Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Mero, Stephanie.

Summary: Hairstylists and hair care and styling educators Stephanie and Dennis give you their simple, scientific and straightforward approach to hair care, products, and styling. You will learn the truth behind common hair myths, how to correctly identify the needs of your hair, how to transition damaged hair and maintain healthy hair, tips for haircuts and hair growth, a scientific approach to choosing...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2019

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: 646.724 Mero 2019

Braswell, Liz

Summary: Desperate to save the life of their queen and her unborn child, the good citizens of the kingdom comb the land for the all-healing Sundrop flower to cure her . . . but someone mistakenly picks the blossom of the Moondrop instead. This shimmering flower heals the queen and she delivers a healthy baby girl with hair as silver and gray as the moon. But with her mysterious hair comes dangerous...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Disney-Hyperion 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Redd, Nancy Amanda

Summary: As family members braid, brush, twirl, roll, and tighten their hair before bedtime, putting on kerchiefs, wave caps, and other protective items, the little sister cannot find her bonnet.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2020

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE RED

Coven, Wanda

Summary: "What starts as an ordinary Sunday at the Heckelbeck house turns into a hair-raising adventure for the whole family when one of Henry's toys gets stuck in Heidi's hair! Mom's only solution is to cut a chunk of Heidi's hair, but when the salon can't undo the horrible hairdo, Heidi must use magic to save the day. But will her magical hairdo become a hair don't?"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little Simon 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Roe, Mechal Renee

Summary: "A visual and rhyming celebration of African-American girls' hair"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Doubleday Books for Young Readers 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: BOARD ROE

Herbach, Geoff

Summary: Second-grader Aiden Allen has seriously wild hair; in fact it keeps forming itself into weird shapes, and interfering with his school day, and nothing he says will make it behave--until finally Aiden and his hair come to a compromise that involves washing.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Capstone Young Readers, a capstone imprint 2017

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Alberto, Daisy.

Summary: Rapunzel is in trouble, and it is up to Flynn Rider and Maximus the horse to save her.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2011

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: Miss Nelson has a field day: the notorious Miss Swamp reappears at the Horace B. Smedley School, this time to shape up the football team and make them win at least one game.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Digital Video Disc, Call number: DVD JUV BAC

Forman, Ruth

Summary: "This simple, playful, and beautiful board book stars four friends who celebrate the joy of their hairstyles from bouncing curls to swinging braids"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little Simon 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: BOARD FOR

Miller, Sharee

Summary: Aria loves her soft and bouncy hair, but must go to extremes to avoid people who touch it without permission until, finally, she speaks up. Includes author's note.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Company 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE MIL

Petty, Kate.

Summary: Children from around the world show and tell about how they style their hair.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Frances Lincoln Children's 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: J 391.5 PET

SanGiacomo, Scott

Summary: Ted discovers that his wild red hair is actually a gift rather than a curse when he helps his best friend search for the Brookside Beast--a giant raccoon terrorizing the town.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Quill Tree Books, Harper Alley, imprints of HarperCollinsPublishers 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Benton, Jim

Summary: Franny tries to follow her mother's suggestion to change her appearance, but by turning hair styling into a science experiment she creates some very greedy pigtails that terrorize the town.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Recorded Books 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Stacks, Call number: KIT J ORANGE BAD

Byrd, Ayana D

Summary: A chronicle of black hair in America looks back at the styles, myths, and grooming techniques adopted by African Americans throughout their history.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: St Martins Pr 2014

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Tether, Graham

Summary: "A celebration of hair--and all the things you can do with it!"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: From Beginner Books, a division of Random House 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Okogwu, Tola

Summary: When twelve-year-old Onyeka discovers that she has psychokinetic powers, her mother reveals that she is Solari, part of a secret group of Nigerian mutants that trains at the Academy of the Sun.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Margaret K. McElderry Books 2022

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: The gym teacher from the black lagoon: The kids say the new gym teacher is a real monster! Imagine their surprise when they discover he is a regular guy, and they like gym.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Playaway Digital Audio 2010

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: Ask a woman about her hair, and she just might tell you the story of her life. Ask a whole bunch of women about their hair, and you could get a history of the world. Surprising, insightful, frequently funny, and always forthright, the essays in Me, My Hair, and I are reflections and revelations about every aspect of women’s lives from family, race, religion, and motherhood to culture, health,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Workman Publishing 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 644 ME

Anderson, Laurie Halse.

Summary: A young girl's talented but untamed tresses do not impress her strict first-grade teacher, who has rules for everything, including hair.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers 2009

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: E And

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: JE AND

Kaur Deo, Jesmeen

Summary: High school debater TJ Powar, after she and her cousin become the subject of an ugly meme, makes a resolution to stop shaving, plucking, and waxing, and prove that she can be her hairy self and still be beautiful... but soon finds this may be her most difficult debate yet.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2022

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Lowe, Scott

Summary: "About how the manipulation of human hair holds fascinating symbolic meanings and provokes profound visceral impacts in all cultures of the world"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Bloomsbury Academic 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 644 LOV

Acevedo, Elizabeth

Summary: "In her most famous spoken-word poem, author of the Pura Belpré-winning novel-in-verse The Poet X Elizabeth Acevedo embraces all the complexities of Black hair and Afro-Latinidad--the history, pain, pride, and powerful love of that inheritance. Paired with full-color illustrations by artist Andrea Pippins in a format that will appeal to fans of Mahogany L. Browne's Black Girl Magic or Jason...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Quill Tree Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Non-fiction, Call number: YA 811 ACE

Dabiri, Emma

Summary: Despite increasingly liberal world views, black hair continues to be erased, appropriated, and stigmatized to the point of taboo. Through her personal and historical journey, Dabiri gleans insights into the way racism is coded in society's perception of black hair--and how it is often used as an avenue for discrimination. Dabiri takes us from pre-colonial Africa, through the Harlem Renaissance,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper Perennial 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 391.5 DAB

Lerner, Harriet Goldhor.

Summary: Franny B. Kranny refuses to cut her wild hair, despite her family's insistence, and wears a bird in her hair to a family reunion.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperCollins 2001

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: E OXE

Back to Top