Register for Summer Reading Club
Search
Type
Format
Sort
Location

Etler, Cyndy

Summary: The author describes her youth as a runaway at age fourteen and how she was sent to a corrupt recovery facility where she faced intimidation and unconventional treatment.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Sourcebooks Fire 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Non-fiction, Call number: YA 921 ETL

Moyers, William Cope.

Summary: The son of broadcaster Bill Moyers shares his personal battle with alcoholism and drug addiction, describing his privileged childhood, multiple relapses, and rise to a key player at the Hazelden Foundation, an addiction treatment center.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Viking 2006

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 MOYERS, WILLIAM MOY

Burrowes, Susan

Summary: "Fifteen-year-old Hannah was a privileged young girl with a promising future, but that didn't stop her from sliding into an abyss of sex, drugs, alcohol, and other high-risk behaviors. Off the Rails narrates Hannah's sudden decline and subsequent treatment through the raw, honest, compelling voices of Hannah and her shocked and desperate mother--each one telling her side of the story. Fearing...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: She Writes Press 2018

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 920 BUR

Mitchell, Tracey Helton

Summary: After surviving nearly a decade of heroin abuse and hard living on the streets of San Francisco's Tenderloin District, Tracey Helton Mitchell decided to get clean for good.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Seal Press 2016

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 MITCHELL, TRACEY HELTON MIT

Etler, Cyndy

Summary: When the author is sent to Straight, Inc., a "tough love" program for troubled teens, she is psychologically beaten for months and forced to return to high school with a battered psyche.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Sourcebooks Fire 2017

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Young Adult Non-fiction, Call number: YA 921 ETL

Stellin, Susan

Summary: "In this powerful dual memoir, a reporter and a photographer tell their gripping story of falling in love, the heroin habit that drove them apart, and the unlikely way a criminal conviction brought them back together. When Susan Stellin asked Graham MacIndoe to shoot her author photo for an upcoming travel book, she barely knew him except for a few weekends with mutual friends at a summer house...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Ballantine Books 2016

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Summary: Presents the basic text of the Fellowship of Narcotics Anonymous, intended for addicts seeking recovery, explaining what the Narcotics Anonymous program is and how it works, explaining the twelve traditions of Narcotics Anonymous, and including the stories of selected members.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Narcotics Anonymous World Services 2008

Copies Available at Fife Lake

1 available in Adult, Call number: 362.29 NAR

Copies Available at Woodmere

2 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 362.29 NAR
1 available in Reference, Call number: R 362.29 NAR

Copies Available at Kingsley

1 available in Adult, Call number: 362.29 Nar

Copies Available at Interlochen

1 available in Adult, Call number: 362.29 Narcotics 2008

Copies Available at Peninsula

1 available in Adult, Call number: 616.831 PET

Peres, Daniel

Summary: In the vein of Mary Karr's Lit, Augusten Burroughs' Dry and Sarah Hepola's Blackout, As Needed for Pain is a raw and riveting--and often wryly funny--addiction memoir from one of New York media's most accomplished editors which explores his never-before-told story of opioid addiction and the drastic impact it had on his life and career--Jacket.

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.

Stein, Deborah.

Summary: After discovering that she was born in a prison to a heroin-addicted mother, the author recalls her subsequent descent into drugs and crime and her recovery as she finds forgiveness and acceptance for both her real and adopted mothers."Even at twelve years old Deborah Jiang Stein, the adopted daughter of a progressive Jewish couple in Seattle, felt like an outsider. Her multiracial features set...

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: 2014

Copies Available at Woodmere

1 available in Adult Non-fiction, Call number: 921 STEIN, DEBORAH STE

Brown, James

Summary: "A reinvention of the recovery memoir that examines how he has made peace with the family whose ghosts haunted him so vociferously, about the teeming new addictions growing all around him, and about helping the next generation of addicts overcome their disease, all the while raising three sons and helping them set their course in life"--

Format: text

Publisher / Publication Date: Counterpoint 2020

Sorry, no copies available

Place a hold to request this item.
Back to Top