Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Dean, Abigail

3 holds on 7 copies

Summary: "For readers of Room and Dear Edward, a propulsive and psychologically immersive novel about a young girl who escapes captivity--but not the secrets that shadow the rest of her life"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2021

Summary: Without consent, sexual intercourse is nothing less than rape. This program offers insights into sexual victimization through interviews with a young woman who was raped in her own home by an armed assailant and a young man who was expelled from college on a charge of acquaintance rape. Also, a rehabilitation service for sexual offenders is profiled, with an emphasis on the treatment of deviant...

Format: software, multimedia

Publisher / Publication Date: Films Media Group 2006

View online at AVOD

Sager, Riley

Summary: Emerging as the lone survivor of a serial killer's massacre a decade earlier, Quincy Carpenter struggles to ignore traumatic memories and move on as one of a group of other survivors who look to her for answers when one of them is found dead in a suspicious suicide.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dutton, an imprint of Penguin Random House 2017

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Adult, Call number: M SAG

Grossman, Dave

Summary: "The author of the 400,000-copy bestseller On Killing reveals how violent video games have ushered in a new era of mass homicide--and what we must do about it" -- Amazon.com.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little Brown and Company 2016

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Adult, Call number: 303 GRO

Hill, Jess

Summary: "A deeply researched account from an award-winning journalist that uncovers the ways in which abusers exert control in the darkest-and most intimate-ways imaginable We fear dark alleys when in truth, home is the most dangerous place for a woman. Of the 87,000 women killed globally in 2017, more than a third (30,000) were killed by an intimate partner, and another 20,000 were killed by a family...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Sourcebooks 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.82 HIL

Summary: "...A meditative exploration of silence and the impact of noise on our lives....takes us on an immersive cinematic journey around the globe--from a traditional tea ceremony in Kyoto, to the streets of Mumbai, the loudest city in on the planet--and inspires us to both experience silence and celebrate the wonders of our world"--Container.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Documentary DVDs, Call number: DVD DOC IN

De Becker, Gavin.

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: From the Publisher: True fear is a gift. Unwarranted fear is a curse. Learn how to tell the difference. A date won't take "no" for an answer. The new nanny gives a mother an uneasy feeling. A stranger in a deserted parking lot offers unsolicited help. The threat of violence surrounds us every day. But we can protect ourselves, by learning to trust-and act on-our gut instincts. In this...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dell Trade Paperback 1997

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: 362.88 De Be

Steel, Danielle

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: The story of two World War II concentration camp survivors, the life they build together, and the son who faces struggles of his own as a first generation American determined to be his own person and achieve success.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Recorded Books 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC STE

Tsabary, Shefali

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: "The time has come for parenting to become what it was always meant to be - about the parent. Dr Shefali Tsabary details how our children can be raised as conscious adults only when we as parents allow ourselves to be raised into a higher state of consciousness."--Back cover.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Namaste Pub. 2010

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 649 TSA

Summary: Families destroy themselves, so families have to heal themselves. If I Could is the heart-wrenching chronicle of Tracy Marasco, a single mother struggling to help her adolescent son James cope with severe emotional trauma resulting from abandonment by his father and sexual abuse by his father's cousin. To complicate the situation, Tracy herself was victimized as a child, sexually abused by her...

Format: software, multimedia

Publisher / Publication Date: Films Media Group 2007

View online at AVOD

Haynes, Elizabeth

Summary: When her handsome new neighbor encourages her to confront her fears, Catherine Bailey, the victim of a violent attack at the hands of a man whose good looks hid a dark, violent nature, finally believes in the possibility of love and a normal life until one phone call changes everything.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: HarperLuxe 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Large Print, Call number: LP FIC HAY

Haynes, Elizabeth

Summary: When her handsome new neighbor encourages her to confront her fears, Catherine Bailey, the victim of a violent attack at the hands of a man whose good looks hid a violent nature, finally believes in the possibility a normal life until one phone call changes everything.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper 0000

Raine, Nancy Venable.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Crown Publishers 1998

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.883 RAI

De Becker, Gavin.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Little, Brown 1997

McCorkle, Jill

Summary: "Lil and Frank married young, having bonded over how they both lost a parent when they were children. Over time, their marriage grew and strengthened, with each still wishing for so much more understanding of the parents they'd lost prematurely. Now, after many years in Boston, they have retired in North Carolina. There, Lil, determined to leave a history for their children, sifts through...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill 2020

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCC

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MCC

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC MCC

Malchiodi, Cathy A.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Brunner/Mazel 1997

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 618.92 MAL

Evans, Patricia M. (Patricia Marie)

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Bob Adams 1993

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.8292 EVA

Junger, Sebastian

Summary: Decades before the American Revolution, Benjamin Franklin lamented that English settlers were constantly fleeing over to the Indians -- but Indians almost never did the same. Tribal society has been exerting an almost gravitational pull on Westerners for hundreds of years, and the reason lies deep in our evolutionary past as a communal species. The most recent example of that attraction is...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Book Club Kit, Call number: Book Club Kit 302.3 Junger

Forman, Gayle

Summary: Meet Maribeth Klein, a harried working mother who's so busy taking care of her husband and twins, she doesn't even realize she's had a heart attack. Surprised to discover that her recuperation seems to be an imposition on those who rely on her, Maribeth does the unthinkable: she packs a bag and leaves. But, as is so often the case, once she gets to where she's going, she sees her life from a...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC FOR

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC FOR

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC FOR

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION FOR

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Forman 2016

Warner, Melanie

Summary: Grief knows no age. Death of a child is devastating, whether it's a young mother with a stillborn baby or an elderly father mourning the loss of his middle-aged son from cancer. For parents who have suffered the loss of a child, the path to recovery is often scattered with deep emotional struggle with few known comforts or resources. Stories of Hope and Healing from Other Parents After the loss...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Heritage Builders Publishing 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 155 WAR

Rojas Contreras, Ingrid

2 holds on 4 copies

Summary: A novel set against the violence of 1990s Columbia follows a sheltered girl and a teen maid, who forge an unlikely friendship as the families of both struggle to maintain stability amidst Bogot©Ł's rapidly escalating violence.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Doubleday 2018

Copies Available at East Bay

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC ROJ

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC ROJ

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC ROJ

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC ROJ

Ignatieff, Michael.

Summary: A woman's decline and death from Alzheimer's disease, told by her philosopher son, chronicling its impact on the family: a heart attack for the father, depression for the one son, a marriage breakdown for the other. Lots of reflections on the process of aging and dying, including the thought that having inherited her genes he, too, may end that way. By the author of Aysa.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Farrar, Straus & Giroux 1994

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC IGN

Pinker, Steven

Summary: We've all asked, "What is the world coming to?" But we seldom ask, "How bad was the world in the past?" In this startling new book, cognitive scientist Steven Pinker shows that the past was much worse. Evidence of a bloody history has always been around us: genocides in the Old Testament, gory mutilations in Shakespeare and Grimm, monarchs who beheaded their relatives, and American founders who...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2011

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 303.609 PIN

Rawl, Paige.

Summary: "A teenager's memoir of the experinces of bullying, being HIV positive and surviving the experiences to become a force for positive change in this world"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Non-fiction, Call number: YA 921 RAW

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Young Adult Collection, Call number: YA 921 RAW

Back to Top