Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location
Audience

Eischeid, Susan J.

Summary: This gripping account of the highest-ranked woman in the Third Reich who, as Head Overseer of the women's camp at Auschwitz-Birkenau, was personally responsible for the murder, torture and suffering of countless prisoners, explores how she became to embody the very worst of humanity.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Citadel Press, Kensington Publishing Corp. 2024

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Taylor, Eva

Summary: Drawing on an astonishing archive of letters, which revealed life during wartime, a true story follows a beautiful, young Dutch resistance fighter and underground war hero who spent two years in three concentration camps during World War II.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Hanover Square Press 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 ZUUR, SABINE TAY

Turner, Pamela S.

Summary: "Once upon a time there lived a girl who swept floors and washed dishes, and was little more than a servant to her family. Until, one day, an invitation arrived. It was an invitation to a new country and a new beginning--a place where Caroline's dreams, her fascination with the night sky, and her extraordinary talent would open up a world of beauty and renown, and make her the belle of the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Chronicle Books 2024

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Steel, Danielle

Summary: In the lead-up to WWII, Sophie Alexander, the daughter of a Berlin surgeon, assumes control of the household when her mother dies, while also volunteering at the hospital. Meanwhile, Hitler's rise to power has Sophia concerned, so she becomes increasingly involved in the resistance, assisting nuns to transport Jewish children to safety, finding herself under surveillance.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2024

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Blankfeld, Keren

2 holds on 1 copy

Summary: "Zippi Spitzer and David Wisnia were captivated by each other from the moment they first exchanged glances across the work floor. It was the beginning of a love story that could have happened anywhere. Except for one difference: this romance was unfolding in history's most notorious death camp, between two young prisoners whose budding intimacy risked dooming them if they were caught. ...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown and Company 2024

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Dougherty, Nancy

Summary: "A biography of Reinhard Heydrich and his wife, Lina von Osten Heydrich"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Alfred A. Knopf 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 HEYDRICH, REINHARD DOU

LoMenzo, Angela

Summary: "Writer, makeup artist, and creative director Angela LoMenzo combines stunning photography and powerful real stories to shine a light on the wild and wondrous journeys of twenty-five extraordinary and deeply creative women." -- Back cover.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Mango Publishing 2023

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 338.0925 LOM

Steel, Danielle

2 holds on 2 copies

Summary: Sophia Alexander, the beautiful daughter of a famous surgeon in Berlin, has had to grow up faster than most young women. When her mother falls ill, Sophia must take charge of her younger sister, Theresa, and look after her father and the household, while also volunteering at his hospital after school. Meanwhile, Hitler's rise to power and the violence in her very own town have Sophia concerned,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House Large Print 2024

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Jones, George Fenwick

Summary: "The author has provided a lengthy introduction on German names -- actually a treatise -- with chapters devoted to (1) the origin and significance of given names; (2) the need and origin of surnames; and (3) Christian names. A substantial work in itself, the introduction discusses the development of German names, name sources, name variations, and some of the special characteristics of...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Genealogical Pub. Co. 1990

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Genealogy, Call number: R GEN 929.4 JON

Makos, Adam

Summary: Adapted for young adults from the New York Times best-seller, this gripping true account of a WWII American tank gunner, who met his destiny in an armor duel and forged an enduring bond with his enemy, brings to life the perils of war.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Delacorte Press 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Non-fiction, Call number: YA 921 SMO

Adler, Laure.

Summary: A selection of sixty powerfully seductive women, from Biblical times to the present day, featuring mythical and real heroines. The most memorable stories throughout history feature a powerful, seductive woman who has an irresistible hold over the man in her life. The alluring Cleopatra, like Helen of Troy, inspired lovers to the battlefield in a brave display of loyalty. Eve and Pandora...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Flammarion 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 704 ADL

Summary: A princess takes refuge from her wicked stepmother in the cottage of seven dwarfs.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Tales & Fables 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile World Languages, Call number: JE BENGALI SNO

Summary: Retells the story of a princess who escapes her wicked stepmother by hiding out in the home of seven hospitable dwarfs.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Tales & Fables 2013

