Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Summary: This searing investigative work shadows a group of activists risking unimaginable peril to confront ongoing anti-LGBTQ pogrom raging in the repressive and closed Russian republic. Unfettered access and a remarkable approach to protecting anonymity exposes this under-reported atrocity, and an extraordinary group of people confronting evil.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Basic Books 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.5 SEI

Kalb, Marvin L.

Summary: Marvin Kalb, a former journalist and Harvard professor, traces how the Crimea of Catherine the Great became a global tinder box. The world was stunned when Vladimir Putin invaded and seized Crimea in March 2014. In the weeks that followed, pro-Russian rebels staged uprisings in southeastern Ukraine. The United States and its Western allies immediately imposed strict sanctions on Russia and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Brookings Institution Press 2015

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Harding, Luke

Summary: On November 1, 2006, journalist and Russian dissident Alexander Litvinenko was poisoned in London. He died twenty-two days later. The cause of death was Polonium--a rare, lethal, and highly radioactive substance. This is the inside story of the life and death of Litvinenko. And it is the story of the aftermath: a decade of geopolitical disruptions still felt today. In A Very Expensive Poison,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Vintage Books, a division of Penguin Random House LLC 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 327 HAR

Summary: Enlightening documentary about the Russian avant-garde and the role art played in the Russian Revolution. Explores the works and careers of important Russian artists, including Chagall, Kandinsky, Rodchenko, Malevich, and many others. Includes historical reenactments.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC REV

Slaght, Jonathan C.

3 holds on 1 copy

Summary: "A young field scientist and conservationist tracks the elusive Blakiston's Fish Owl in the forbidding reaches of eastern Russia"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Igort

Summary: Graphic novelist Igort illuminates two harrowing moments in recent history--the Ukraine famine and the assassination of a Russian journalist.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 741.5 IGO

Jamali, Naveed

Summary: "In 2008, almost two decades after the Cold War was officially consigned to the history books, an average American guy in his twenties helped to bring down a top Russian spy based at the United Nations. This American had no formal espionage training. Everything he knew about spying he'd learned from books, movies, video games, and TV. And yet, with the help of an initially reluctant FBI duo, he...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Scribner 2015

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: 921 JAM

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 JAMALI, NAVEED JAM

Babchenko, Arkadii.

Contents: Mountain Brigade -- The river Argun -- Chechens -- Chechens II -- Yakovlev -- The cow -- To Mozdok -- The ninth neighborhood -- Sharik -- The apartment -- The runway -- Mozdok-7 -- The summer of 1996 -- Special cargo -- New Year's Eve -- Alkhan-Yurt -- The storming operation -- Argun -- A soldier's dream -- Field deception -- The obelisk -- Lais -- Hello sister -- Traitors -- Chechen Penal...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Grove Press 2008

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.5 BABCHENKO, ARKADY BAB

Summary: Chronicles the uprising that toppled the government of Ukrainian president Victor Yanukovich and has since developed into an international crisis between Russia and the West.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Cinema Guild 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC MAI

Zimmerman, William

Summary: "When the Soviet Union collapsed, many hoped that Russia's centuries-long history of autocratic rule might finally end. Yet today's Russia appears to be retreating from democracy, not progressing toward it. Ruling Russia is the only book of its kind to trace the history of modern Russian politics from the Bolshevik Revolution to the presidency of Vladimir Putin. It examines the complex...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Princeton Univ Pr 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 320.947 ZIM

Lin, Jeremy Atherton

Summary: Strobing lights and dark rooms; throbbing house and drag queens on counters; first kisses, last call: the gay bar has long been a place of solidarity and sexual expression—whatever your scene, whoever you’re seeking. But in urban centers around the world, they are closing, a cultural demolition that has Jeremy Atherton Lin wondering: What was the gay bar? How have they shaped him? And could...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Company 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New Non-fiction, Call number: 306.766 LIN

Beer, Daniel

Summary: "The House of the Dead is a history of Siberia with a focus on the last four tsars (1801-1917). Daniel Beer explores the massive penal colony that became an incubator for the radicalism of revolutionaries who would one day rule Russia"--Provided by publisher.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 364 BEE

Judah, Tim

Summary: "From one of the finest journalists of our time comes a definitive, boots-on-the-ground dispatch from the front lines of the conflict in Ukraine. Ever since Ukraine's violent 2014 revolution, followed by Russia's annexation of Crimea, the country has been at war. Misinformation reigns, more than two million people have been displaced, and Ukrainians fight one another on a second front--the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Tim Duggan Books 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.086 JUD

Booth, John

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Wellfleet Press 1990

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Oversize, Call number: OVS 739.2 BOO

Sakwa, Richard

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.086 SAK

Baiev, Khassan.

Summary: Dr. Khassan Baiev describes his experiences after leaving a promising surgical career in Moscow in 1994 to provide medical services to the people of Chechnya which was under attack by Russian troops, discussing how he managed with poor facilities and few supplies, as well as the constant threat of execution by the Russians.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Walker & Co. 2003

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 BAIEV, KHASSAN BAI

Warren, Susan May

Summary: Kidnapped by rebels while serving as an interpreter in Ukraine, Signe Kincaid has spent the past decade secreting out valuable information about Russian assets in the US to her CIA handler. Fearing for her daughter after being discovered as an operative, Signe sends her to former Navy SEAL Hamilton Jones for safekeeping. When Ham discovers the reason Signe has kept her distance, he must choose...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Maddow, Rachel

1 hold on 2 copies

Summary: Rachel Maddow offers a dark, serpentine, riveting tour of the unimaginably lucrative and corrupt oil and gas industry. With her trademark black humor, Maddow takes us on a switchback journey around the globe, from Oklahoma City to Siberia to Equatorial Guinea, exposing the greed and incompetence of Big Oil and Gas. She shows how Russia's rich reserves of crude have, paradoxically, stunted its...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD 338.2 MAD

Slezkine, Yuri

Summary: "On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction. The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Princeton University Press 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 947.084 SLE

Vaillant, John.

Summary: It's December 1997, and a man-eating Siberian tiger is on the prowl outside a remote village in Russia's Far East. The tiger isn't just killing people, it's annihilating them, and a team of men and their dogs must hunt it on foot through the forest in the brutal cold. As the trackers sift through the gruesome remains of the victims, they discover that these attacks aren't random. An absolutely...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2010

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: 599.75 VAI

Wheeler, Sara

Summary: A witty and insightful tour of contemporary Russia, using its Golden Age writers, from Pushkin to Tolstoy, as guides: part history, part sociopolitical commentary, Mud and Stars reveals the heart of a country that never fails to surprise us.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pantheon Books 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Matthiessen, Peter.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: North Point Press/Farrar, Straus and Giroux 1999

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 599.756 MAT

Snyder, Timothy

Summary: "From the author of On Tyranny comes a stunning new chronicle of the rise of authoritarianism from Russia to Europe and America. With the end of the Cold War, the victory of liberal democracy was thought to be final. Observers declared the end of history, confident in a peaceful, globalized future. This faith was misplaced. Authoritarianism returned to Russia, as Putin found fascist ideas that...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Tim Duggan Books 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 320.5 SNY

Back to Top