Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

George, Jean Craighead

Summary: Tigluk and his grandmother paddle out into the Arctic Ocean where they find a young polar bear whose mother has died because of the changes brought about by the warming climate, and they bring the cub back to their town so they can teach it how to survive in a changing world.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Laura Geringer Books 2009

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE Fiction George 2009

Patterson, James

Summary: While on a mission to Antarctica to save the world from global warming, fourteen-year-old Maximum Ride and the other members of the Flock--a band of genetically modified children who can fly--are pursued by their creator, the Uber-Director, who wants to auction them off to the highest bidder.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown 2008

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: Y FICTION PAT

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Young Adult Paperback, Call number: YA FIC PAT

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Fiction, Call number: YA FIC PAT

Perla, Victoria.

Summary: When global warming causes the ice at the North Pole to melt and Santa's roof starts to leak, he calls on the children of the world to come up with ways to help solve the problem.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Thomas Nelson 2008

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: JE Per

Dimaline, Cherie

1 hold on 2 copies

Summary: "In a future world ravaged by global warming, people have lost the ability to dream, and the dreamlessness has led to widespread madness. The only people still able to dream are North America's indigenous population - and it is their marrow that holds the cure for the rest of the world. But getting the marrow - and dreams - means death for the unwilling donors. Driven to flight, a 15-year-old...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dancing Cat Books 2017

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: YA FIC DIM

Shelby, Ashley

Summary: " Do you have digestion problems due to stress? Do you have problems with authority? How many alcoholic drinks do you consume a week? Would you rather be a florist or a truck driver? These are the questions that decide who has what it takes to live at South Pole Station, a place with an average temperature of -54°F and no sunlight for six months a year. Cooper Gosling is adrift at thirty,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Wheeler Publishing, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC SHE

Riddle, A. G.

Summary: A new ice age on Earth. A mysterious object in space. And a desperate mission to save humanity from extinction. Each month, Earth grows colder. Snow falls in summer. Glaciers trample cities across North America, Europe, and Asia. Chaos erupts. Around the world, people abandon their homes, fleeing the cold, flocking to regions where they can survive the new ice age. Nations prepare to go to war...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC RID

Cussler, Clive.

Summary: When a series of unexplained deaths and international hostilities occur in the wake of a breakthrough discovery to reverse global warming, NUMA director Dirk Pitt and his children investigate a mysterious silvery mineral with links to a fabled Northwest Passage expedition.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Wheeler Pub. 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC CUS

Shelby, Ashley

Summary: " Do you have digestion problems due to stress? Do you have problems with authority? How many alcoholic drinks do you consume a week? Would you rather be a florist or a truck driver? These are the questions that decide who has what it takes to live at South Pole Station, a place with an average temperature of -54°F and no sunlight for six months a year. Cooper Gosling is adrift at thirty,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Picador 2017

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC SHE

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC SHE

Mayer, Mercer

Summary: After Little Critter learns about Earth Day in school, he does everything he can to help protect the environment and save the polar bears from global warming, but he gets discouraged when his Climate Control Machine fails to work.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harperfestival 2008

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Cussler, Clive.

Summary: A potential breakthrough discovery to reverse global warming . . . a series of unexplained sudden deaths in British Columbia . . . a rash of international incidents between the United States and one of its closest allies that threatens to erupt into an actual shooting war . . . NUMA director Dirk Pitt and his children, Dirk. Jr. and Summer, have reason to believe there's a connection here...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: G.P. Putnam's Sons 2008

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Stacks, Call number: FIC Cussler 2008

Patterson, James

Summary: While on a mission to Antarctica to save the world from global warming, fourteen-year-old Maximum Ride and the other members of the Flock--a band of genetically modified children who can fly--are pursued by their creator, the Uber-Director, who wants to auction them off to the highest bidder.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Books on Tape 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC PAT

Powell, James Lawrence

Summary: "This vivid, terrifying, and galvanizing novel reveals our future world after previous generations failed to halt climate change-perfect for fans of The Drowned World and World War Z. 2084: Global warming has proven worse than even the direst predictions scientists had made at the turn of the century. No country-and no one-has remained unscathed. Through interviews with scientists, political...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Atria Books 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC POW

Tucker, Mike.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: BBC 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC TUC

Buckell, Tobias S.

