Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Caplan, Bryan Douglas

Summary: "American policy-makers have long been locked in a heated battle over whether, how many, and what kind of immigrants to allow to live and work in the country. Those in favor of welcoming more immigrants often cite humanitarian reasons, while those in favor of more restrictive laws argue the need to protect native citizens. But economist Bryan Caplan adds a new, compelling perspective to the...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: First Second 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Ha, Robin

Summary: "A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Balzer + Bray/Harper Alley, imprints of HarperCollins Publishers 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Hayden, Sally

Summary: "The Western world has turned its back on migrants, leaving them to cope with one of the most devastating humanitarian crises in history. Reporter Sally Hayden was at home in London when she received a message on Facebook: "Hi sister Sally, we need your help." The sender identified himself as an Eritrean refugee who had been held in a Libyan detention center for months, locked in one big hall...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Melville House 2022

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Bagieu, Pénélope

Summary: With her characteristic wit and dazzling drawings, celebrated graphic novelist Penelope Bagieu profiles the lives of these feisty female role models, some world famous, some little known. From Nellie Bly to Mae Jemison or Josephine Baker to Naziq al-Abid, the stories in this comic biography are sure to inspire the next generation of rebel ladies.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: First Second, an imprint of Roaring Book Press 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: YA 920 BAG

Redniss, Lauren

Summary: Oak Flat tells the story of a race-against-time struggle for a swath of American land, which pits one of the poorest communities in the United States against the federal government and two of the world's largest mining conglomerates. The book follows the fortunes of two families with profound connections to the contested site: the Nosies, an Apache family whose teenage daughter is an activist...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House 2020

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: 970.5 RED

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 970.5 RED

Chomsky, Aviva

Summary: "This book looks at the role illegality or undocumentedness plays in our society and economy. It shows how the status was created, and how and why people, especially Mexicans and Central Americans, have been assigned this status. The first three chapterslook at the histories of social exclusion. One looks specifically at the Mexican and Guatemalan contexts to understand why such large numbers...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Random House Inc 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 364.137 CHO

Okorafor, Nnedi

Summary: "In an alternate world where aliens have integrated with society, pregnant Nigerian-American doctor Future Nwafor Chukwuebuka has just smuggled an illegal alien plant named Letme Live through LaGuardia International and Interstellar Airport... and that's not the only thing she's hiding. She and Letme become part of a community of human and alien immigrants; but as their crusade for equality...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dark Horse Books 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Graphic Novels, Call number: 741.5 OKO

Hajratwala, Minal.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2009

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 973.0491 HAJRATWALA, MINAL HAJ

Tagawa, Mi

Summary: "It is said that there are some special animals occasionally born with great powers. Senzou the black fox is one of those ... but instead of using his powers for good, he abused his strength until the Sun Goddess imprisoned him for his bad behavior. Three hundred years later, he's finally been released, but only on one condition-- he can't have any of his abilities back until he successfully...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: TokyoPop Inc. 2020

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Juvenile Graphic Novels, Call number: J FIC TAG

Corchado, Alfredo

Summary: When Alfredo Corchado moved to Philadelphia in 1987, he felt as if he was the only Mexican in the city. But in a restaurant called Tequilas, he connected with two other Mexican men and one Mexican American, all feeling similarly isolated. Over the next three decades, the four friends continued to meet, coming together over their shared Mexican roots and their love of tequila. One was a radical...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Bloomsbury Publishing 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 973 COR

Kagami, Takaya

Summary: " Ferid Bathory and Krul Tepes have been captured by the other vampire nobles and the members of Shinoa Squad are forced to bide their time while the two vampires are sentenced to days of exposure torture. And what better place to wait than in Ferid's own mansion in Osaka? Meanwhile, the Demon Army is gearing up for a coup in Shibuya, but Guren has a plan of his own that involves...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: VIZ Media, LLC 2018

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Ford, Jeanne Marie

Summary: Looks into the lives, challenges, and successes of Indian immigrants.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: The Child's World 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 973.049 FOR