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile World Languages, Call number: JE VIETNAMESE SNO

Green, Shari

Summary: A story of friendship, first love, and an impossible choice between integrity and duty, family and friends, all while fighting for a dream. Song of Freedom, Song of Dreams is a historical YA novel in verse that centers around a young pianist in East Germany trying to make sense of love, duty, and the pursuit of dreams during the unsettled months of protest that led to the fall of the Berlin...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Andrews McMeel Publishing 2024

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: An interrogation of the culture's fascination with Hitler and Nazism is set against the backdrop of the current rise of white supremacy, the normalization of anti-Semitism and the weaponization of history itself.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: IFC Films 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC MEA

Emery, Sharon

Summary: "Sharon Emery struggled with the losses and limits she faced but couldn't change - no matter how hard she tried. And she did try. First with her incurable severe stutter, then with the death of her daughter, Jessica, and the too-early deaths of her own younger siblings. Meanwhile, her "broken" voice meant her long career in communications was regularly a battle. Emery wrote this memoir to help...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Mission Point Press 2022

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 EMERY, SHARON EME

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: B EMORY EME

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Michigan Collection, Call number: MI 921 Emery

Chavez, Julie

Summary: "For Julie, an elementary school librarian and mother of two boys, there was no time for debilitating anxiety. Yet, the aftershocks of her first panic attack left her grappling with questions about the causes of her mental health crisis and where it would lead next. What follows is a hopeful, honest account of love, loss, a husband who isn't a mindreader, disastrous family outings, and finding...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Zibby Books 2024

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in New Non-fiction, Call number: 921 CHAVEZ, JULIE CHA

Edmonds, Lucinda

Summary: Rosanna Menici is just a girl when she meets Roberto Rossini, the man who will change her life forever. In the years to come, their destinies are bound together by their extraordinary talents as opera singers and by their enduring but obsessive love for each other - a love that will ultimately affect the lives of all those closest to them. For, as Rosanna slowly discovers, their union is...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pan Books 2014

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC RIL

Keith, Anthony R.

Summary: Poet, writer, and hip-hop educator Tony Keith Jr. makes his debut with a powerful YA memoir in verse, tracing his journey from being a closeted gay Black teen battling poverty, racism, and homophobia to becoming an openly gay first-generation college student who finds freedom in poetry. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, George M. Johnson, and Jacqueline Woodson.Tony dreams about life after...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers 2024

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Non-fiction, Call number: YA 921 KEI

Runyan, Aimie K.

Summary: Germany, 1939. After her mother's death, Hanna Rombauer is unwillingly matched with an SS officer. The independence her mother fostered in her is considered highly inappropriate as the future wife of an up-and-coming officer, and she is sent to a "bride school." Hanna is taught how to be a "proper" German wife, but the lessons of hatred, prejudice, and misogyny disturb her, and she is desperate...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2022

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC RUN

Harness, Cheryl.

Summary: Presents twenty women in America's history who fought for men's and women's rights, including Ann Lee, Jane Adams, Alice Paul, Dolores Huerta, and Sojourner Truth.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dutton Children's Books 2003

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 920 HAR

Alabed, Bana

Summary: Bana's mother tells her of the strong bana tree that grows in their homeland, Syria, and how Bana's strength helped her survive war, being a refugee, and starting fresh in a new country.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Salaam Reads 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Easy, Call number: JE ALA

Harris, Kamala

Summary: "Senator Kamala Harris's picture book memoir in which she tells her life story and shows how everyone can be a superhero"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Philomel Books 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 921 HAR

Riley, Vanessa

Summary: "When headstrong West Indian heiress Patience Jordan questioned her English husband's mysterious suicide, she lost everything: her newborn son, Lionel, her fortune--and her freedom. Falsely imprisoned, she risks her life to be near her child--until The Widow's Grace gets her hired as her own son's nanny. But working for his unsuspecting new guardian, Busick Strathmore, Duke of Repington, has...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Zebra Books, Kensington Publishing Corp. 2020

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in New Fiction, Call number: FIC RIL

chat loading...
Back to Top