Summary: In a future Earth decimated by global warming where rival countries fight to claim massive amounts of oil beneath the newly accessible ocean, an innovative corporation creates a technology that can both cool the planet and provide a massive super-weapon, prompting airship pilot Anika Duncan to be swept up by an international plot.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Tor 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC BUC

Crichton, Michael

Summary: A team led by MIT scientist/federal agent John Kenner is in a frantic chase to prevent environmental terrorists from wreaking widespread destruction aimed at galvanizing the world against global warming.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper Audio 2004

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC CRI

Gutman, Dan.

Summary: Stosh travels back to 1969 to try to prevent the untimely death of Roberto Clemente, a legendary baseball player and humanitarian, but upon his return to the present, he meets his own great-grandson who takes him into the future, and what he finds there is more shocking than anything he has encountered in his travels to the past.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Fiction, Call number: J FIC GUT

Robinson, Kim Stanley.

Contents: A new reality -- Cut to the chase -- Going feral -- The technological sublime -- Undecided -- Sacred space -- Emerson for the day -- Partially adjusted demand -- The dominoes fall -- You get what you get.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Bantam Books 2007

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC ROB

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC ROB

Lee, NaRae.

Summary: Fang's blog highlights ITEX and their research, causing them to shut down, while Max goes to Antarctica to study the effects of global warming.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Yen Press 2013

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: Y GRAPHIC MAX

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: YA 741.5 MAX

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Young Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: YA FIC LEE

McEwan, Ian.

Summary: When Nobel prize-winning physicist Michael Beard's personal and professional lives begin to intersect in unexpected ways, an opportunity presents itself in the guise of an invitation to travel to New Mexico. Here is a chance for him to extricate himself from his marital problems, reinvigorate his career, and very possibly save the world from environmental disaster.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Nan A. Talese/Doubleday 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCE

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction McEwan 2010

Hunt, Elizabeth Singer.

Summary: A team of GPF scientists has vanished in the Arctic while doing research on global warming. While rescuing them from the jaws of a hungry polar bear, nine-year-old secret agent jack Stalwart learns of the malicious Black Arctic Project - a group of mysterious villains are speeding up global warming by blowing up glaciers. Can Jack stop them before the entire planet is doomed?

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Weinstein Books 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Beginning Readers - Independent Reader (Red), Call number: JBR RED HUN

McEwan, Ian.

Summary: Nobel Prize-winning physicist Michael Beard is fast approaching 60, a mere shell of the academic titan he once was. While his fifth marriage falls apart, Michael suddenly finds himself with an unexpected opportunity to reinvigorate his career and possibly save humankind from the growing threat of global warming.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Recorded Books 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC MCE

McEwan, Ian.

Summary: Nobel Prize-winning physicist Michael Beard is fast approaching 60, a mere shell of the academic titan he once was. While his fifth marriage falls apart, Michael suddenly finds himself with an unexpected opportunity to reinvigorate his career and possibly save humankind from the growing threat of global warming.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Recorded Books 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Audiobook on MP3 CD, Call number: MP3CD FIC MCE

Perla, Victoria.

Summary: "It's November up in the North Pole. Everything's going along smoothly at Santa's workshop, until he discovers a leak in his roof. Santa soon learns that this little leak is connected to a far bigger problem: global warming! Faced with the reality of what this could mean for Christmas, not to mention the planet and the future, Santa is determined to turn things around"--Author's WWW site.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Plan G 2007

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in KBL Holiday Storage, Call number: E Per

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE Holiday Perla 2007

Back to Top