Orsi, Tea

Summary: When Fawn befriends a huge and mysterious creature known as the NeverBeast, she, Tinker Bell, and their friends must rally the fairies and save the NeverBeast from capture.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Papercutz 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Graphic Novels, Call number: J 741.5 ORS

Case, Jonathan

Summary: In the twenty-second century, a sun shift has made it impossible for mammals to survive in the daylight, and ten-year-old Elvie and her caretaker, Flora, are studying the migration route of monarch butterflies along what used to be the western coast of the United States, hoping that something in the butterflies wing scales can be used to protect people from the sun and save humanity from...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Margaret Ferguson Books/Holiday House 2022

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Juvenile Graphic Novels, Call number: J GRAPHIC CAS

Havemeyer, Janie

Summary: Looks into the lives, challenges, and successes of Chinese immigrants.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: The Child's World 2019

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 973.049 HAV

Kochalka, James

Summary: "Banana Fox's late fees have landed him in library jail! And when a familiar foe is found around town and a giant book-eating robot is unleashed, it looks like Flashlight and William need to step in to save the day. The junior detectives put their heads together, but when their investigation runs cold, an unlikely hero emerges and proves his own sleuthing skills! But without Banana Fox's help,...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Graphix, an imprint of Scholastic 2021

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Butler, George

Summary: "Resisting his own urge to walk away, award-winning artist George Butler took his sketchbook and made, over the course of a decade, a series of remarkable pen-and-ink and watercolor portraits in war zones, refugee camps, and on the move. While he worked, his subjects--migrants and refugees in the Middle East, Europe, Africa, and Asia--shared their stories. Theirs are the human stories behind...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Candlewick Studio, an imprint of Candlewick Press 2021

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Juvenile Nonfiction, Call number: J 304.8 BUT

Feder, Tyler

Summary: "Tyler Feder shares her story of her mother's first oncology appointment to facing reality as a motherless daughter in this frank and refreshingly funny graphic memoir"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Dial Books 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: This course of 15 half-hour lectures presents different procedures for locating sources of ancestors' records in America.

Format: moving image

Publisher / Publication Date: Teaching Company 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

3 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 929 DIS
Call number: DVD 929 DIS

Wicks, Maris

Summary: Explores coral reef ecosystems, detailing the organisms that live within the reefs, their importance in the ocean ecological system as a whole, and the scientific and medical advancements developed from coral reefs.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: First Second 2016

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Juvenile, Call number: J 577.5 Wicks 2016

McCann, Jim

Summary: Hawkeye, A.K.A. Kate Bishop, and Spider-Man rush to rescue Ant-Man, but find themselves face-to-face with Taskmaster, the villain who can mirror any fighting move.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Spotlight, a division of Abdo 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: Participants in the global cap-and-trade system range from well-intentioned business leaders to rogue peddlers hoping for a quick and unprincipled killing. As for detractors, the carbon credit industry has no shortage, especially in the environmentalist movement. This film sifts through the many-sided controversy as it plays out in the West and in the developing world. Dedicated eco-watchdogs...

Format: software, multimedia

Publisher / Publication Date: Films Media Group 2010

View online at AVOD

Coulter, Ann H.

Summary: Conservative commentator Ann Coulter attacks the immigration issue head-on, flying in the face of La Raza, the Democrats, a media determined to cover up immigrants' crimes, churches that get paid by the government for their "charity," and greedy Republican businessmen and campaign consultants -- all of whom are profiting handsomely from mass immigration that's tearing the country apart....

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Regnery Publishing, a division of Salem Media Group 2015

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 323.6 COU

O'Neill, Katie

3 holds on 2 copies

Summary: Rinn has grown up the Tea Dragons that inhabit their village, but stumbling across a real dragon turns out to be a different matter entirely! Aedhan is a young dragon who was appointed to protect the village, but fell asleep in the forest eighty years ago. With the aid of Rinn's adventuring uncle Erik and his partner Hesekiel, they investigate the mystery of his enchanted sleep... but Rinn's...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Oni Press 2019

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.
Back to Top