Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Perec, Georges

Summary: "As his country is torn apart by social and political anarchy, A Void's protagonist, Anton Vowl, a chronic insomniac, is unaccountably found missing. Ransacking his Paris flat, a group of his faithful companions trawl through his diary for any indication, for any faint hint, as to his location. All that it brings to light, though, is Vowl's liking (uncannily similar to his author's) for parody,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harvill 1994

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC PER

Jackson, Shirley

Summary: Four seekers have come to the ugly, abandoned old mansion: Dr. Montague, an occult scholar looking for solid evidence of the psychic phenomenon called haunting; Theodora, his lovely and lighthearted assistant; Eleanor, a lonely, homeless girl well acquainted with poltergeists; and Luke, the adventurous future heir of Hill House. At first, their stay seems destined to be merely a spooky...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Blackstone Audio, Inc. 2010

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC JAC

Reisz, Tiffany

Summary: "They called themselves "the lucky ones." They were seven children either orphaned or abandoned by their parents and chosen by legendary philanthropist and brain surgeon Dr. Vincent Capello to live in The Dragon, his almost magical beach house on the Oregon Coast. Allison was the youngest of the lucky ones living an idyllic life with her newfound family ... until the night she almost died, and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC REI

Brontë, Emily

Summary: When Mr. Earnshaw brings a black-haired foundling child into his home on the Yorkshire moors, he little imagines the dramatic events which will follow. The passionate relationship between Cathy Earnshaw and the foundling, Heathcliff, is a story of love, hate, pity and retribution, the effects of which reverberate throughout the succeeding generations --Container.

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Playaway 2006

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Blackwell, Elizabeth Canning.

Summary: Elise Dalriss hears her great-granddaughter recount a minstrel's tale about a beautiful princess asleep in a tower, it pushes open a door to the past, and a door Elise has long kept locked. For Elise was the companion to the real princess who slumbered, and she is the only one left who knows what actually happened so many years ago. Her story unveils a labyrinth where secrets connect to an...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Tantor Media, Inc. 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC BLA

Setterfield, Diane

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: When the seemingly dead body of a child reanimates hours after arriving at an ancient inn on the Thames, three families try to claim her.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2018

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Larson, Erik

Summary: A group of researchers sets sail for the Isle of Dorn in the North Atlantic in 1905 to explore the cause of several mysterious disappearances, most notably a family of four who vanished without a trace after a week-long holiday on the island. Led by Professor James, a prominent member of the Society for Psychical Research, they begin to explore the island's sole cottage and surrounding...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House Audio 2021

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CDA FIC LAR

Wright, Jaime Jo

Summary: Left at an orphanage as a child, Thea Reed vowed to find her mother someday. Now grown, her search takes her to turn-of-the-century Pleasant Valley, Wisconsin. When the clues she finds lead her to a mental asylum, Thea uses her experience as a postmortem photographer to gain access and assist groundskeeper Simeon Coyle in photographing the patients and uncovering the secrets within. However,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Bethany House Publishers, a division of Baker Publishing Group 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC WRI

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: FIC WRI

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Wright 2019

Andrews, V. C. (Virginia C.)

Summary: Pru Dunning has a successful boyfriend, a thriving career, and a truly comfortable life. But then the strange voicemails start. Scarletta, as the woman calls herself, seems to know Pru, although Pru certainly doesn't know her. Pru begins to investigate, but carefully, because if anyone found out about these lewd, threatening messages--filled with details that no stranger could possibly...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: Simon & Schuster Audio 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Compact Disc Audio Book, Call number: CD FIC AND

Blackwell, Elizabeth Canning.

Summary: "A Gothic retelling of the real story behind the legend of Sleeping Beauty"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Group USA 2014

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Morrell, David

Summary: "Thomas De Quincey, infamous for his Confessions of an Opium-Eater, confronts London's harrowing streets to thwart the assassination of Queen Victoria. The year is 1855. The Crimean War is raging. The incompetence of British commanders causes the fall of the English government. The Empire teeters. Amid this crisis comes opium-eater Thomas De Quincey, one of the most notorious and brilliant...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Mulholland Books/Little, Brown, and Company 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC MOR

White, Karen (Karen S.)

