summary: "Every Falling Star, the first book to portray contemporary North Korea to a young audience, is the intense memoir of a North Korean boy named Sungju who is forced at age twelve to live on the streets and fend for himself. To survive, Sungju creates a gang and lives by thieving, fighting, begging, and stealing rides on cargo trains. Sungju richly re-creates his scabrous story, depicting what it...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Amulet Books 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Non-fiction, Call number: YA 921 LEE

Humphreys, Jessica Dee

Summary: Recounts the experiences of Michel Chikwanine, who at age five was abducted during a schoolyard soccer game and forced to become a child soldier.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Kids Can Press 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 355 HUM

Levy, Janice.

Summary: Simple text and color illustrations present the historical background and contemporary celebration of the Cinco de Mayo holiday.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Albert Whitman 2007

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J468 LEV SPANISH

Neri, Greg

Summary: Long before they became one of the most beloved and successful duos of all time, Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel were just two kids growing up in Queens, New York -- best friends who met in a sixth-grade production of Alice in Wonderland and bonded over girls, baseball, and rock'n'roll

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Candlewick Press 2018

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FIC NER

Manning, Peyton.

Summary: During a trip to visit both sets of grandparents in Mississippi, brothers Eli, Cooper, and Peyton, and their father, former NFL star Archie Manning, take advantage of every opportunity to play football, practice plays, or play sports trivia games.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scholastic Press 2009

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: JE MAN

Tonatiuh, Duncan.

Summary: "Years before the landmark U.S. Supreme Court ruling Brown v. Board of Education, Sylvia Mendez, an eight-year-old girl of Mexican and Puerto Rican heritage, played an instrumental role in Mendez v. Westminster, the landmark desegregation case of 1946 inCalifornia"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Abrams Books for Young Readers 2014

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J323.11 TON

Warhola, James.

Summary: The author describes a trip to see his uncle, the soon-to-be-famous artist Andy Warhol, and the fun that he and his family had on the visit.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Putnam 2003

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 921 WAR

DePaola, Tomie

Summary: Author-illustrator Tomie De Paola describes his experiences at home and in school in 1941 when he was a boy.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: G.P. Putnam's Sons 2003

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in JT Fiction, Call number: JT Fiction DePaola 2003

Scieszka, Jon.

Summary: How did Jon Scieszka get so funny? He grew up as one of six brothers with Catholic school, lots of comic books, lazy summers at the lake with time to kill, babysitting misadventures, TV shows, and jokes told at family dinner.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2008

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.
Back to Top