Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

McDougall, Christopher

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Books on Tape 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD 796 MCD

McDougall, Christopher

Summary: "While researching Born to Run, Chris McDougall encountered the story of Pheidippides, the legendary ancient Greek 'all-day runner.' Later, when McDougall met a dedicated amateur historian, he saw a connection to one of the most fascinating mysteries of World War II: how did a small band of Resistance fighters surrounded by German troops kidnap a top German general? What he discovered is that...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 796 MCD

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: 940.53 MCD

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: 940.53 McDougall 2015

Davis, Wes.

Summary: In the bleakest years of World War II, when it appeared that nothing could slow the German army, Hitler set his sights on the Mediterranean island of Crete, the ideal staging ground for German domination of the Middle East. But German command had not counted on the eccentric band of British intelligence officers who would stand in their way, conducting audacious sabotage operations in the very...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 940.5421 DAV

Summary: A young British writer moves to Crete to find himself by working in his father's mine, and hires the playful Zorba. He falls in love with a lovely young widow. When she responds to him the townsmen attack her.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Drama DVDs, Call number: DVD DRAMA ZOR

Horowitz, Anthony

Summary: Farlingaye Hall is a beautiful hotel in Suffolk on the east coast of England. Unfortunately, it is also the site of the brutal murder of Frank Parris, a retired advertising executive. Stefan Codrescu, a Romanian maintenance man, is arrested after police find blood spatter on his clothes and bed linen. He is found guilty and spends eight years in prison. Alan Conway, the late author of the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper Large Print, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Stroud, Rick

Summary: This is the story of how a small SOE unit led by Patrick Leigh Fermor kidnapped a German general on the Nazi-occupied island of Crete in 1944. For thirty-two days, they were chased across the mountains as they headed for the coast and a rendezvous with a Royal Navy launch waiting to spirit the general to Cairo.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Bloomsbury 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 940.54 STR

Hislop, Victoria.

Summary: On the brink of a life-changing decision, Alexis Fielding longs to find out about her mother Sofia's past on the Greek island of Crete before moving to London, and when Alexis decides to visit Crete, Sofia gives her daughter a letter to take to an old friend, promising that through her she will learn the truth.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC HIS

Hoena, B. A.

Summary: In this humorous (and gross) retelling of the Greek myth, Theseus and his hero friends visit the island of Crete and the amusement park known as the Labyrinth, where they encounter a nasty bully called the Minotaur who challenges Theseus to a race through the Maze-o-muck.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Stone Arch Books, a Capstone imprint 2019

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Beginning Readers - Independent Reader (Red), Call number: JBR RED HOE

Orr, Wendy

Summary: Leira is starting her initiation as a priestess when her world is turned upside down. A violent earthquake leaves her home in pieces. And the goddess hasn't finished with the island yet. With her family, Leira flees across the sea to Crete, expecting sanctuary. But a volcanic eruption and tsunami throw the entire world into darkness. In the resulting chaos; Leira finds her noble-born privilege...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Allen & Unwin 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FIC ORR

Scarre, Christopher.

Summary: Discusses the ancient Minoan civilization of Knossos, Crete, as manifested by the excavations of that city by the archaeologist Sir Arthur Evans.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Oxford University Press 2003

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 939.18 SCA

Facaros, Dana.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Cadogan Guides 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 914.959 FAC

Horowitz, Anthony

Summary: "Farlingaye Hall is a beautiful hotel in Suffolk on the east coast of England. Unfortunately, it is also the site of the brutal murder of Frank Parris, a retired advertising executive. Stefan Codrescu, a Romanian maintenance man, is arrested after police find blood spatter on his clothes and bed linen. He is found guilty and spends eight years in prison. It appears an open and shut case, but...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC HOR

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC HOR

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: M HOR

Fox, Margalit.

Summary: An intellectual detective story follows the quest to unlock one of the great secrets of human history--the decipherment of Linear B, an unknown script from the Aegean Bronze Age.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ecco 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 487.1 FOX

Roberson, Emily

Summary: In a reality TV retelling of the myth of the Minotaur, seventeen-year-old Ariadne fights to save her brother, Asterion, and make her own destiny in a world of celebrity, surveillance, and feigned authenticity.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: YA FIC ROB

Saint, Jennifer

2 holds on 5 copies

Summary: "A mesmerizing debut novel for fans of Madeline Miller's Circe. Ariadne, Princess of Crete, grows up greeting the dawn from her beautiful dancing floor and listening to her nursemaid's stories of gods and heroes. But beneath her golden palace echo the ever-present hoofbeats of her brother, the Minotaur, a monster who demands blood sacrifice every year. When Theseus, Prince of Athens, arrives to...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Flatiron Books 2021

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC SAI

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Browsing Hot Titles, Call number: HOT TITLE

King, Emily R.

Summary: "Cronus, God of Gods, whose inheritance is the world. Among his possessions: women, imprisoned and fated to serve. The strong-minded Althea Lambros controls her own fate and lives to honor her dying mother's plea to protect her two sisters at all costs. Althea's journey toward crushing the tyranny has begun. It is a destiny foretold by the Fates. And she is following their visions. On the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 47North 2021

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC KIN

Palmer, Leonard Robert

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Knopf 1965

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 939.1 PAL

Cleverly, Barbara.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Delta Trade Paperbacks 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC CLE

Artist Not Provided

Summary: Hosts K.T. Comer and Adela Ucar explore the many different styles and cultures of Cyprus & Crete .

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Pilot Productions 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 914.8 CYP

WILLETTS, R. F

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 1969

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 938 WIL

Hart, Andrew

Summary: Jan needs this. She’s flying to Crete to reunite with friends she met there five years ago and relive an idyllic vacation. Basking in the warmth of the sun, the azure sea, and the aura of antiquity, she can once again pretend—for a little while—that she belongs. Her ex-boyfriend Marcus will be among them, but even he doesn’t know the secrets she keeps hidden behind a veil of lies. None of them...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Lake Union Publishing 2018

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Har

Scarrow, Simon.

Summary: Forced to the port of Matala by a freak tidal wave, Macro and Cato find Crete decimated by a catastrophic earthquake and an ensuing rebellion against the Roman administration that prompts surviving local authorities to ask for their assistance.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Overlook Press 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC SCA

Back to Top