1 hold on 1 copy

Summary: "Time and again, New York Times bestselling author Karen White has proven herself to be the "ultimate voice of women's fiction."* Now you can revisit the emergence of her signature style in two of her earliest novels--completely revised and together in one volume for the first time. In the Shadow of the Moon -- When Laura Truitt first sees the dilapidated plantation house, she's overcome by a...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Berkley Books 2016

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Peters, Ralph

Summary: "The desperate struggle for mastery of Virginia's Shenandoah Valley ... pitted a remarkable cast of heroes in blue and gray against each other: ... Phillip Sheridan, a Union general with an uncanny gift for inspiring soldiers, and Jubal Early, his Confederate counterpart; ... the dashing Yankee boy-general, George Armstrong Custer, and the brilliant, courageous John Brown Gordon, a charismatic...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Forge 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC PET

Rose, M. J.

Summary: "From one of America's most imaginative storytellers comes a passionate tale of love and treachery, spanning the days of Catherine de Medici's court to the twenty-first century and starring a woman drawn back, time and again, to the past. In 1533, an Italian orphan with an uncanny knack for creating fragrance is plucked from poverty to become Catherine de Medici's perfumer. To repay his debt,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Pocket Books 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC ROS

Gfrörer, Julia

Summary: A vision-impaired, Victorian spinster in need of primitive cataract surgery has little time for herself between needing to take care of her demanding invalid sister-in-law, and investigating her brother's mysterious nighttime activities. To escape it all, she engages in a sexual relationship with a haunted mirror in her bedroom. Julia Gfrörer's third graphic novel is another revitalizing and...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Fantagraphics Books 2020

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: 741.5 HAL

Adcock, Siobhan.

Summary: " A heart-stopping tale as provocative as is suspenseful, about two conflicted women, separated by one hundred years, and bound by an unthinkable sacrifice. The Barter is a ghost story and a love story, a riveting emotional tale that also explores motherhood and work and feminism. Set in Texas, in present day, and at the turn of the twentieth century, the novel follows two young mothers at...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dutton 2014

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FICTION ADC

Ham, Rosalie.

Summary: "A darkly satirical novel of love, revenge, and 1950s haute couture-- After twenty years spent mastering the art of dressmaking at couture houses in Paris, Tilly Dunnage returns to the small Australian town she was banished from as a child. She plans onlyto check on her ailing mother and leave. But Tilly decides to stay, and though she is still an outcast, her lush, exquisite dresses prove...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Penguin Books 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC HAM

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: Fiction Ham 2015

Godwin, Gail

Summary: "After his mother's death, 11-year-old Marcus is sent to live on a small South Carolina island with his great aunt, a reclusive painter with a haunted past. Aunt Charlotte, otherwise a woman of few words, points out a ruined cottage, telling Marcus she had visited it regularly after she'd moved there 30 years ago because it matched the ruin of her own life. Eventually she was inspired to take...

Format: sound recording-nonmusical

Publisher / Publication Date: 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Playaway, Call number: PA FIC GOO

Riordan, Kate

Summary: "This haunting and richly imagined dual-narrative historical novel, which will appeal to fans of Rebecca and The Little Stranger, features two women of very different eras who are united by the secrets hidden within the walls of an English manor house"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC RIO

Nelson, Victoria.

Contents: White dog, the prequel : between imagination and belief -- Faux Catholic : a Gothick subgenre from Monk Lewis to Dan Brown -- Gothick God : the worshipful world of Horror Fandom -- Decommissioning Satan : in favor of his man-god whelps -- Gothick romance : the danse macabre of women -- The bright God beckons : the new vampire romance -- Postapocalyptic Gothick : that means zombies (and the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harvard University Press 2012

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 808.3 Nelson

Summary: Gothic fiction by more than 40 known and unknown writers. They range from William Sansom's A Woman Seldom Found, on an encounter in Rome between a man and a woman, to Paul Bowle's Allal, on an Arab boy who switches bodies with a snake.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Plume 1996

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Fiction, Call number: FIC AME

Back to Top